Friday, August 23, 2019

Review: Deadly Intentions by Lisa Harris


5 Stars!
Wowza! What a fabulous romantic suspense! I have read and loved several of this author's books in the past, so of course I jumped at the chance to review this new one!
Deadly Intentions was SOOOO good, I was sucked into the story on page one and hated to stop reading!
I absolutely loved that the heroine and I share the same first name (and even the exact same spelling!) and it was also super interesting that we both happen to hate parking garages! 
And, the hero Josh was so smart, sweet, and swoon-worthy, I loved him! The suspense in this book was nonstop with so many twists and turns that I never knew what would happen next, which I absolutely loved! 
Overall, I absolutely loved Deadly Intentions, it's right up there among my favorites of Lisa Harris's books that I have read so far! I highly recommend this book and cannot wait to read this author's next book! 


I received a copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Tuesday, August 13, 2019

Top Ten Characters I'd Love to Be Besties With!



Top Ten Tuesday is a Weekly Meme Hosted By That Artsy Reader Girl



Top Ten Book Characters I'd Love to Be Besties With!

1. Emory from Bookishly Ever After by Sarah Monzon

2. Serena from When a Heart Stops by Lynette Eason

3. Chloe from Finally Accepted by Toni Shiloh

4. Nora from True to You by Becky Wade

5. Rebekah from The Isaac Project by Sarah Monzon

6. Eisley from Just the Way You Are by Pepper Basham

7. Piper from Shattered by Dani Pettrey

8. Raegan from All This Time by Melissa Tagg

9. Sarah from The Secret Life of Sarah Hollenbeck by Bethany Turner

10. Ella from A Lady Unrivaled by Roseanna M. White

The Awakening of Miss Adelaide by Linda Brooks Davis Review & Giveaway!


About the Book



Book: The Awakening of Miss Adelaide

Author: Linda Brooks Davis

Genre: Historical

Release Date: July, 2019



Orphaned as an infant, Oklahoma heiress Adelaide Fitzgerald has enjoyed every advantage. She possesses a unique gift for music and has excelled on the opera stage in Italy. As a philanthropist, she’s adored from America to Europe.

But Miss Adelaide is about to awaken in a 1918 nightmare. The Great War—and the Great Influenza—knock, and Adelaide finds her uninvited guests more than unwelcome. They threaten her life and alter her identity and purpose.

Snatched from a quiet life in an Italian villa, Miss Adelaide is thrust into conflicts others have created. What battle scars will she sustain? And where will love lead her?

In The Awakening of Miss Adelaide, war and peace, laughter and heartache, love and loss come together to ignite a fresh fire that reveals one woman’s hidden needs and potentials. 

What will gaining a fresh understanding of herself require of the Angel of the Opera?






Click here to grab your copy!



About the Author



Linda Brooks Davis was born and reared, educated, and married in Texas. Her children and six grandchildren were born in Texas. She devoted the bulk of her 40 years as a special educator in Texas schools. But her mother and grandmother hailed from Oklahoma, the setting for Linda’s 2015 debut novel, The Calling of Ella McFarland, which won the 2014 Jerry Jenkins Operation First Novel Award and the 2016 American Christian Fiction Writers Carol Award. Linda continues to write from her home in San Antonio, Texas. She and her beloved husband Al worship and minister at Oak Hills Church. Linda enjoys chatting with readers through her website www.lindabrooksdavis.com







 More from Linda
Awakening Miss Adelaide begins with my mother’s cedar chest, which bore an unwritten warning: Hands off! Priceless treasures resided in its depths. My parents’ wedding suits. An old tattered quilt. Mother’s felt hat with a jaunty feather at the rolled-up grim. Bible notes. A stained tablecloth. Equally stained ladies’ handkerchiefs. And old, crocheted, scorched pot holders.

My paternal great-grandmother wrote letters and created intricate, painstaking handwork while she was committed to an asylum in Terrell, Texas. They represent the dearest items in the cedar chest.

