Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Most Anticipated Books of 2017: Chasing Secrets

Today's pick is...Chasing Secrets by Lynette Eason


Elite Guardians bodyguard Haley Callaghan may be in South Carolina, but when a photo leads investigators in West Ireland to open a twenty-five-year-old cold case, her life is suddenly in danger. Haley knows how to take care of herself; after all, she's made a career out of taking care of others. But after an uncomfortably close call, Detective Steven Rothwell takes it upon himself to stay with her--and the young client she has taken under her wing. A protector at heart, he's not about to let Haley fight this battle alone.


In a sweeping plot that takes them into long-buried memories--and the depths of the heart--Haley and Steven will have to solve the mystery of Haley's past while dodging bullets, bombs, and bad guys who just won't quit.

Why I can't wait to read it: I am a HUGE fan of Lynette Eason's books, I've read all of them to date! And I have been so looking forward to reading Haley's story! 

Review: Finding Love by Toni Shiloh


5 Stars!!!
I adored this second installment in the Maple Run series! 
I didn't like Delaney very much in the first book Buying Love, but I loved her in this book, I could relate to Delaney in so many ways, primarily that I too often allow fear rather than trust in God to rule my life! Delaney's faith journey was so real, it touched my heart and I will definitely be rereading this story in the future, I made so many kindle highlights that I can definitely see myself turning to them on the days when I need encouragement. Yes, Toni writes amazing romances, but I think perhaps my very favorite part of her books is the faith story, which is always seamlessly woven in and always makes a powerful impact in my life! 
And speaking of romance, Delaney and Luke's romance was so beautiful and amazing! And what an amazing hero Luke is, it's rare that a book hero can really make me swoon, but oh, he so did! 
I loved getting reacquainted with all the characters in Maple Run that I love so much, it was awesome to see Nina and Dwight again as well Mrs. Williams (I get such a kick out of her!) and Delaney's twin boys Preston and Philip were such a hoot. I also really liked Luke's friend Micah and am really hoping we will see him in future stories! 
Just when I think Toni's books can't possibly get any better, she blows me away yet again! I loved everything about Finding Love and it just might be my favorite Toni Shiloh book to date! 
I highly recommend Finding Love, if you are a fan of Christian contemporary romance you need to read Toni Shiloh's books, trust me you won't be sorry! 
I am eagerly anticipating Toni's next book!


I received a copy of this book from the publisher to help promote it. No review required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own. 

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Most Anticipated Books of 2017: Over Maya Dead Body

Today's pick is...Over Maya Dead Body by Sandra Orchard


FBI Special Agent Serena Jones arrives on Martha's Vineyard with her family, ready for a little bit of R&R and a whole lot of reminiscing as they celebrate the engagement of an old family friend. But crime doesn't take a vacation, and she's soon entangled in an investigation of a suspicious death tied to an antiquities smuggling ring. 
When her investigation propels her into danger, Serena must stay the course and solve this case before anyone else dies. But just how is she supposed to do that when the two men in her life arrive on the scene, bringing with them plenty of romantic complications--and even a secret or two? 
Award-winning author Sandra Orchard keeps readers guessing with this fast-paced mystery laced with romance.

Why I can't wait to read it: I have been loving this series, and I can't wait for this third (and I believe final?) installment! I am so excited to see which guy Serena will end up with! 

Monday, June 26, 2017

Most Anticipated Books of 2017: Every Deadly Kiss

I've decided to do a series of posts, one each day over the next week highlighting the books that I am most looking forward to that are releasing in the remainder of 2017

My first pick is...EVERY DEADLY KISS by Steven James

FBI special agent Patrick Bowers grapples with a baffling series of murders in Detroit—and discovers a terror plot with roots that stretch back centuries.
 
Called in by an ex-girlfriend to consult on a case, Patrick encounters the work of a killer who displays a stunning degree of ruthlessness. Bowers is shocked to find that the slayings are linked not just to his own history with a known terrorist, but to his former lover as well—and that her secret past might hold the key to stopping the crime spree. As layers of intrigue peel away, the city is pushed ever closer to a seemingly unstoppable bioweapon attack. 
 
Unnerving and laced with breathtaking suspense, Every Deadly Kiss is a surprising and complex thriller that will keep readers obsessed to the final page.

Why I can't wait to read it: Steven James is one of my all time favorite authors! I've read all of his novels to date and loved every single one. I am so excited to read this new Patrick Bowers book when it releases in July! 



