Saturday, March 16, 2019

The White City by Grace Hitchcock Review and Giveaway






About the Book






Book: The White City

Author: Grace Hitchcock


Genre: Christian Historical/Suspense


Release Date: March, 2019




Mysterious Disappearances Taint the Chicago World’s Fair
Step into True Colors—a new series of Historical Stories of Romance and American Crime
While attending the Chicago World’s Fair in 1893, Winnifred Wylde believes she witnessed a woman being kidnapped. She tries to convince her father, an inspector with the Chicago police, to look into reports of mysterious disappearances around the White City. Inspector Wylde tries to dismiss her claims as exaggeration of an overactive imagination, but he eventually concedes to letting her go undercover as secretary to the man in question—if she takes her pistol for protection and Jude Thorpe, a policeman, for bodyguard.
Will she be able to expose H. H. Holmes’s illicit activity, or will Winnifred become his next victim?




Click here to order your copy.




About the Author






Grace Hitchcock is the author of three novellas in The Second Chance Brides, The Southern Belle Brides, and the Thimbles and Threads collections with Barbour Publishing. The White City is her debut novel and releases March 2019 with Barbour Publishing. She holds a Masters in Creative Writing and a Bachelor of Arts in English with a minor in History. Grace lives in southern Louisiana with her husband, Dakota, and son. Visit Grace online at GraceHitchcock.com




Guest Post from Grace


True Colors—Fiction Based on Strange, But True, American Crime Stories
True, riveting stories of American criminal activity are explored through 6 unique stories of historical romantic suspense in the exciting new True Colors series.
In book one, The White City, Winnifred Wylde believes she witnessed a woman being kidnapped while attending the Chicago World’s Fair in 1893. She tries to convince her father, an inspector with the Chicago police, to look into reports of mysterious disappearances around the White City. Inspector Wylde tries to dismiss her claims as exaggeration of an overactive imagination, but he eventually concedes to letting her go undercover as secretary to the man in question—if she takes her pistol for protection and Jude Thorpe, a detective, for bodyguard.
Will she be able to expose H. H. Holmes’s illicit activity, or will Winnifred become his next victim?
The Real Criminal Behind the Story
While Winnifred Wylde is a fictional character, Doctor H. H. Holmes was very real and became infamously known as America’s first serial killer. Learn more about him HERE.




Blog Stops



The Lit Addict, March 14
Multifarious, March 15
Back Porch Reads, March 15
Livin’ Lit, March 16
By The Book, March 18
EmpowerMoms, March 19
Bigreadersite, March 21
Genesis 5020, March 21
The Becca Files, March 21
Emily Yager, March 22
Pause for Tales, March 22
Mary Hake, March 23
Book by Book, March 23
amandainpa, March 25
Older & Smarter?, March 26


Giveaway





To celebrate her tour, Grace is giving away a grand prize of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of The White City!!


Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter. https://promosimple.com/ps/dd7d/the-white-city-celebration-tour-giveaway



My Thoughts:

This is a good story that I enjoyed! I loved main characters Winnifred and Jude. Winnifred was so fun and delightfully spunky, and being an avid reader myself I could totally relate to her fabulous bookishness! And, Jude, well let's just say that he is a hero who made me swoon more than once! I love the concept behind the True Colors series of books, blending history and story. Grace Hitchcock skillfully wove together fact and fiction to create an engaging story! This book has tons of great romantic moments that I just had to highlight on my Kindle! 
I was expecting this book to be a suspense, and while there was a great action packed climax, I was disappointed that even though there was a mystery thread there was not really any suspense throughout the rest of the book. 
Overall, while I would have liked more suspense, this is a very good story that I am glad I read! I recommend it and plan to read more of this author's work in the future.
(4 Stars!)