Incalculable are the times over the years when a family member would comment Great-granny didn’t appear insane at all. I often wondered how it was she resided at a state mental hospital from 1900 until her death in 1948. How could an insane person write coherent letters and create such handwork?

Mystery shrouds those answers as surely as Great-grandmother herself.

Family legend developed around her. Stories varied from “She wasn’t crazy. Her husband wanted to get rid of her” to “She was an Indian who chose the name McFarland to avoid White bias against the indigenous people.” The truth hides somewhere amid the deadfall of her tragic life.

Sometimes research for a novel can feel like digging up bones. In a way, it is.

One such “bone” I got my teeth around and refused to let go was an article in a 1913 edition of Fort Worth Star-Telegram. It described a murder committed in the lobby of the Metropolitan Hotel. This violent act occurred in connection with an adulterous affair.

Consequently, heightened emotions, lowered common sense, and the control males exerted over females resulted in one man’s murder and the murderer’s acquittal. The “offending” woman’s husband dragged her home kicking and screaming and committed her to a mental asylum for “emotional insanity.”

wondered if the “offending” man had been treated in like manner. Hardly.

How could I NOT include this morass in a novel?

Someone ought to write a book about that was often said around our family reunions. My interest in doing just that developed little by little over the years. The Women of Rock Creek series deals with some of the ways in which women were denied equal rights when they were denied the vote. Such realities presented an ideal platform for illustrating some women’s plight in the hands of unscrupulous men–inequality in education, the courtroom, and even in mental health care.

With an abundance of love and respect for my great-grandmother; her daughter, my grandmother; and her grandson, my father, I offer this imaginary story. It contrasts two different women: one with a voice heard around the world and the other with no voice at all.

offer The Awakening of Miss Adelaide to the Lord to do with it as He sees fit. May this story inspired by the agony experienced by my great-grandmother serve to lighten someone else’s load.


Blog Stops

Bettimace, August 10
Godly Book Reviews, August 10
Connect in Fiction, August 11
Mary Hake, August 11
Genesis 5020, August 12
Bigreadersite , August 15
Blessed & Bookish, August 16
Emily Yager, August 16
CarpeDiem, August 17
Pause for Tales, August 20
Texas Book-aholic, August 21
janicesbookreviews, August 22
A Reader’s Brain, August 22
Simple Harvest Reads, August 23 (Spotlight)

Giveaway


To celebrate her tour, Linda is giving away the grand prize of an eBook copy of her book and a $50 Amazon gift card!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.
https://promosimple.com/ps/e682/the-awakening-of-miss-adelaide-celebration-tour-giveaway



My Thoughts:

This was a new to me author so I wasn't sure what to expect, but I'm always up for a WWI story so I jumped at the chance to request a review copy! 
Honestly, I have mixed feelings about this book. I really liked that the story began in Tuscany! The author's descriptions of the different settings in the novel were beautifully done, and made me feel as though I were really there. I also liked that this story is written in first person POV!
This story has a good pace and there was always something happening. 
I found it fascinating that the author's own family history served as inspiration for the story.
I liked the characters, but I never connected with them the way I had hoped to. 
There was quite a bit of repetitiveness in this story, which bothered me because most of the time it felt unnecessary. 
One thing that really bothered me was at one point in the story, when the heroine Adelaide was in Washington D.C. on the day of the winter solstice. Right after they finish their noonday meal a suffragist invites Adelaide to visit the home for women and children that she runs, saying "This is the winter solstice, you know, so we'll have light longer than usual." This along with the fact that a page later it is referenced as being the longest day of 1918 seems to me to be implying that there were more hours of daylight that day than any other. I don't know if that is what the author meant to say, but if it is then I'm afraid that's incorrect because it is a well known fact that the winter solstice is actually the shortest day of the year, with the fewest hours of daylight not the most.
Overall, I liked this book but didn't love it. However, I know lots of other people are loving this book, so if it interests you I recommend you give it a try as it might be the perfect fit for you.