Saturday, June 24, 2017

Review: Heart on the Line by Karen Witemeyer


5 Stars!
Karen Witemeyer is one of my all time favorite authors! I've read all of her books to date and I always highly anticipate her new releases! I've been looking forward to Grace's story since first meeting her last year in No Other Will Do, and her story was just perfect! Amos was such an amazing hero, I fell for him instantly! 
I loved getting to visit again with the residents of Harper's Station, it was so cool how often we got to see Emma and Malachi, Tori and Ben, and Emma's aunts who never fail to bring a smile to my face. Hmm, now that I think about it that is a signature of all Karen's books, they never fail to bring a smile to my face and joy to my heart! 
Heart on the Line was such a heartwarming, romantic, suspenseful crazy ride, it brought me to the edge of my seat and I read it from start to finish in 24 hours because I could not put it down! Seriously, all of this author's books are phenomenal and I highly recommend them! 
Heart on the Line is a perfect summer read that I absolutely loved and recommend to anyone and everyone! Seriously, go buy it, you won't be sorry! 
I can't wait for Karen Witemeyer's next release! 


I received a copy of this book from the publisher. No review required. 
All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own. 

Friday, June 23, 2017

Review: The Road to Paradise by Karen Barnett


4 Stars! 
I read Karen Barnett's book, Mistaken a few years back and really enjoyed it! The Road to Paradise intrigued me from the first moment I read the description, I thought ooh, I've gotta read that! And I am thrilled to say that this book was completely delightful! Having grown up on 75+ acres of land I am a huge nature lover, so I could totally relate to Margie's love of the outdoors and her joy in seeing God's fingerprints on every bit of nature! 
It was such a great idea to write a historical series set in national parks, I have never visited any national parks, but the writing in this book was so vivid and beautifully described that I could see Mount Rainier and all its splendor as though I was really there alongside the characters! I loved the romance in this story, it was sweet and definitely stirring without overpowering the rest of the story, I felt that it was a perfect balance! 
This book drew me in from the beginning and didn't let go until I turned the final page. I loved this book and highly recommend it! It makes a perfect summer read too.
I can't wait for the next Vintage National Parks novel!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher. No review required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Review: Sweetbriar Cottage by Denise Hunter


3 Stars.
I've read several of Denise Hunter's novels and enjoyed them all, so I was looking forward to Sweetbriar Cottage, unfortunately I was a bit disappointed by this book. And I'm really not sure exactly why, I loved Noah and Josephine instantly, my heart went out to them and I was cheering for them throughout, but for some reason I kept feeling kind of bored with the story, and like it wasn't really holding my interest. 
This is a beautiful and powerful story of second chances and unconditional love, and it definitely had its moments that touched my heart, and in the latter half of the book there were some pretty high stakes which made the pages fly, but I'm afraid that this book just wasn't for me. Perhaps it was because I was expecting this story to rival Married til Monday as one of my all time favorite Denise Hunter books so I had set unfairly high expectations for Sweetbriar Cottage? Or perhaps it was because (at least in my personal opinion) this one is the most...I guess I would say passionate as far as the romance goes of all this author's books that I've read, this book is ultimately clean, but there were a few scenes that made me uncomfortable, which was a first for me with one of Denise's books, and while I think I understand why she made the choice to push the envelope a bit beyond what is my personal comfort zone, I must admit I was a tad disappointed by it. 
Denise Hunter is a tremendously talented author and I do genuinely love her books and look forward to reading more of her work in the future, Sweetbriar Cottage just wasn't the right fit for me personally, but I know lots of people have loved it so if it sounds like something you'd enjoy please don't take just my word for it.


I received a copy of this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review nor I was compensated in any way for my opinion. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Monday, June 12, 2017

