Thursday, November 1, 2018

Review: Stratagem by Robin Caroll


3 Stars
The description of this book is really intriguing and made me automatically want to read it. But, sadly the book fell flat for me. This one had more of a mystery story feel to it than the action packed suspense I was expecting, and as such seemed to move at a slower pace than I personally prefer. I loved the main character, Grayson, I thought he was totally fabulous and the games he created were absolutely fascinating to read about! The faith story was also great and very well done! I did guess the villain's identity early on, there were a couple of other possible suspects, but my first and strongest instinct turned out to be correct. I always love to play detective when I read this type of novel, and I love it when my guesses turn out to be correct!
One thing that bothered me about this book was that there seemed to be quite a bit of repeated information, and even though I understand the reason for that I'm sorry to say that it did make me want to skim over those parts. 
Overall, there were parts of this book that I really liked, but I think it just wasn't for me. But, if this book interests you I highly recommend you give it a try, Stratagem might be just the right book for you. 


I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Sunday, October 28, 2018

Book Spotlight: Things Left Unsaid by Courtney Walsh



ABOUT THE BOOK

Title: Things Left Unsaid
Author: Courtney Walsh
Publisher: Waterfall Press
Release Date: October 30, 2018 
Genre: Contemporary Fiction



An emotional novel of family, friendship and forgiveness from Courtney Walsh, the New York Times bestselling author of Hometown Girl.

Lyndie St. James is thrilled that her best friend, Elle, is getting married but unprepared for the emotional storm of the wedding week and returning to her childhood summer home of Sweethaven. The idyllic cottage community harbors some of her best—and worst—memories. It’s not only the tragic death of her childhood friend Cassie that has haunted her for ten years, it’s the other secrets she’s buried that have kept her from moving on.

But Lyndie isn’t the only one with secrets.

Cassie’s mother, father and brother, still struggling with the loss, have been drifting further and further apart. And Elle herself, the last to see Cassie alive, carries an impossible burden of guilt. Now reunited, each of them has a choice: to reveal the truths of that night or continue to live in its shadow. That means embarking on a personal journey of the heart—to escape the darkness and all its regrets and to finally come to terms with the past and, especially, with each other.


TO PURCHASE A COPY*



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Courtney Walsh is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling novelist as well as an artist, theater director and playwright. She is the author of the Sweethaven series—including A Sweethaven Summer, which was a Carol Award finalist in the debut author category—as well as the small-town romances Paper HeartsChange of HeartJust Look Up and the forthcoming Just Let GoThings Left Unsaid is her ninth novel. She lives in Illinois, where she and her husband own a performing-arts studio and youth theater. They have three children.


CONNECT WITH AUTHOR:  Website | Facebook | Twitter  |  Instagram  |  Goodreads

*NOTE: This post contains affiliate links.

Friday, October 19, 2018

Review: Mark of the Raven by Morgan L. Busse


5 Stars!
I'm not a big fantasy reader, but the description of this one sounded so intriguing that I just had to try it! I loved this book, it was such a great read! I immediately liked the main character, Selene, and immensely enjoyed this first part of her journey from the darkness to the Light! I loved the author's writing style, and I loved that the pace of the novel was a bit on the faster side, I love stories that have a faster pace and that I don't want to put down, Mark of the Raven was definitely one such book! It really is so great, I enjoyed every minute of it and I cannot wait for the next book in the series! 
I only have one complaint and it is really pretty small, there were a couple of fictional made up swear words that were used a handful of times by the characters, but that really didn't bother me much, I just wanted to mention it as a heads up for those who might have a problem with it.
I highly recommend Mark of the Raven!


I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Review: Delayed Justice by Cara Putman


5 Stars!
Wow! This is such a fabulous novel! I loved it. Jaime was a great main character, my heart broke for her and I found myself wanting to give her a hug and be her friend! It was absolutely beautiful to watch her journey and character development from the start of the book to the end, and see her discover God's love for the first time! Chandler was just such a fabulous hero (one of my very favorites of this year!) I can't even begin to count how many times his kindness, thoughtfulness, and chivalry warmed my heart and totally turned me into a puddle! And his therapy dog, Aslan, oh my word! Every time Aslan appeared on the page I ended up either chuckling at his antics or blinking back happy tears at the sweetness and power of his presence, let me tell you Aslan is THE PERFECT name for this amazing dog, I loved him so much and I know every other reader of this book will too! 
I LOVED that The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe played such a big role in this book. LWW is one of my all time favorites and it was so perfectly and flawlessly woven into the story that I am speechlessly awestruck by Cara's amazing writing! 
Overall, I loved this book so much! It has it all, suspense, drama, romance, humor, a fabulous faith story, and some amazing character development. I loved everything about it, what more can I say?! Definitely one for the keeper shelf! I highly recommend Delayed Justice and very much look forward to reading more of Cara's suspense novels in the future! 


I received a copy of this book from the publisher, which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Friday, October 12, 2018

Review: The Christmas Heirloom by Kristi Ann Hunter, Karen Witemeyer, Sarah Loudin Thomas, and Becky Wade


5 Stars! 
What an absolutely delightful novella collection! I loved how perfectly the brooch was woven into each of the novellas! I adored every single one of these stories and highly recommend The Christmas Heirloom!