I received a copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Monday, August 12, 2019

Book Tour Grand Finale: Love and Other Mistakes by Jessica Kate #LOMPrismTour

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Book Tour Grand Finale for
Love and Other Mistakes
By Jessica Kate

We hope you enjoyed the tour! If you missed any of the stops, including the Q&A at

each stop of the tour, you'll find snippets, as well as the link to each full post, below:




"I liked sooooo very much about this book. I found myself literally LOL-ing at times, to the startled reactions of those around me (on the train or at the nail salon). The author is downright hilarious, and I appreciated how she incorporated humor into some very serious topics."





Describe your book in 25 words or less.



To land her dream internship, a woman must nanny her ex-fiancĂ©’s infant son and deal with his troubled teenage niece.



(I have five words left, so–) sassy, love/hate, comedy, drama.





"Jessica Kate has written a novel that many teens can relate to. On one level it is about relationships and forgiveness. On another level it is about God’s love for us even when we think no one loves us and the people who should care the most about us fail. . . . I would not hesitate to add this to my K-12 Christian school library. It is appropriate for high school age and adults."





"This is a delightfully, entertaining novel addressing the topics of love, betrayal, facing problematic situations, forgiveness and other Christian ethics."





Did you have a favorite character in this novel and who is it?



Jessica: This is a weird answer, but NICK! I know, he’s not a main character, but this teen math nerd has a Nirvana T-shirt, knows how to hot wire a car, and raises baby chickens as a surprise to cheer up his mother. He’s such a sweetie pie!



Bookworm Lisa - Review


"I really enjoyed this story of love, forgiveness, loss, and compassion. The characters are complicated and the author does a great job of describing them, how they are feeling, and moving them forward in a positive way. . . . I appreciated how they came back to their faith and trusted God to help see them through."





SLB: What inspired the idea for this story?



Jessica Kate: ​Complicated answer! The actual plot – entirely fictional. But the emotional journeys? I started writing this book at 22, working a job that didn’t lead anywhere, single, and unsure where I fit in life. I felt like I was missing out on my purpose—and so did my main character, Natalie.





"For a debut novel I thought that one was pretty impressive and I liked that author had characters from various age groups and blended them perfectly within the pages of this book. A story of family and friends and how at times we have to make sacrifices to help not only your loved ones but those who are need of help. too. . . . Overall this storyline is much more tender than I thought it would be and that's just fine with me. I like the writing of Jessica Kate and I will read more of her work."



Radiant Light - Review


"This book met all the things I adore in an inspirational rom-com. Jessica Kate handles tough subjects and real relationships well. The inspirational thread is woven throughout the book like a beautiful ribbon. I highly recommend this book."





"It was dramatic narrative interwoven with romance, forgiveness and sense of family. It was interesting to read about the challenges in Natalie, Jem and Lilli's lives and how they overcome their hardships and past. I would recommend reading it."





"In the midst of all the drama and heavy issues was just the right amount of humor to keep it a lighter and more entertaining read. . . . I personally really enjoyed it. It was still clean, just more real. As such, I could see that it could appeal also to a wider audience who might not generally prefer Christian fiction as well. This is a great, quick read that I would certainly recommend, and I cannot wait to see what Jessica Kate has in store for us next!"



I'm Into Books - Spotlight


Q. Do you write full time or do you also have another job outside of being a wonderful author?



A. I work full-time as a training developer at a small bank. It’s fun getting to use my creativity in a team context, especially when we make training videos. I like to pretend I’m Steven Spielberg 😉



Backing Books - Review


"I do think that this is a really good read. Natalie and Jem are an adorable couple, taking care of an adorable baby, and Lili is an amazingly relatable teenager. And the heavy, emotional scenes are balanced well with lighthearted moments that show the brighter side of life. There were a few moments which seemed unrealistic, but those played more into the comedic side of the story, making them easier to roll with."



Among the Reads - Spotlight


Jessica, what would you like your readers to take away from Love and Other Mistakes?



Hope! Life, family and love can all be messy and scary—but God is bigger than the mess and brings us love and joy!