Review: Buying Love by Toni Shiloh


5 Stars!
I've now read all three of Toni Shiloh's books that are available to date. With each new story I have loved her writing even more! Seriously, she is fast becoming one of my all time favorite authors! 
I was so looking forward to Buying Love and I am delighted to say that it exceeded every single one of my expectations!
I just loved everything about this book so, so much. Nina and Dwight are such a great couple, they complement each other perfectly. When I learned Nina's backstory my heart instantly broke for her, I found myself wanting to reach through the pages and give her a hug! Her faith journey was so touching and she was just such an inspiring character! And Dwight, whew what an awesome hero! Gotta love a hunky, kindhearted man who loves to cook! I also adored Dwight's dog Beast, he was such an awesome addition to the story. Not to mention the fabulous cast of secondary characters that I can't wait to visit with again!
I love books that are set in small towns and Maple Run instantly became a favorite! The Maple Pit was such a beyond cool restaurant, I found myself wishing it was real so I could go hang out there! 
This book made me laugh out loud numerous times, brought me nearly to tears a time or two, and left me grinning like crazy! 
I loved this book so much (as evidenced by the fact that I read it in under 24 hours!) and I cannot wait to read the next book in the series! Buying Love is a must read that will delight fans of Christian contemporary romance as well as attract new readers to the genre! 
If you love Melissa Tagg's Walker Family series you need to read Buying Love! 

Grab your own copy of Buying Love at your earliest convenience, I feel certain you will love it as much as I did!

Saturday, June 3, 2017

Pre-Order Finding Love by Toni Shiloh!


I am so looking forward to this book! And when you pre-order you can get this cool free gift with purchase! Pretty sweet, huh?! :) Just copy and paste these links into your browser since I've apparently forgotten how to make them clickable! :)

Order Link: 

https://www.amazon.com/Finding-Love-Maple-Novel-Book-ebook/dp/B0725KR7SN/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&qid=1495228900&sr=8-1&keywords=finding+love+by+toni+shiloh&linkCode=sl1&tag=celelit-20&linkId=0a577c52d2b20dabfb1fa08888665cc1

Claim Your Gift Link: 

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSfE5n8TgfWDRk9Ga4Um_kjpC2SeV52ovU_DI8dbrdxMPApXdQ/viewform?c=0&w=1

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Review: Bread of Angels by Tessa Afshar


4 Stars! 
With the exception of one short story, this book was my first foray into the world of Biblical fiction. Tessa Afshar was a new-to-me author, but since I had heard lots of good things about her books I decided to give this book a try. I very much enjoyed this book. 
I could relate to Lydia's fear of basically everything, that is a demon I struggle to overcome (sometimes daily) myself, so needless to say the message of this book was exactly what I needed! I envision opening the pages of this book many times in the future to help remind me to trust in Jesus and not to fear! 
This book was very easy to read, though it is a very emotional read and there were moments that my heart hurt for the characters!   
This book was very compelling, it held my attention throughout and I was never bored while reading it. 
While Biblical fiction is still not one of my favorite genres, I am very glad that I read Bread of Angels and I do plan to try more of Tessa Afshar's books in the future! 
Highly recommended.


I received this book from the publisher. No review required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own. 

Saturday, May 20, 2017

Review: Right Where We Belong by Deborah Raney, Melissa Tagg and Courtney Walsh


5 Stars! 
This is an absolutely delightful collection of small town romance novellas! I really enjoyed all three of them. Though Melissa Tagg's was my personal favorite, I have been so looking forward to Megan's story and it was so awesome, it exceeded every single one of my expectations! 
I've read one story of Deborah Raney's in the past (A January Bride, which I absolutely loved!) so I knew I enjoyed her writing style, and her novella in this collection was so fun, and I had no trouble reading it even though I hadn't read any of the novels that were set in the same town. I look forward to reading more of Ms. Raney's writing in the future!
I loved the historical details and tad bit of mystery that were a huge part of Courtney Walsh's novella. This was my first time reading a book by Ms. Walsh, and I can't help but wonder why it took me so long! I loved everything about this novella and Courtney's writing style, I will soon be getting her newest release to review and I can't wait! 
I highly recommend this novella collection! 

Monday, May 15, 2017

Review: True To You by Becky Wade


5 Stars! 
Wow! That's all I can say. I love everything Becky writes, but this one may very well be my absolute favorite to date! I absolutely adored every single moment of this book, and the minute I finished it I found myself wanting to start it all over again! 
I loved John and Nora, reading their romance was such a joy. I also loved both of Nora's sisters and I cannot wait for both Willow and Britt's stories. Nikki, Valentina, and Grandma all had me laughing like crazy! 
The faith story in this book touched my heart, I can't even begin to find the words to express how deeply, and no words that I can say would even come close to doing this absolutely amazing book justice! 
This book made me smile, laugh, and brought tears to my eyes, it inspired me, surprised me, and blessed me in so many ways! I don't want to risk spoiling anything so I will just say that I absolutely loved every single moment of this book and can't wait to read the next in the series! This one has a permanent spot on my keeper shelf, and I will be rereading it many times in the future! I highly recommend this book, it is a MUST read! Seriously, grab yourself a copy and read it as soon as you can, you will not be sorry! 
True To You will be on my list of favorite reads of 2017!


