Tuesday, January 1, 2019

In the Shadow of Croft Towers by Abigail Wilson Review & Giveaway


About the Book







Book: In the Shadow of Croft Towers



Author: Abigail Wilson



Genre: Historical fiction, romantic suspense




Release Date: January 15, 2019




From debut author Abigail Wilson comes a mysterious Regency tale of secrets and spies, love and treachery.

Orphaned Sybil Delafield jumps at the opportunity for a position at the mysterious Croft Towers. She believes she was hired to act as companion to a dying woman, but a highway robbery and a hostile welcome from the Chalcroft family cause her to wonder if she was actually hired to help someone spy for France.

An unsolved murder adds intrigue to this already secretive family, and Sybil recognizes Mrs. Chalcroft’s handsome grandson as one of the infamous highwaymen who robbed her. Sybil must determine if this man’s charming smile and earnest eyes speak the truth or if he is simply using her like others in the house. Everyone seems to have something to hide, and Sybil must decide who to trust while also coming to terms with the truth about her own past.




Click here to purchase your copy!

About the Author





Abigail Wilson combines her passion for Regency England with intrigue and adventure to pen historical mysteries with a heart. A Registered Nurse, chai tea addict, and mother of two crazy kids, Abigail fills her spare time hiking the National Parks, attending her daughter’s gymnastic meets, and curling up with a great book. In 2017, Abigail won WisRWA’s Fab Five contest and ACFW’s First Impressions contest as well as placing as a finalist in the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense. She is a cum laude graduate of the University of Texas at Austin and currently lives in Dripping Springs, Texas, with her husband and children. Connect with Abigail at www.acwilsonbooks.com


Excerpt from the Book

1813

THE ENGLISH COUNTRYSIDE

I often wonder what my life would have been like if I had never learned the truth. I wouldn’t have set off as I did for Croft Towers. I never would have met him.

It’s strange what I remember about the day I left London. The mail coach was late; the weather wretched. The clock had struck midnight long before two strangers and I ducked beneath the postmaster’s outstretched umbrella to board the Royal Mail and rumble across the North Downs.

That difficult journey east marked the beginning of an unseasonably cold autumn. Frigid rain pelted the coach windows. The undercarriage squealed beneath the seats as a metallic scent wound its way between the drafty boards. I gripped the windowsill, wondering if the coachman intended to hit every bump in the road.

“Far to go, miss?”

The woman’s voice startled me. Dressed head to toe in red

satin, she’d endured the last few darkened hours with a handful of smelling salts and a tongue hot for complaints, but she hadn’t spoken to me until now. Not until the first hint of rain-soaked daylight peeked over the horizon.

I lowered my gaze and fiddled with my bonnet ribbons. “Yes, ma’am . . . well, not too much farther, I hope.”

Taken from “In the Shadow of Croft Towers” by Abigail Wilson. Copyright © 2018 by Abigail Wilson. Used by permission of http://www.thomasnelson.com/


Blog Stops

Just the Write Escape, December 20
Faery Tales Are Real, December 20
The Avid Reader, December 20
Mary Hake, December 22
Carpe Diem, December 22
Inklings and notions, December 23
Blogging With Carol, December 23
Stories By Gina, December 24
Remembrancy, December 24
Madeline Clark, December 25
Janices book reviews, December 26
Back Porch Reads, December 27
Book by Book, December 27
Daysong Reflections, December 28
All-of-a-kind Mom, December 28
Godly Book Reviews, December 29
Bigreadersite, December 29
A Rup Life, December 30
Bibliophile Reviews, December 30
A Reader’s Brain, December 31
Texas Book-aholic, December 31
Bookworld Reviews, January 1
Pause for Tales, January 1

Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Abigail is giving away a grand prize of one finished copy of the book!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter. https://promosimple.com/ps/d777/in-the-shadow-of-croft-towers-celebration-tour-giveaway


My Thoughts


I love regency stories and I also love suspense and mysteries, so when I first heard about this book I knew I HAD to read it!
This is a great book! I instantly liked the main character, Sybil and was cheering her on throughout the book.  I did predict several of the plot twists, but that did not at all lessen my enjoyment of the story, and there were a couple surprises that I did not expect, it's always super fun when that happens! The suspense and romance in this book were both so great and in my opinion there was the perfect ratio of romance and suspense, all of which were brilliantly written! Speaking of the writing, this book is written in first person POV, my personal favorite so I was super excited to discover that was how this author chose to write her story! 
I definitely consider this book to be a clean read, the only problem I had with it was that I was expecting a faith story of some kind and I was disappointed that there did not seem to be one at all! 
Overall, I enjoyed this book very much and I am so glad I read it! I look forward to reading more from this author in the future. If you are looking for a clean read that combines the regency era with suspense and romance I highly recommend In the Shadow of Croft Towers.
(4 Stars!)