I received an ebook copy of this book through the Celebrate Lit team. Which did not influence my review in any way, all thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


Thursday, March 14, 2019

Review: When He Found Me by Victoria Bylin




5 Stars! 
Wow, what an incredible story! I was sucked in from the first page and hated to put the book down! This review may be a bit on the short side, simply because I don't know if I can find the words to do this beautiful book justice. This story is told in alternating POV from the perspectives of MJ, her mother Olivia, Shane, and his sister Daisy, and I was captivated by all of their stories! This book has it all, tremendous depth, a lovely romance, forgiveness, reconciliation, characters that become like friends to the reader, a strong faith story, love, hope, new beginnings, I could go on and on! Words truly cannot express how much I loved this book! Without giving too much away I will just say that this is a book that everyone, especially every woman should read! I can't recommend When He Found Me highly enough, read it and your life will be impacted for the better! Such a wonderful, amazing read, and I can't wait for the next novel in the Road to Refuge series! 
Note: While there is nothing graphic in this book, the subject matter is very raw and real. For this reason I don't recommend this one for readers under the age of 16.


I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Wednesday, March 6, 2019

Review: Far Side of the Sea by Kate Breslin


4 Stars!
After reading and absolutely loving High as the Heavens back in 2017, I have been eagerly anticipating Kate Breslin's next book. I really enjoyed Far Side of the Sea, but I didn't love it the way I did High as the Heavens, perhaps my expectations were so incredibly high that there was no possible way this book could meet them. I immediately liked Johanna, she was such a great blend of spunk and sweetness! I totally fell for Colin, wow, can you say swoon worthy?! He is definitely one of my favorite heroes of 2019 so far! Something I wasn't expecting and absolutely loved was the humor and super fun banter between Jo and Colin, I laughed out loud numerous times! 
I did not realize that carrier pigeons served in WWI and I was not only fascinated by the history of these plucky little birds, but became quite attached to Johanna's favorite pigeon, Little Corporal! 
This book has several thrilling twists and turns! I think I enjoyed the second half a bit more than the first half because of the fabulous action and suspense, the first half was definitely good and interesting enough to keep me turning pages, but honestly there were moments where I became a bit bored and wished for a bit more action, but once I passed the halfway mark things just took off and the pages started flying!
Overall, though High as the Heavens is still my favorite, Far Side of the Sea is a great book that I really enjoyed reading and highly recommend to fans of Christian historical romance! I recently purchased Kate Breslin's first WWI novel, Not By Sight which I am very much looking forward to reading soon, and I can't wait to see what else Ms. Breslin has in store for us! 


I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher. The above review is my honest opinion. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Saturday, March 2, 2019

The Secrets of Paper and Ink by Lindsay Harrel Review and Giveaway



About the Book

Title: The Secrets of Paper and Ink
Author: Lindsay Harrel
Genre: Women’s Fiction
Release date: February 26, 2019
Publisher: Tyndale
Lindsay Harrel presents a powerful story of healing, forgiveness, and finding the courage to write your own story.
A year after the death of her abusive fiancĂ©, domestic violence counselor Sophia Barrett finds returning to work too painful. She escapes to Cornwall, England—a place she’s learned to love through the words of her favorite author—and finds a place to stay with the requirement that she help out in the bookstore underneath the room she’s renting. Given her love of all things literary, it seems like the perfect place to find peace.
Ginny Rose is an American living in Cornwall, sure that if she saves the bookstore she co-owns with her husband then she can save her marriage as well. Fighting to keep the first place she feels like she belongs, she brainstorms with her brother-in-law, William, and Sophia to try to keep the charming bookstore afloat.
More than 150 years before, governess Emily Fairfax knew two things for certain: she wanted to be a published author, and she was in love with her childhood best friend. But he was a wealthy heir and well out of her league. Sophia discovers Emily’s journals, and she and William embark on a mission to find out more about this mysterious and determined woman, all the while getting closer to each other as they get closer to the truth.
The lives of the three women intertwine as each learns the power she has over the story of her life.

Click here to purchase your copy.