I received a copy of this book from the author and publisher to help promote it. No review required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Sunday, May 14, 2017

5 Year Blogoversary giveaway!

First off, Happy Mother's Day to all the Mothers out there! 

Second, I can't believe it has been five years today since I wrote my first ever blog post, it has been such a crazy and wonderful ride since then. In the last five years I've read a few hundred amazing books, made so many wonderful blogging friends, and by the Grace of God have managed to publish two novellas of my own! Thank you so much to everyone reading this post, I am incredibly grateful to all of you for helping me reach this milestone! In celebration of my fifth blogoversary I am giving away a copy of my latest Christian suspense novella, Deadly Obsession, ebook (PDF, Kindle or EPub) OR Audible download, winner's choice! 


Here is the blurb for Deadly Obsession: As a teenage FBI agent Kennedy Stevens has put her life on the line numerous times in order to catch criminals. She believes it's her purpose in life, but every time she helps to put one predator away it seems that ten more are waiting to take their place. Kennedy has pretty much seen it all in her life on the job  but past events in her personal life have caused her to turn her back on God and the faith she grew up with. Kennedy is used to people trying to kill her, it's all part of the job, however when someone begins stalking her, things get personal. Will Kennedy allow the world to make her bitter? Or will she give it all to God? Will a killer's Deadly Obsession with Kennedy prove fatal? Find out in this breath taking new inspirational suspense novella from author Caitlyn Santi.

If this sounds like something you're interested in then just leave a comment answering the following question to enter.

What is your favorite thing about suspense stories? Or if you don't like suspense, what is your favorite genre to read and what do you like best about that genre? 

The giveaway will run through MAY 21st, it is open internationally and please be sure to include your email address (in a spam free format if you wish) in your comment so I can contact you if you win!

Thank you so much for stopping by and God bless you all, Caitlyn Santi

Friday, May 12, 2017

Review: Then Came You by Becky Wade


4 Stars! 
This was such a great novella! I really enjoyed this introduction to the Bradford Sisters Romance, and I can't wait to start True To You! I really enjoy an epistolary story when I find one, it's not the most popular manner in which to write a story, but it's a method that I really enjoy, and I think it was the perfect choice for this novella! 
I felt very invested in the story and couldn't wait to see what would happen next. This is a novella so it made for a fast read, but the story packed every bit as much of a punch as all of Becky's full length novels! 
Highly recommended!

Monday, May 8, 2017

Review: A Love So True by Melissa Jagears


4.5 Stars!
I am loving this series! I adored the first book, A Heart Most Certain when I read it last year and I have been much anticipating Evelyn's story! This was a great read, I loved both Evelyn and David, and the entire supporting cast as well, I was also thrilled that we got to see Nicholas and Lydia (from book one) in this book a lot! Once again I was blown away by the depth, not only that of the story, but the faith thread that was perfectly woven throughout. While this book does have many humorous moments it is not a light read, but rather a completely beautiful and sometimes heartbreaking love story as well as a book that will challenge you in your faith, it certainly did me, and I loved every minute of it! This is definitely one to savor, and soak up every beautiful word. 
I highly recommend A Love So True and am eagerly anticipating the third installment in the Teaville Moral Society series! 


I received a copy of this book from the author and publisher to help promote it. No review required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Saturday, April 29, 2017

Review: A Life to Live by Toni Shiloh


5 Stars!!!
I absolutely loved every moment of this wonderful story! It is such a beautiful story of forgiveness. The faith thread in this story ran so much deeper than a lot of other novellas I've read, and I absolutely loved that, there were so many moments of spiritual truth that spoke to my heart and were exactly what I needed to hear at this point in my life. I was constantly highlighting my kindle copy so that I can read those truths many times in the future! This book truly ministered to my heart while at the same time sweeping me away into a charming and delightful romance! I loved these characters, they both felt very real to me and I was rooting for them from the start, I love it when book characters become like friends to me and that is totally the case with Mia and Caleb! (Plus it was so cool that Mia and I share the same favorite color: Purple!)
All the details in this book were amazing, the detailed descriptions of The Manor as well as Nottingham itself made me feel like I was really there!
I don't want to risk spoiling anything so I will just say that I loved absolutely everything about this book, and I cannot wait to read more of Toni Shiloh's writing! 