I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher. Which did not influence my review in any way, all thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Monday, December 31, 2018

My Favorite Reads of 2018!


In no particular order here are My Favorite Reads of 2018!


1. Grace Restored, Finally Accepted, Enduring Love, and Deck the Shelves by Toni Shiloh

2. Oath of Honor, Called to Protect, Code of Ethics, and Code of Valor by Lynette Eason

3. A Search for Refuge, and A Defense of Honor by Kristi Ann Hunter

4. Falling For You by Becky Wade

5. The Carpenter's Daughter, The Cupcake Dilemma by Jennifer Rodewald

6. No One Ever Asked by Katie Ganshert

7. The Isaac Project, Bookishly Ever After, and Literarily for Keeps by Sarah Monzon

8. Enchanting Nicholete by Dawn Crandall

9. Dead Drift, and Deadly Isle by Dani Pettrey

10. A Song Unheard, and The Reluctant Duchess by Roseanna M. White

11. The Secret Life of Sarah Hollenbeck by Bethany Turner

12. Just the Way You Are, Facade, and Jane By The Book by Pepper Basham

13. Surrendered Hearts by Carrie Turansky

14. Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson

15. The Hidden Side by Heidi Chiavaroli

16. A Cliche Christmas by Nicole Deese

17. If I Live by Terri Blackstock

18. A Chance at Forever by Melissa Jagears

19. Delayed Justice by Cara Putman

20. The Christmas Heirloom by Kristi Ann Hunter, Karen Witemeyer, Sarah Loudin Thomas, and Becky Wade

Monday, December 24, 2018

Review: Code of Valor by Lynette Eason


5 Stars! 
What a fabulous third installment in the Blue Justice series! I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH! From the first page I hated to stop reading. The suspense was phenomenal, and the story utterly enthralling, not that I expected anything less from a book by Lynette Eason! I love the St. John family, their dynamics and their banter always makes for many smiles and laughs, and Code of Valor was no exception! I was so excited to get Brady's story, he was such a fabulous hero and it was wonderful to watch his trust in God return throughout the course of the book! Emily was a wonderful heroine, I could relate so much to her insecurities and struggle to truly believe that she was made in God's image and that He loved her unconditionally no matter what size she wore, that message touched my heart so deeply that I plan to reread it many times in the future, and I adored the tender way Brady helped Emily to see how beautiful she was! The scuba diving aspect of the story was great, and so fabulously described that I felt like I was experiencing it vicariously while reading! Code of Valor is yet another Lynette Eason book that has a permanent spot on my keeper shelf! I would say each book in this series can stand alone, but I highly recommend you read them all, as you won't want to miss a moment of the total awesomeness that is the Blue Justice series! I can't wait for Linc's story! 


I received a copy of this book from the publisher, which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Wednesday, December 19, 2018

Review: Teal Paisley Tights by Barbara Brutt




4 Stars!
This is a very good Chick lit debut novel. Super cute and fun while also being very true to life! I instantly liked the main character, Jadyn and I found myself relating to several different aspects of her life. The message of defining what success means to you, and learning to rely on God and asking Him to guide your life was fantastic and just the reminder I needed at this point in my life! I read this one a bit slower, so I really had time to absorb all the great things about it! A great read that I highly recommend! I'm glad that I read Teal Paisley Tights, and I look forward to reading more by this author in the future! 


I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


Sunday, December 9, 2018

Review: Swimming in the Deep End by Christina Suzann Nelson


4 Stars!
I don't often read women's fiction novels, but the description of this one intrigued me so I jumped at the opportunity to review it! This is an absolutely wonderful book that I very much enjoyed reading. Swimming in the Deep End does touch on some tough subjects (teen pregnancy, abortion, family issues, grief after the loss of a loved one) but I felt that all these topics were handled with fabulous grace in a manner that most readers would not find offensive. 
This book is told in first person POV alternating between the perspectives of four different women, something that I wouldn't normally like all that much, but for this story it worked beautifully and each character had such a unique voice that I never once got confused about which character's head I was in! The faith story was so real, heart-stirring, and incredibly moving, it grabbed my heart and wouldn't let go! This is truly a wonderful read! I enjoyed it so much, and am so glad I read it! I highly recommend Swimming in the Deep End to anyone who is looking for a deep, powerful read that will touch your heart and soul and leave a lasting imprint long after you close the book! I have Christina Suzann Nelson's first book on my Kindle and I look forward to reading it (as well as anything she writes in the future) because I absolutely love her writing style! 


I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.




