Friday, March 25, 2022

The Last Gasp by Chautona Havig: Audiobook Review, and Giveaway!

 


About the Book

 


Book: The Last Gasp

Author: Chautona Havig

Narrator: Christa DelSorbo

Genre: Christian Historical Mystery, Fairytale

Release date: December, 2021

At the pinnacle of his Hollywood career, Garrison Prince’s reign ends tonight.

As plain old Gary Prinz, he can pursue his Bible education, buy a bungalow in Pasadena, acquire a few chickens, and marry the girl of his dreams. He just never imagined trading the silver screen for a pulpit would wreak such havoc.

A cigarillo girl, Lucinda Ashton spends her days with her boyfriend, Gary, and her evenings selling candy and “gaspers” to the Hollywood elite at the Taj Mahal Theater.

However, when gunshots ring out just as intermission begins, Lucinda finds herself smack-dab in the middle of a brouhaha that leaves three dead, and no one has a clue why.

All the police know is that the evidence points to Lucinda as the killer and Gary as the intended target.

Four new friends, one young orphan, and a potluck of clues that don’t seem to fit anywhere leave the police baffled, Lucinda in fear for her freedom, and Gary ready to trade in his acting shoes for gumshoes if it’ll save his “Cinda.”

The first book in the Ever After Mysteries combining beloved fairy tales and mysteries, The Last Gasp. This Cinderella retelling blends a murder with enough crime and story clues to keep you on the edge of your seat.

 

Click here to get your copy!

 

My Thoughts:


This was a great mystery novel that swept me away to 1920s Los Angeles! 

I’ve enjoyed the Cinderella retellings I’ve read in the past, but I never would have imagined such a thing as a Cinderella story murder mystery, so creative and brilliantly done! 

Lucinda and Gary were both fantastic characters, I really liked them both. And I loved that Gary was a famous actor who was choosing to leave show biz to become a pastor, that made for such a great story and I loved it! 

The mystery was attention grabbing, the suspenseful scenes were pulse-pounding, and the overall story was riveting and played out in my mind like an old black-and-white movie!

I really enjoyed The Last Gasp and highly recommend it! I also just want to say that I listened to the audiobook and the narrator did a fabulous job, I loved the way she brought the story to life, and the different voice she gave to each character was excellent and so well done! 



I received a complimentary audiobook copy of this book. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.



About the Author



Using story to connect readers with the Master Storyteller.

Chautona Havig lives in an oxymoron, escapes into imaginary worlds that look startlingly similar to ours, and writes the stories that emerge. An irrepressible optimist, Chautona sees everything through a kaleidoscope of It’s a Wonderful Life sprinkled with fairy tales. Find her at chautona.com and say howdy—if you can remember how to spell her name.

 

 

 

 

About the Narrator



Speaking Life into Story

Queen of the one-eyebrow quirk, Christa DelSorbo auditioned for the role of Tarzan’s mom and has the photos to prove she ended up as the only cast member in a literal cast. These days, they keep her stuck in a box with a ball on a stick and only feed her when she reads another chapter of another fabulous book. She loves every minute. Or so they tell her. *eyebrow slowly raises *

 

More from Christa



Blog Stops


Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, March 16

For Him and My Family, March 17

Book Butterfly in Dreamland, March 17

Inklings and notions, March 18

Locks, Hooks and Books, March 19

Texas Book-aholic, March 20

Connie’s History Classroom, March 21

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, March 22

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, March 23

Gina Holder, Author and Blogger, March 24

Book Looks by Lisa, March 24

Just Your Average reviews, March 25

Sodbuster Living, March 26

Books I’ve Read, March 26

Vicarious Living, March 27

Rachael’s Inkwell, March 28

Vicky Sluiter, March 29


Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Christa is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book in the winner’s preferred format!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1bc93/the-last-gasp-audiobook-celebration-tour-giveaway

Tuesday, March 22, 2022

Review: Driving Force by Kate Angelo


 

Wowza, this book has everything I want in a romantic suspense, and so much more! 

Romantic suspense is my favorite genre and I tend to be very picky when it comes to books in this genre, so trust me when I say that Driving Force is an amazing book, and it instantly became a favorite of mine! Lynette Eason is one of my favorite authors and so when I heard that her Elite Guardians series was getting a reboot I was beyond excited to read them. With Driving Force Lynette Eason and Kate Angelo have given us a masterpiece that will be an absolute treat for romantic suspense readers everywhere! 

Christina and Grey were fantastic characters, they are both awesome in their own right and they are even better together! I loved getting to know Christina better! And Grey is such an amazing (and hunky!) hero, he may be in a wheelchair but don’t let that fool you, the man is no shrinking violet, he’s every bit as tough and capable as Christina, I love how the author wrote his character and at the same time did a brilliant job of illustrating the challenges and frustrations that people with disabilities face every day, inspiring us all to be more compassionate and empathetic. And Grey’s Tesla, oh my word! Even if you’re not a car geek this one will definitely make your jaw drop and you just might find yourself drooling a little! 

And Boss, he’s such an amazing dog, and I just love him to pieces!

This book has the perfect balance of romance and suspense, and also an amazing faith story which was one of my favorite parts of the book!  

This author crafted a mystery that was absolutely fascinating (albeit a bit terrifying to think about) and I felt like I was learning new things while reading, which I always love.