Highly recommended, but make sure you have an uninterrupted stretch of time set aside to read it, because you won't want to set this one down! 

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Review: Life After by Katie Ganshert


5 Stars!!!
I have absolutely adored all of Katie's contemporary romance titles, so needless to say I have been looking forward to her next release since 2015, and wow, Life After was totally worth the wait! This is probably going to be a fairly short review, not because I didn't like this book, quite the contrary I loved every single solitary second of this book! My dilemma is that Life After was so incredibly beautiful and amazing that I am completely speechless out of fear that I cannot possibly do this amazing book justice with my review.
Just like with all of Katie's other novels I was swept into the story from page one and hated having to turn the final page! I have seen reviews that are calling this Katie's most complex book to date and I wholeheartedly agree with that assessment, it is very hard for a book to really surprise me anymore, but there were several twists in this book that I never saw coming, and I loved that! I know this is far from the most eloquent review I've ever written but let me just say that Life After made me smile, laugh, feel the characters' pain as well as their joy, and brought me to tears a time or two! This story does tackle some serious issues that we face in the world today, and in the wrong hands it could have become a very depressing storyline, but in Katie's skillful hands hope and faith leaped from the pages, which did not surprise me one bit as I know that hope, faith and joy are the hallmarks of everything Katie writes. And just so you know I never for a second found the story depressing!
Without giving anything away I will just say that this book gave me a new understanding of the story of Lazarus and filled me with a whole new sense of awe at how amazing our Lord is!
I seriously loved every bit of Life After and am eagerly awaiting Katie's next book! 
This is absolutely a must read, one for the keeper shelf and it will be on my favorite books of 2017 list! And just in case you hadn't already guessed I highly recommend Life After! Buy it as soon as you can, you won't be sorry! 


I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher through Blogging for Books. No review required. The above review is my honest opinion. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


Monday, April 3, 2017

Review: If I'm Found by Terri Blackstock


4.5 Stars!
I absolutely loved the first installment in this series when it released last year, and I have been eagerly anticipating this second book! 
I will admit that it did take me a while to get into this book, as it kind of felt like it was moving a tad slowly, but once I hit the halfway mark the pace just took off and I hated to set it down from that point on! This was such a great sequel, I never knew what would happen next. I loved the development of the characters, as well as the advancement of the storyline from the first book. I always love it when I learn things from books and I was thrilled to learn several new things about prayer, as well as intentional gratitude from this book, those parts of the book really touched my heart and I know for a fact that I will most definitely be turning to those sections on the days when I need a burst of perspective and inspiration! 
While I think the first book in the series is probably my favorite so far, this one is so good too, I became totally emotionally invested and hated to see it end! And yes, in case you were wondering, it does end on a cliffhanger much like the first book, which made me all the more eager to read the third book, but if you don't like cliffhangers you may want to wait until the third book releases next year so that you can read them back to back! 
Overall, this is a wonderful second book in the If I Run series, which I highly recommend, it is a must read for fans of Christian suspense. I would definitely suggest reading this series in order.
I can't wait for the release of the next book! 


I received a copy of this book from the publisher through BookLook bloggers. No review required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.



Monday, March 20, 2017

Review: When Tides Turn by Sarah Sundin


5 Stars!!!
I have adored this series since the very beginning of Through Waters Deep. So, I was very much looking forward to this third book! Quite honestly I really didn't like Quintessa very much in the two previous books and I did find myself feeling a tad skeptical that she would ever grow on me, I needn't have worried, in Sarah Sundin's masterful hands Tess became a fantastic heroine that I very much liked and was rooting for from the start of her story! It was great getting to know Dan, we have only seen him briefly in the first two books so it was wonderful to see him grow and become the amazing hero I knew he would be! It was awesome to see how Dan and Tess's personalities while very different were perfectly matched. 
I loved When Tides Turn, though this is one series where I find it impossible to choose a favorite!
Once again I was blown away by the amazing historical details, (I've said it before and I'll say it again, in general World War Two is not my favorite historical time period to read about) I absolutely adore Sarah Sundin's books, I am always swept away by the fabulous details and I never feel like I'm reading the story but instead  that I am living in the 1940's alongside the characters for a little while, which I love!
I loved the updates that we got on Jim and Mary, and Arch and Lillian, it did make me a little sad to have to say goodbye to the Avery family though! 
I loved everything about this book and highly recommend it! I cannot wait to read more of Sarah Sundin's work in the future! 