Uplifting Reads - Review


"There is a lot going on in this story! . . . In a way, these problems almost made the story seem a bit more realistic, because we often get plagued with multiple life events that cause stress and chaos. Life is not pretty; it is messy. . . . I also want to point out that while this is listed as a Christian contemporary romance, you are not going to have Christianity shoved down your throat. To me it was more of a way at looking at how even Christians do not have perfect lives. But these people are, at the same time, using their faith to help them through. . . . So I think readers who are not necessarily interested in Christian romances would also enjoy this one."



Wishful Endings - Spotlight


What is one piece of advice your character, Natalie, would give us about love?



Natalie at the start of the book would bark a slightly bitter laugh and shrug, then change the subject.



Natalie at the end of the book would say that if you don’t understand how God loves you (and that your value has nothing to do with your good works or mistakes), then it’ll make your relationships much harder.



It’s when you get that clear understanding from God about your own value, then that love can more easily spill over to others.





"Natalie Groves has big dreams and hopes but, when her fiancé, Jeremy Walters, suddenly breaks up with her, she felt lost. Her father was then diagnosed with cancer, which left Natalie struggling to keep her family afloat while nursing her broken heart. With her grand plans in the rearview mirror, Natalie's relationship with God is also stilted. . . . Overall, I think it's a decent read for young adults."





"This was a good debut novel! I loved the author's writing style and voice! . . . I don't often remember quotes or make note of them, but this one really stood out to me and touched my heart. "The truth is you are far more than a job, a ministry, or even a calling. You are a person created and saved by God, no matter what your job is or what you do in life."



Overall, this is a good story."




1)What inspired you to first start writing this book?



The original seed of an idea was a story about a man and a woman who were raising a kid, but they weren’t a couple. From that I got the idea of Natalie nannying her ex-fiancĂ©'s son and it all grew from there!



I adore love/hate stories, so the idea of ex’s having to work together is one I find endlessly entertaining! :D



Splashes of Joy - Review


"This is a nice and interesting read. There is a lot going on in this story. . . . The author handles each situation going on in the story really well. . . . Overall, this debut novel is pretty good. It’s fun to read, and will keep you entertained for quite a few hours. I really think the younger generation would love this book, as in late teens and early 20’s."





"Love and Other Mistakes is a good read. It has some cute, fun, and delightful moments that made me laugh out loud. There were some tearing up moments that made me want to grab the tissues. . . . I believe it is worth a read."


Love and Other Mistakes
By Jessica Kate
Christian Contemporary Romance
Paperback, Audiobook & ebook, 352 Pages
July 30th 2019 by Thomas Nelson

Jessica Kate’s hilarious, romantic debut novel proves that some mistakes—including love—are begging to be made again and again.

Natalie Groves once had big dreams. But soon after her fiancĂ©, Jeremy Walters, inexplicably broke off their engagement and left town, her father was diagnosed with cancer. Now tasked with keeping her family afloat, Natalie’s grand plans have evaporated . . . and God feels very far away.

Fast-forward seven years, and Jeremy is back in Charlottesville with an infant son and years of regrets. When his niece, Lili, lands on his doorstep in need of a place to stay, Jeremy needs help—and fast.

An internship opening finally presents Natalie a chance at her dream job, but she needs a second income to work around it—and the only offer available is Jeremy’s. They could be the solutions to one another’s problems, provided they don’t kill each other in the process. When they join forces, sparks fly. But they both know there’s a thin line between love and hate . . . and that love will turn out to be the best decision—or the biggest mistake—of all.