About the Author

Lindsay Harrel is a lifelong book nerd who lives in Arizona with her young family and two golden retrievers in serious need of training. She’s held a variety of writing and editing jobs over the years and now juggles stay-at-home mommyhood with writing novels. When she’s not writing or chasing after her children, Lindsay enjoys making a fool of herself at Zumba, curling up with anything by Jane Austen, and savoring sour candy one piece at a time. Connect with her at LindsayHarrel.com


Guest Post from Lindsay

With every book I write, it seems God has something new to teach me. That certainly was true of The Secrets of Paper and Ink.
Lately, I am learning more and more about the power of our words. I’ve become more conscious of the words I speak over myself as well as what I say to other people. It’s more than “positive thinking”—the words we say ultimately contribute to the stories we weave, and I want my story to be as positive and hope-filled as possible, regardless of my circumstances.
I’ve also become much more aware of the lies that I tell myself—“you are not worthy, you are not enough, you will never achieve what you want to achieve”—and the need to replace those lies with the truths that God says about me. I have listened to Lauren Daigle’s song You Say on repeat lately, and it has become a theme not just of The Secrets of Paper and Ink, but one in the story of my very life.
So while I may not have experienced everything my characters have—I’ve never suffered emotional abuse, or been ostracized by my family, or been orphaned and alone in a world that seems against me at every turn—I have learned alongside them. I set out to write a book that would draw readers closer to the true healer and hope giver, and I ended up being drawn closer myself.
And that, to me, is the true power of story.

Blog Stops

The Avid Reader, February 26
The Power of Words, February 26
Carla Loves To Read, February 26
Blogging With Carol, February 27
Carpe Diem, February 28
Andy Carmichael, March 1
The Becca Files, March 2
Emily Yager, March 3
Genesis 5020, March 4
Stories By GinaMarch 4
Simple Harvest Reads, March 5 (Guest Review from Mindy Houng)
Mary Hake, March 5
Remembrancy, March 6
Pause for Tales, March 7
Book by Book, March 7
The Lit Addict, March 9
Bigreadersite, March 10
Henry Happens, March 11
amandainpa , March 11

Giveaway





To celebrate her tour, Lindsay is giving away a copy of Lindsay’s first book The Heart Between Us!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter. https://promosimple.com/ps/dcc3/the-secrets-of-paper-and-ink-celebration-tour-giveaway

My Thoughts:

Wow! What an amazing novel! Fair warning: though I will try my best there is no way this review will even come close to doing this book justice! I recently read this author's previous novel The Heart Between Us and loved it, so needless to say that made me even more excited to read this new one. This book sucked me in on page one and didn't let me go. I was delightfully surprised to discover that this is in fact a time-slip novel (which is one of my favorite things!) I instantly connected with (and rooted for!) present day characters Sophia and Ginny, as well the historical character Emily, and the pages flew because I just had to know what would happen next! As with her previous novel The Heart Between Us, Lindsay Harrel takes the reader on a journey through the pages of this book and once again I found myself inspired and moved by the lessons I learned from this story! The message of finding our identity in Whose we are was so profoundly touching that it flooded my heart with renewed peace and nearly brought tears of joy to my eyes! I loved this book SO much! The Secrets of Paper and Ink beautifully depicts the power of words and story to change people's perspectives and even their lives, something every reader can relate to! The Secrets of Paper and Ink gave me all the feels and I didn't want it to end, but the ending was so incredibly well done that I turned the final page with a huge grin on my face and a sigh of happiness on my lips! 
In short, I adored every moment of this book and will absolutely be reading it again in the future! The Secrets of Paper and Ink will definitely be on my list of favorite reads of 2019! And I can't wait to see what else this author has in store for us! I highly recommend that you do yourself a favor and buy a book by Lindsay Harrel, you won't be sorry! 
(5 Stars!)


I received an ebook copy of this book through the Celebrate Lit team. Which did not influence my review in any way, all thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Friday, February 22, 2019

Castle on the Rise by Kristy Cambron Review and Giveaway




About the Book






Title: Castle on the Rise



Author: Kristy Cambron



Genre: Christian Historical Romance




Release date: February 5, 2019




Publisher: HarperCollins





A storied castle. A band of rebels. A nation chasing a centuries-old dream of freedom. And three women who rise above it all . . .