I received a copy of this book from the publisher. No review required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Saturday, March 11, 2017

Review: Enjoy by Trillia Newbell


3 Stars!
I have some mixed feelings about this book, on one hand there were some excellent moments in which I was in some cases reminded of things in a slightly new way as well as times that certain things that I had read or heard over the years finally made sense to me in the way this author broke it down for the reader. But on the other hand I found myself often feeling like it was expected that I would have forgotten from one chapter to the next that the reason I enjoy God's gifts is out of love for him and all that He has done for me, in other words, enjoying all the good gifts from God is more about enjoying, worshiping and glorifying Him and growing in my relationship with Him rather than just focusing on the gifts themselves. This truth spoke to me deeply and blossomed in my heart the moment it was first written in this book, but I did get a bit frustrated that I kept being reminded of something that was already at the forefront of my mind and heart, something that I hadn't yet forgotten. I realize that perhaps this was because the book is designed to be read over a number of weeks, but since I got this title to review I ended up with only a couple days to read it. If I had the time to read it over a longer time span then I don't think I would have been at all frustrated with that bit of repetition because I realize it is necessary if you are only reading a chapter or so a week. I don't often read non-fiction, but when I do I personally prefer to get a conversational vibe from the author (even when discussing very important things) and while there were definitely moments in this book where I did feel like the author was using a conversational tone, there were unfortunately also times where I couldn't help but feel as those I was being talked at rather than to. 
Overall though I am glad I read this book and I do plan to re-read it in the future, perhaps reading just one particular chapter that speaks to my life at a certain time. I definitely did get a lot of positive information from this book that truly spoke to my heart and I do look forward to turning to it for reminders when I am in a place in life where the truth I know may feel out of reach. 
If this book sounds interesting to you then I do recommend you give it a try, but I would suggest reading one chapter a day or a week rather than all at once in order to give yourself time to reflect and soak in the truth presented in that chapter.


I received a copy of this book from the publisher. No review required. The above review is my honest opinion of this book. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Review: The Illusionist's Apprentice by Kristy Cambron


5 Stars!!!
I had read and loved two of Kristy's novels (The Butterfly and The Violin, and The Ringmaster's Wife) prior to reading this one. And while I think The Ringmaster's Wife will probably always be my personal favorite, I absolutely loved The Illusionist's Apprentice from the very first sentence all the way to the end! The premise totally intrigued me from the moment I first heard about it, and I was most definitely not disappointed by this book! I loved both Wren and Elliot, they both had such painful pasts and it was wonderful to watch them overcome their pasts together and learn to trust in God and each other. I have always been fascinated by Illusionists, and I loved getting to learn about Wren's profession as well as all the fabulous historical details about Harry Houdini! Two of my favorite genres are romantic mystery/suspense and historical romance and I absolutely love it when I find a book in which these two genres collide, such was the case with this book and I absolutely loved it! It was so neat to read a story that featured the FBI back when it was still relatively new. I must say that the 1920's are not in general one of my favorite time periods to read about, but as I have adored both this author's books that have been set in the 20's I am more open to reading about that time period and if Kristy Cambron continues to bring that decade to life through her fabulous writing I will always jump into those books with both feet! Going back to the suspense for a minute, I believe this is Kristy Cambron's first time writing a suspense element like this and I can say that she did an amazing job (I hope she writes more suspense in the future) there were so many surprises along the way that I did not see coming and one in particular that made me hang my head and cry out an anguished, No! 


Overall, I absolutely adored every single moment of this book, as soon as I finished I found myself wanting to re-read it, it's that good!!! 
I highly recommend The Illusionist's Apprentice, it not only has a permanent spot on my keeper shelf, but it will also be on my list of favorite reads of 2017!
I cannot wait to see what else Kristy Cambron has in store for us! 