Monday, December 3, 2018

Murder of Convenience by Linda Shenton Matchett Review and Giveaway





About the Book











Book: Murder of Convenience


Author: Linda Shenton Matchett


Genre: Historical Mystery


Release Date: October 15, 2018







May 1942: Geneva Alexander flees Philadelphia and joins the USO to escape the engagement her parents have arranged for her, only to wind up as the number one suspect in her betrothed’s murder investigation. Diagnosed with Retinitis Pigmentosa, she must find the real killer before she loses her sight…or is convicted for a crime she didn’t commit.


Set in the early days of America’s entry into WWII and featuring cameo appearances from Hollywood stars, Murder of Convenience is tribute to individuals who served on the home front, especially those who did so in spite of personal difficulties, reminding us that service always comes as a result of sacrifice. Betrayal, blackmail, and a barrage of unanswered questions… Murder of Convenience is the first in Linda Shenton Matchett’s exciting new “Women of Courage” series.

 

Click here to purchase your copy!


About the Author








Linda Shenton Matchett is an author, speaker, and history geek. A native of Baltimore, Maryland, she was born a stone’s throw from Fort McHenry and has lived in historic places all her life. Linda is a member of ACFW, RWA, and Sisters in Crime. She is a volunteer docent at the Wright Museum of WWII and a trustee for her local public library.


Guest Post from Linda


World War II is my favorite era about which to read and write. What I find most fascinating about the time period are the stories about ordinary people doing extraordinary things, especially women, who until this time, had been provided for and protected.
A woman was typically insulated from difficulties or frightening things, and her husband or father took care of just about everything. When the war took millions of men away, the women had to learn how to take care of themselves in addition to filling the job vacancies.
Yes, there were Rosie the Riveters: women who worked in the factories building weapons, ships, vehicles and all kinds of war materiel, but there were also Land Army girls, many of whom didn’t know how to drive, who learned to operate all kinds of farm equipment so they could bring in crops to feed our nation as well as our Allies. Others donned uniforms to serve in the WACS, WAVES, SPARS, WASPS, Marines, Army Nurse Corp, and Navy Nurse Corp. Millions boosted morale through the USO and Red Cross or served in myriad ways with Civil Defense. Some went overseas to cover the war as journalists. A few even signed on as spies.
The driving force with most of these women was the realization that their country needed them. They put their own needs and desires aside to help win a war they didn’t ask to be part of. And many did it while single-handedly running the household because their husband was somewhere across the globe – ordinary women doing extraordinary things.
My latest release, Murder of Convenience, explores themes of service and sacrifice intertwined with the question of how to respond when God says no. It is my hope that the novel honors the women who lived during WWII in some small way.



Blog Stops



All-of-a-kind Mom, December 1
Bigreadersite, December 1
Carpe Diem, December 3
Pause for Tales, December 5
Multifarious, December 7
Have A Wonderful DayDecember 8
Bibliophile Reviews, December 8
Blogging With CarolDecember 9
Texas Book-aholic, December 10
The Lit AddictDecember 12
Maureen’s Musings, December 13
Janices book reviews, December 14


Giveaway










To celebrate her tour, Linda is giving away a grand prize of a World War II themed gift basket!!


Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter. https://promosimple.com/ps/d6d3/murder-of-convenience-celebration-
tour-giveaway


My Thoughts


This was my first read by this author, and it will most definitely not be my last! This is a great WWII mystery novel, and I enjoyed every minute of it immensely! Geneva was such a fabulous main character, I immediately liked her and greatly admired her spunk and her bravery. Before reading this book I knew very little about the USO, but Geneva's experiences with the USO were absolutely fascinating to read about and taught me quite a lot about the organization! While reading this book I noticed that due to the wonderful writing and fabulous historical detail each scene played out in black-and-white movie form in my mind, which I loved! I was swept away into the world of this book and its story, much like I am with one of my favorite old movies. This book is utterly delightful and I am so glad I read it! By the way, it has a wonderful faith story that I think we can all relate to! I highly recommend Murder of Convenience to all fans of Christian WWII fiction. Do yourself a favor and read this one ASAP, you won't be sorry! I can't wait to read more of this author's books in the future.
(4 stars!)

I received a copy of this book through the Celebrate Lit team. Which did not influence my review in any way, all thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Saturday, November 24, 2018

Review: Bookishly Ever After by Sarah Monzon


5 Stars! 

Be still my book loving heart! I ADORED every single second of this book! It hooked me on page one and didn't let go. Utterly and completely delightful, amazing, fantastic, phenomenal, fabulous, and every other superlative you can think of don't even begin to fully extol the extraordinarily epic experience that is this incredible piece of awesomeness! 
I don't think I've ever met a main character that was as much like me as Emory, seriously we have such similar personalities that in so many ways it was almost like reading a story about myself! 😍😍😍😍😍


I read this book for pure pleasure. No review required.