When Laine Forrester travels overseas to attend her best friend’s vineyard wedding, she expects to find the bride on the brink of a fairy tale life. But after a series of unforeseen setbacks, it seems the storybook lives they’d imagined are suddenly ripping apart.

With hopes of resurrecting a happy ending, Laine agrees to accompany the newlyweds to the groom’s home in Ireland—never expecting she’d be the one drawn in by its wide-open moors, backroads bordering the Irish Sea, and a mysterious castle that dares to keep its secrets hidden.

From the storied streets of Dublin to the shores of the Emerald Isle, Laine is drawn in to the land and its rich history. The castle ruins whisper stories of Issy—a photojournalist battling through the 1916 Easter Rising, and Maeve—the castle’s lady of legend, fighting for survival through the 1798 rebellion that started it all.

Spanning more than two centuries, Castle on the Rise unites the legacy of three women who must risk mending the broken places within—for life, love, and the belief that even through the depths of our pain, a masterpiece of a story can emerge.



Click here to purchase your copy.



About the Author





Kristy Cambron is an award-winning author of Christian fiction, including her bestselling debut The Butterfly and the Violin, and an author of Bible studies, including the Verse Mapping Series. She is a passionate storyteller who travels to speak at ministry events across the country, encouraging women to experience a deeper life in the Word through verse mapping. Her work has been named to Publishers Weekly Religion & Spirituality TOP 10, Library Journal’s Best Books, RT Reviewers' Choice Awards, and received 2015 & 2017 INSPY Award nominations.

Kristy holds a degree in Art History/Research Writing, and lives in Indiana with her husband and three sons, and can probably be bribed with a coconut mocha latte and a good read.

To stay connected, visit www.kristycambron.com.



Kristy’s Research Trip to Ireland



Blog Stops

Back Porch ReadsFebruary 19
Maureen’s MusingsFebruary 19
The Power of Words, February 19
Livin’ Lit, February 20
Texas Book-aholic, February 20
Fiction Aficionado, February 21
Gensis 5020, February 21
Blogging With CarolFebruary 21
Bigreadersite, February 21
Just the Write Escape, February 22
As He Leads is Joy, February 22
Inspired by fiction, February 23
Connect in Fiction, February 23
Carpe Diem, February 23
Bibliophile Reviews, February 24
D’S QUILTS & BOOKS, February 24
Lis Loves Reading, February 24
Emily Yager, February 25
Moments, February 25
All-of-a-kind Mom, February 26
Mary Hake, February 26
Simple Harvest Reads, February 27 (Guest Review from Mindy Houng)
Remembrancy, February 28
Inklings and Notions, February 28
Pause for Tales, March 1
The Becca Files, March 2
Book by Book, March 2

Giveaway  



To celebrate her tour, Kristy is giving away a grand prize of one finished copy each of The Lost Castle (book 1) and Castle on the Rise (book 2)!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter. https://promosimple.com/ps/d9d0/castle-on-the-rise-celebration-tour-giveaway


My Thoughts:


Having read and loved several of Kristy Cambron's books in the past I was excited to read this one, even more so once I found it was set in Ireland aka one of my very favorite places to read about! I love time-slip novels, but to be honest I was a little nervous at first that I would find it difficult to keep up with the three different time periods, but I needn't have worried! Kristy wove them all together beautifully and there was never any confusion about which timeline I was reading. 
This one gave me all the feels! I was swept away into the world of this book from the first page and hated to leave! I have come to expect a stunning, vivid, heart-touching read from this author and Castle on the Rise was no exception, this book took me on a journey and I loved every second of it! I absolutely loved all three timelines, but I think Issy's POV from 1916 might be my favorite. 
This is definitely one for the keeper shelf, and I anticipate rereading it in the future! Even though it is book two in the series I feel it can absolutely  stand alone, I have not read the first book but had no problem following this one. I most definitely recommend Castle on the Rise, this is one that fans of Christian historical and time-slip novels will not want to miss. 
(4 Stars!)


I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. Which did not influence my review in any way, all thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.