Praise for the Book

“A stunning debut . . . This tale of love and redemption will stay with you long after you've closed the book. A must-read.” —Rachel Hauck, New York Times bestselling author of The Wedding Dress

“Witty. Charming. Heartfelt. I could go on and on about Jessica Kate’s debut novel. From its highly relatable characters to its pitch-perfect dialogue, Love and Other Mistakes is a delightful, romantic read filled with just the right amount of sass. I lost count of the number of times I laughed out loud as I watched Natalie and Jem navigate their relationships, careers, and faith. Definitely one of the most enjoyable books I've read lately, and I can't wait to see what’s next from Jessica Kate!” —Melissa Tagg, Carol Award–winning author of Now and Then and Always and the Walker Family series

Love and Other Mistakes wraps a poignant and warm look at relationships within a smart, sly, and knowing comedic voice. Readers of Sally Thorne and Bethany Turner will be immediately at home with Natalie: an all-too-real heroine who balances whip-smart agency with an endearing vulnerability and whose intersection with long-lost Jeremy helps her forge a path to confidence and discover the woman she was always meant to be. Kate’s unputdownable debut recognizes that all human relationships—familial, friendship, romantic—are worth the keen eye and clever insight of her talented pen.” —Rachel McMillan, author of the Van Buren and DeLuca Mysteries

“If you’re looking for a story with sass on top of style, or a fresh voice pumped full of fun, you need to read Love and Other Mistakes. Then after you’ve enjoyed this—and I’m confident you will—make a date with whatever this exciting new author writes next!” —David Rawlings, author of The Baggage Handler

Bookstagram Tour

Find out more about the tour here.

About the Author


Australian author Jessica Kate is obsessed with sassy romances. 

She packs her novels with love, hate, and everything in between—and then nerds out over her favorite books, movies and TV in the StoryNerds podcast. When she’s not writing or discussing fiction, she’s hunting the world for the greatest pasta in existence.

Her debut novel Love and Other Mistakes releases July 2019, while A Girl’s Guide to the Outback hits shelves in January 2020.

Receive her sassy short The Kiss Dare FREE when you sign up for her newsletter at jessicakatewriting.com. StoryNerds podcast is available on Spotify and Apple Podcasts and at www.storynerds.podbean.com.



Grab Our Button!

Wednesday, August 7, 2019

Love and Other Mistakes by Jessica Kate Author Q&A, Review, and Blog Tour! #LOMPrismTour

Author Q&A

Caitlyn Santi: If you could pick only one book to read for the rest of your life what book would it be?


Jessica Kate: The Hating Game. This one isn’t a Christian book and comes with an adult content warning, but it’s a really fun story. Author Sally Thorne has found a way to inject sherbet and rainbows directly into your brain in the form of one of the best love/hate stories I’ve ever encountered!


On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Love and Other Mistakes
By Jessica Kate
Christian Contemporary Romance
Paperback, Audiobook & ebook, 352 Pages
July 30th 2019 by Thomas Nelson

Jessica Kate’s hilarious, romantic debut novel proves that some mistakes—including love—are begging to be made again and again.

Natalie Groves once had big dreams. But soon after her fiancĂ©, Jeremy Walters, inexplicably broke off their engagement and left town, her father was diagnosed with cancer. Now tasked with keeping her family afloat, Natalie’s grand plans have evaporated . . . and God feels very far away.

Fast-forward seven years, and Jeremy is back in Charlottesville with an infant son and years of regrets. When his niece, Lili, lands on his doorstep in need of a place to stay, Jeremy needs help—and fast.

An internship opening finally presents Natalie a chance at her dream job, but she needs a second income to work around it—and the only offer available is Jeremy’s. They could be the solutions to one another’s problems, provided they don’t kill each other in the process. When they join forces, sparks fly. But they both know there’s a thin line between love and hate . . . and that love will turn out to be the best decision—or the biggest mistake—of all.

Praise for the Book

“A stunning debut . . . This tale of love and redemption will stay with you long after you've closed the book. A must-read.” —Rachel Hauck, New York Times bestselling author of The Wedding Dress

“Witty. Charming. Heartfelt. I could go on and on about Jessica Kate’s debut novel. From its highly relatable characters to its pitch-perfect dialogue, Love and Other Mistakes is a delightful, romantic read filled with just the right amount of sass. I lost count of the number of times I laughed out loud as I watched Natalie and Jem navigate their relationships, careers, and faith. Definitely one of the most enjoyable books I've read lately, and I can't wait to see what’s next from Jessica Kate!” —Melissa Tagg, Carol Award–winning author of Now and Then and Always and the Walker Family series