Legacy of Love by Kristi Ann Hunter
This adorable novella drew me in from the first page and didn't let go! 
I absolutely loved Sarah and Randall's story! The dowager Countess of Densbury quickly became a favorite secondary character. Kristi's writing was fantastic as always and I absolutely loved every moment of this novella! 


Gift of the Heart by Karen Witemeyer
I always adore Karen's books and this novella was no exception! Ruth and Bo were such fabulous main characters, and little Naomi and her matchmaking cat Teddy were absolutely delightful and made me laugh out loud numerous times! Every single word of this novella was phenomenal and I hated to see it end, but as usual when I finish one of Karen's books a sigh of happiness left my grinning lips when I turned the final page! 


A Shot at Love by Sarah Loudin Thomas
This was such a cute novella, I loved it even more than I was expecting to! Seeing as I am not super girly myself I love to read stories about grown up tomboys, and I found myself relating to Fleeta in a number of ways! I loved the voice that this story is written in, it's just so entertaining and all around fun to read! I loved the ending, and the story was an absolute pleasure to read! I don't often read stories set in the 1950's but I will definitely be reading more of this author's work in the future! 


Because of You by Becky Wade
This novella was absolutely fantastic! Maddie and Leo were great characters. I found myself relating to Maddie quite a bit, and I loved Leo's quiet reserve and bookishness! I'm a huge fan of Les Mis and I LOVED that it was mentioned in the story, so awesome! I was swept away into this story on page one and I loved every single second I spent reading it! Total awesomeness from beginning to end!


I received a copy of this book from the publisher and author Kristi Ann Hunter, which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Seasonal TBR Challenge: Fall Edition and Summer Update!


I'm very excited to be participating in the Fall edition of the Seasonal TBR Challenge hosted by Melanie @Christian Bookshelf Reviews
Please copy and paste this link to the sign up post into your browser, sorry but I'm on my phone and am not able to post a clickable link! 

http://christianbookshelfreviews.blogspot.com/2018/09/seasonal-tbr-challenge-fall-edition.html?m=1

I'm challenging myself to read these 5 books from my TBR this fall.


1. Dangerous Illusions by Irene Hannon


2. Sanctuary Lost by Lisa Phillips


3. Christmas Ranch Rescue by Lynette Eason


4. Love's Awakening by Laura Frantz


5. Illusion by Frank Peretti




Summer TBR Update: I challenged myself to read 11 TBR books this summer, unfortunately I only managed to get to 8 of them, but that's 70% and I read some great books that I loved so I'm super happy with my final result even though I didn't reach my goal! 

Summer TBR

1. Heir to Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson-READ 

2. Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson-READ

3. Storm Front by Susan May Warren-READ

4. Love's Awakening by Laura Frantz

5. The Carpenter's Daughter by Jennifer Rodewald-READ

6. The Reluctant Duchess by Roseanna M. White-READ

7. Dangerous Illusions by Irene Hannon

8. Safe Haven by Nicholas Sparks

9. The Keeper of Her Heart by Stacy Henrie-READ

10. You Can't Hurry Love by Beth K. Vogt-READ

11. A Marriage for the Marine by Liz Isaacson-READ

Friday, September 21, 2018

Review: This is the Day by Tim Tebow


5 Stars!
I'm not really into sports, but I have known who Tim Tebow is for several years now, and have always been very impressed by his humility and genuine heart for God. I don't often read non-fiction and had never read anything by this author, but when I was given the opportunity to join the launch team for this book I felt a nudge from God to sign up! Needless to say, I listened to that nudge and I'm so glad I did because this book was EXACTLY what I needed to read at this point in my life! Speaking as someone who has of late felt "stuck" in life and wondering just what next step God wants me to take in His plan for my life, God used this book to inspire and energize me to reach out right where I am and share His love with people! Tim's words were a fantastic reminder that even when it might not feel like it I am loved by God, I matter, the things I say and do matter, God has a purpose and a plan for my life, and that He will work through me to impact the lives of the people around me if I will only be open to it! Tim writes in such a conversational way that reading this book felt like chatting with a friend, he did a great job of using stories from his own life to get his point across and inspire without ever becoming preachy. I especially loved all the suggestions for applying the message in each chapter to your life and the examples of ways to live out your purpose in real world, everyday life moments. This is one book that I know I will be rereading many times in the future, it impacted me in a tremendously powerful way, left me feeling excited for whatever God has in store for me, and filled me with a determination and reawakened desire to tell people just how much God loves them! Overall, I absolutely loved every moment of this book, I would share a favorite quote but there are simply too many for me to choose, nary a page passed without at least one quote that I wanted to highlight, and I'm already itching to reread it so I can savor all the fabulous quoteable reminders! I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone and am very much looking forward to reading more of Tim Tebow's books in the future! Seriously, this book is SO GOOD! I dare you to read This is the Day and tell me it didn't change you! 


I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher, which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.