I received a copy of this book from the publisher through BookLook bloggers. No review required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Review: For Love & Honor by Jody Hedlund


5 Stars!!!
I've been loving these books ever since the first one released and I remember being so excited when I learned that we would get a chance to see each of the three handsome knights find love and happiness! While I was thrilled at getting to read Bennet's story I was also a bit saddened that this is the last book in the series (At least as far as I know) forcing me to say goodbye to these characters that have become like friends to me!
I really liked Sabine, and thought she and Bennet were a perfect match. It was so cool that we got to see both Derrick and Collin again in this book! 
This book was truly fabulous on so many levels, but I think the message about learning to love yourself and see the beauty that God sees in you was my favorite thing about this book, it is a reminder that I need pretty much daily and the message really spoke to where I am right now in life!
I don't want to risk spoiling anything so I will just say that Jody Hedlund has written another fabulous YA that I absolutely loved! And highly recommend, all of the books in this series can standalone but I would recommend reading them in order to fully grasp their awesomeness! I can't wait to read any and all YA books this author writes next! 


I received a copy of this book from the author and publisher to help promote it. No review required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Saturday, February 25, 2017

Review: Because You're Mine by Colleen Coble


3 Stars!
I've read a couple of Colleen Coble's books in the past and really enjoyed them. I'll be honest, the description of this didn't really grab me when I first read it, but since I was offered the opportunity to review it, I decided to give it a shot. I really wanted to like it, but I'm afraid I just really didn't. I liked Alanna as a main character and really felt for her, but I also found myself getting very frustrated that such an independent and intelligent woman couldn't seem to see what was really going on. I did guess the major twist very early on (though I had read some spoiler reviews prior to reading this book so I had an idea of what the twist was before I even got started, so obviously I can't know for sure but I feel pretty certain that even had I not read those reviews I would have still realized very early on what the truth was) so it wasn't the mystery of whether or not my guess was correct that kept me reading, but rather interest in seeing how it would all finally play out! There were two things I loved about this book, the first was all the bits of Irish culture and such (By the way, I have also listened to the audio version of this book and I loved the narrator, she did a fabulous job with all the accents, Irish and Southern alike!) and the amazing descriptions of Blackwater hall and its surroundings, I was swept away and felt like I was really there which made the book a bit hard to read at times because things were just so creepy and I felt I was experiencing them alongside Alanna, it was kind of strange but bits and pieces of the setting kept reminding of two different movies "The Haunted Mansion" and "The Rescuers" not that this book was in anyway similar because it wasn't, it was just the ancient mansion/southern swamp/alligators as pets thing that made me think of these other stories as I was reading. 
This book is definitely not your typical suspense novel, but it was intriguing. If you are interested in a book that is different from the typical suspense read and don't mind suspending disbelief, I recommend this story. It wasn't really my cup of tea but overall I am glad I read this book and like I said there were some things I really liked about it and I am definitely looking forward to reading more of Colleen Coble's books in the future. 


I received this book from the publisher. No review required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


Monday, February 20, 2017

Review: Pursued but Shielded by Frannie Watson


4 Stars!
This was a good suspense novel that I enjoyed reading. I really liked that it was set in the 1990's, I love reading books that are set during the decade I was born in. I think my favorite character was Del, I would love to have a best friend like her. I really admired Elizabeth, her strength and the fact that she allowed everything she'd been through to lead her to God was very inspiring. Speaking of which, the faith thread in this story was wonderfully done, it was woven into the storyline well and was incredibly powerful, I don't want to spoil anything but I do want to say that my favorite scene in the whole novel took place inside the Saint-Chapelle in Paris, that scene was so incredibly beautiful and moving that it brought tears to my eyes.
I was a bit surprised that the rapist's identity was basically revealed to the reader (though not to the other characters) through his own narrative at not quite halfway through the novel, but even though I knew his identity from that point forward the story still made for a suspenseful read. 

What could be improved: I realize that this was the author's first novel and while I did enjoy the story there are some things that I feel could be improved. While I did enjoy the story there were times that I struggled with the narrative and some of the dialogue as it often felt very simplistic to me, and a tad repetitive at times. There were also a lot of point of view characters and at times some of them felt a bit one dimensional because the narrative kept changing from character to the next so I didn't have a chance to connect with them as much as I would have liked to.

Overall, I did enjoy this book and recommend it. I look forward to reading more books by this very promising author.