Love and Other Mistakes wraps a poignant and warm look at relationships within a smart, sly, and knowing comedic voice. Readers of Sally Thorne and Bethany Turner will be immediately at home with Natalie: an all-too-real heroine who balances whip-smart agency with an endearing vulnerability and whose intersection with long-lost Jeremy helps her forge a path to confidence and discover the woman she was always meant to be. Kate’s unputdownable debut recognizes that all human relationships—familial, friendship, romantic—are worth the keen eye and clever insight of her talented pen.” —Rachel McMillan, author of the Van Buren and DeLuca Mysteries

“If you’re looking for a story with sass on top of style, or a fresh voice pumped full of fun, you need to read Love and Other Mistakes. Then after you’ve enjoyed this—and I’m confident you will—make a date with whatever this exciting new author writes next!” —David Rawlings, author of The Baggage Handler


About the Author


Australian author Jessica Kate is obsessed with sassy romances. 

She packs her novels with love, hate, and everything in between—and then nerds out over her favorite books, movies and TV in the StoryNerds podcast. When she’s not writing or discussing fiction, she’s hunting the world for the greatest pasta in existence.

Her debut novel Love and Other Mistakes releases July 2019, while A Girl’s Guide to the Outback hits shelves in January 2020.

Receive her sassy short The Kiss Dare FREE when you sign up for her newsletter at jessicakatewriting.com. StoryNerds podcast is available on Spotify and Apple Podcasts and at www.storynerds.podbean.com.


Tour Schedule


Grab Our Button!


My Thoughts:


3 Stars, I liked it.
This was a good debut novel! I loved the author's writing style and voice!
I was really looking forward to this book, but unfortunately it kind of fell flat for me. The tone and story turned out to be a lot more serious than I was expecting, which isn't a bad thing it just wasn't really the super fun escape of a read that I was anticipating. I liked the characters (especially Jem, after all who can resist an adorable single dad raising his super sweet baby son?!) but for some reason I never really connected with them or felt like I got to know them on a deeper level, and when I would set the book down I didn't really feel much of a pull to return to it.
I don't often remember quotes or make note of them, but this one really stood out to me and touched my heart. "The truth is you are far more than a job, a ministry, or even a calling. You are a person created and saved by God, no matter what your job is or what you do in life."
Overall, this is a good story. I think it just wasn't for me, but if this book interests you I recommend you give it a try because it might be just the right fit for you! 


I received a copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Saturday, August 3, 2019

Fragments of Fear by Carrie Stuart Parks Review & Giveaway!


About the Book



Book: Fragments of Fear

Author: Carrie Stuart Parks

Genre: Suspense

Release date: July 23, 2019


From award-winning author Carrie Stuart Parks comes a new novel with danger that reaches from a New Mexico Anasazi archaeological dig to micro- and nano-chip technology.



Evelyn Yvonne McTavish-Tavish to her friends-had her almost perfect world in Albuquerque, New Mexico, come to a crashing end with the suicide of her fiancĂ©. As she struggles to put her life back together and make a living from her art, she’s given the news that her dog is about to be destroyed at the dog pound. Except she doesn’t own a dog. The shelter is adamant that the microchip embedded in the canine-with her name and address-makes it hers.

Tavish recognizes the dog as one owned by an archaeologist named Pat Caron because she did a commissioned drawing of the two of them months earlier. The simple solution is to return the dog to his owner, but she arrives only to discover Caron’s murdered body.

After meeting undercover FBI agent Sawyer Price the mystery deepens as more people start disappearing and Tavish becomes a target as well. Her only solution is to find the links between microchip technology, an Anasazi site in the desert, her fiancĂ©’s death, a late-night radio show, and the dog. And the clock is ticking.



Click here to purchase your copy.




About the Author



Carrie Stuart Parks is a Christy finalist as well as a Carol Award-winning author. She has won numerous awards for her fine art as well. An internationally known forensic artist, she travels with her husband, Rick, across the US and Canada teaching courses in forensic art to law-enforcement professionals. The author/illustrator of numerous books on drawing and painting, Carrie continues to create dramatic watercolors from her studio in the mountains of Idaho.




More from Carrie

Using Art to Solve Crime: Techniques Used by Forensic Artists



Since 1981, I’ve been a forensic artist—an amazing feat since I’m only . . .um. . . well, younger than that. In those years, I’ve seen some shifts and trends, but some things have never changed. Despite the overwhelming prevalence of computers in almost every other field, they have never been able to replace a trained forensic artist. Artists have an amazing toolbox of techniques we use to gather the information we need to help solve crime.


  1. The pencil. Any forensic artist worth her weight in graphite knows the power of the lowly pencil and a sketchpad. Law enforcement would love a photographic image of the suspect, but all we have to work with is memory…and memory is faulty. The more the image looks perfect, the more imperfect it is for helping to identify a suspect. We want the drawing to just suggest a likeness and eliminate those not similar.
  2. Now that we brought up the subject of memory, a forensic artist needs to understand how memory works. The average witness will remember between four and five facial features. When they describe the person they saw, they will do so from their strongest memory to their weakest memory, from most important to least important. We listen carefully to the order of facial features.
  3. Whole vs Parts. We don’t look at faces as individual parts, although a particularly outstanding nose or Marty Feldman eyes might catch our attention. We will remember the face as a whole, with the proportions of the face an unacknowledged part of that. Forensic artist prefer to use reference photographs where the whole face is viewed.
Want more? Check out the rest of my article at The Strand Magazine


Blog Stops

The Avid Reader, July 24
CarpeDiem, July 24
Livin’ Lit, July 26
The Becca Files, July 26
Cathe Swanson, July 27
Bigreadersite, July 29
Simple Harvest Reads, July 29 (Guest post from Mindy Houng)
Mary Hake, July 29
EmpowerMoms, July 30
By The Book, August 1
Remembrancy, August 2
amandainpa, August 2
Pause for Tales, August 3
Hallie Reads, August 4

Giveaway


To celebrate her tour, Carrie is giving away a grand prize of her book!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.
https://promosimple.com/ps/e592/fragments-of-fear-celebration-tour-giveaway



I read this author's second novel (The Bones Will Speak) back when it released, and loved it, but hadn't yet gotten around to reading any of her other books. As soon as I saw this cover I knew I wanted to read this book (I mean come on, the lettering is gorgeous and the whole cover just screams awesome, suspenseful thrill ride!) and then when I read the description I was totally sold, and so I jumped at the chance to request a review copy! 
Oh, wow! It was indeed an awesome, suspenseful thrill ride, I couldn't put it down and read it start to finish in a little over a day! 
I love heroines that are strong, but also flawed and real, so it makes perfect sense that I instantly liked Tavish. Even though our socio-economic backgrounds are very different, I could relate to her in so many ways, and I felt myself learning, growing, and gaining a new perspective on things right alongside her! 
This book was SOOOO good, super suspenseful, and action packed from beginning to end! For a majority of the book I had no clue what the criminals were trying to hide, and that was totally okay with me because it kept me turning pages faster and faster to see what the next twist would be! 
I am a big romance novel fan, and while there is a bit of romance in this book it is a very light thread, the book is much heavier on the suspense/mystery side of things than the romance and I actually totally loved that, it was perfect for this particular book and made for a very refreshing change of pace! 
Oh, and Marley! I'm a huge animal lover and I absolutely adored Marley the dog, she was so sweet and her presence just added that perfect little something to the story, as well as many humorous moments that made me literally laugh out loud! 
I love this author's writing style and wit, and how she can write an amazing, spellbinding, completely gripping thriller, but at the same time she knows just when to lighten things up with a touch of humor!
Overall, I loved everything about Fragments of Fear and HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! I loved every moment I spent reading it and hated to see it end! 
I am very much looking forward to this author's next book, and I plan to get a copy of her previous book, Formula of Deception and read it very soon! 
(5 Stars!)


I received a copy of this book through the CelebrateLit Team. Which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own!