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Review: Moving Target by Lynette Eason


5 Stars! 
Lynette Eason is one of my all time favorite authors, her new releases are always on my list of books that I most look forward to reading! Moving Target reaffirms yet again why Lynette is one of my favorite authors. Quinn and Maddy's relationship has been slowly building since book one of the series and I have been rooting for them since the start, so needless to say I was really excited to see them get their happily ever after! I was most definitely not disappointed with Moving Target, it was soooo good! Even though I have read every single one of Lynette's books I am always blown away by her talented writing as well as her ability to keep things fresh and new. I was very impressed by the complexity of both Maddy and Quinn's back stories, up until this book we have known very little about Maddy or Quinn and as I learned their stories my heart really went out to both of them. I can always count on Lynette's books to have a great faith story and the faith thread in Moving Target was woven into the story beautifully, I loved seeing both Maddy and Quinn come to rely further on God! 
I loved the suspense in this book, so much of it was unlike anything I've ever read before! 
I usually end up binge reading Lynette's books in 24 to 48 hours but this one took me several days to read mainly because I was busy and in a bit of a reading slump but I am really glad that it worked out that way because I got to appreciate and really savor the awesomeness of this book perhaps more so than if I had speed read it!
Overall, I loved Moving Target and highly recommend it as well as books one and two of the Elite Guardians series, I cannot wait for the release of Haley's book later this year, as well as anything and everything else that Lynette Eason writes! 


I received a copy of this book from the author and publisher to help promote it. No review was required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.





Monday, February 6, 2017

Review: Justice Delayed by Patricia Bradley


4 Stars!
I have read and loved all four books in this author's Logan Point series, and I was really looking forward to her newest release. Unfortunately, I have to say that I have some mixed feelings about this book because while there lots of things I absolutely loved about it, for example: Brad's overprotectiveness of his sister Andi, which made for some totally awesome moments; the camaraderie between Andi, Brad and Will; Will himself, need I say more? I just loved him; the mystery was very intriguing and kept me riveted to the page, and while I personally wasn't surprised by the identity of two of the villains I was surprised by another; the climax of this book was very fast-moving and suspenseful, I loved it and I also loved that it was totally different from any climax I think I've ever seen in a romantic suspense before.
There were also some things that bothered me a bit and caused me to knock my rating down to four stars, these things were: I spent a large portion of the book wanting to shake the main character Andi because of a very bad choice she kept making (not going to say what to avoid spoilers) it just really annoyed me that she refused to see the truth and I didn't feel like that thread was resolved as much as I wish it had been; this book had quite a large cast of characters and potential suspects and I sometimes had a hard time keeping track of them all; while I did love the climax I must admit that the ending did feel a bit rushed to me, it just seemed to end kind of abruptly leaving a few threads that didn't get tied up to my satisfaction, but it is very possible that those things will be resolved at a later point in the series; I know from personal experience that Faith and learning to trust and rely on God (which seemed to be the theme of this book, at least to me) can be messy and imperfect, but I was disappointed that Andi never seemed to make the choice to rely on God at any point during the book, I would have been totally fine if things hadn't been tied up in a neat little bow, after all life is rarely like that, but the book ended without me really feeling that Andi had grown closer to God or learned much of anything from her mistakes which definitely did leave me feeling a tad disappointed.
See what I mean about mixed feelings? No book is perfect and there were these few things that bothered me, however, I really did love the rest of this book and found it hard to put down. I recommend this book and I am looking forward to the next in the series, I'm hoping the author will write a story about Brad, as well as one about David and Maggie. I so want to know how you get Maggie from the name Madeline? :)


I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not compensated in any way for this review. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Review: Still Life by Dani Pettrey


5 Stars!
You've probably heard me say it before but I'll say it again, Dani Pettrey is one of my all time favorite authors! I have adored every single one of her books and always impatiently anticipate the release of the next. I totally fell in love with the whole Chesapeake Valor gang in the first book, Cold Shot and was very much looking forward to Still Life.
Still Life reaffirmed yet again why Dani is one of my favorite authors!
I really liked both Avery and Parker, we discovered in the first book that Avery had a painful past so it was interesting to learn the details, and I felt for her so much, the story of how she turned her life around after she found Jesus was incredibly inspiring. Parker was a great hero, I was totally rooting for him to open himself up to love again (I am hoping that at some point during the series Jenna's killer will be caught and brought to justice, and I am very confident that this will happen) I found his career as a crime scene investigator to be quite fascinating to read about. The mystery in this book was so good, so many twists and turns that you don't see coming, especially the one at the end! I loved all the interactions between the whole crew, and I can't wait to discover what the deal is with Luke (My personal guess at this point is that he is in the CIA!)
Overall, I loved this book and cannot wait to read Tanner and Declan's story, Blind Spot when it releases in October! 
I highly recommend this book! Such a great read! 


I received a copy of this book from the author and publisher to help promote it. The above is my honest opinion, all thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.