Driving Force kept me on the edge of my seat from page one until the end. This first book in the Elite Guardians collection is not to be missed!

Kate Angelo is definitely an author to watch, and she totally has a forever fan in me! 

Driving Force is on my list of favorite reads of 2022! I most highly recommend it, and cannot wait to read the next book in the Elite Guardians collection! 

(5 Stars!)


I received an ebook ARC copy of this book from the publisher. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Friday, March 4, 2022

Review: The Lady of Galway Manor by Jennifer Deibel

 


Jennifer Deibel has once again crafted a lovely story that will sweep you away to 1920’s Ireland! I loved getting to armchair explore Galway, and I loved learning about the Claddagh ring, and I especially loved Annabeth’s necklace design. 

I most highly recommend The Lady of Galway Manor to fans of riveting historical fiction! 



I received a complimentary copy of this book. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Thursday, February 10, 2022

Review: Safe House Exposed by Darlene L. Turner

 


5 Stars!


Wowza! This book is phenomenal! I’ve been a huge fan of this author since the release of her debut novel, Border Breach, and Safe House Exposed might be my favorite of hers so far! 

Like I’ve come to expect from a Darlene L. Turner book the action and suspense started on page one and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout! Loved that!

Emma and Mason were fantastic main characters, I loved them both, and I especially loved Emma’s daughter, Sierra, she was just the sweetest thing! 

I always enjoy books that feature WITSEC in some way, but I’ve only ever read ones set in the US, so it was wonderful to not only get to armchair travel to Canada, but also learn a little about the Canadian Witness Protection Program, something I knew nothing about prior to reading this book! 

This book was simply amazing, and I loved absolutely everything about it! 

Safe House Exposed is Darlene L. Turner’s best book yet! And I most highly recommend it! Take my advice and grab yourself a copy ASAP! You do not wanna miss this amazing romantic suspense!



I received a complimentary copy of this book. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


Sunday, February 6, 2022

Review: The Do-Over by Bethany Turner

 


5 Stars!

This book. Oh my goodness, I don’t think I can find the words to even come close to doing it justice, but I’ll try my best! I always eagerly anticipate each new Bethany Turner book, and have to make sure I have a block of time set aside to read it because I know I won’t want to put it down, and this one was no exception. I read it in about 24 hours because I just couldn’t stop! From the moment I cracked open that gorgeous cover I was swept away into McKenna Keaton’s story, and the story didn’t let go of me until I reached the end, though now that I think about it this book still hasn’t really let go of me! McKenna’s life is very different from mine, but I found myself relating to her so much! I loved the dynamic between McKenna and her family, they were so much fun, and at the same time wonderfully imperfect, and authentically real! 

I also have to say that I was totally surprised by the identity of the villain in the story, well done, Bethany Turner! 

This author writes phenomenal romcoms that never fail to make me laugh, and I lost track of how many times this story made me giggle, and I even snort-laughed a few times! 

In contrast, one of my very favorite parts of the  book was the storyline involving the Steerage Act of 1819, no spoilers, but it was so powerfully moving and beautifully written that it actually brought tears to my eyes, and I almost never cry at books so that’s saying something! 

To be honest I’m not much of a traveler myself, but I have always wanted to visit New York City, and this book made me even more excited to visit the city myself one day! NYC truly becomes another character in the story, there are several amazing scenes set there and I loved them all, but my personal favorite was a certain scene that takes place in the Plaza hotel…oh my word I loved that scene so much, but you're gonna have to read the book to find out why! 

If you would, please allow me to gush about my newest book boyfriend: Henry Blumenthal! Oh my word! Henry is just the greatest romcom hero ever, and I think it took less than five minutes for me to fall head over heels in love with him! Ladies, be prepared to swoon! 

Henry Blumenthal is just…just everything I could ask for and so much more! He completely made my heart melt, and he’s such a sweetheart that there were literally times I found myself saying “aww, Henry!” and happy-sighing at the same time!

I'd marry him in a heartbeat if he asked me (and, you know, if he were real. Alas, his fictionalness sadly puts a damper on our relationship, but oh well that just means I'll have to reread The Do-Over often!) Every hero Bethany Turner writes is swooniliciously knee-weakening, but Henry tops all the rest and he is totally my new favorite! I seriously loved him so much! 

The Do-Over was my first read of 2022, it was the perfect start to my reading year, and it is the first book on my list of favorite reads of 2022! 

I absolutely adored The Do-Over and most highly recommend it!

I don’t generally put book quotes in my reviews, but this one really resonated with me, and it’s too good not to share!


“There are all sorts of dreams, and sometimes they come true.”



I received a complimentary copy of this book. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Thursday, February 3, 2022

Review: In Search of a Prince by Toni Shiloh

 


5 Stars!


Oh my stars! What a gorgeously amazing story! I’ve been a super fan of Toni Shiloh’s books for years, and I have been eagerly anticipating this book since I first heard she was writing a princess story, and wow it was even better than I expected! 

Brielle was an amazing heroine, I loved her and felt like we became friends! And, no spoilers, but let me just say that I fell totally head over heels in love with the hero! He’s the best!

This book has a great cast of supporting characters. I loved them all, but I especially loved the King, Brielle’s grandfather, such a wise and wonderful character, it seemed like every time he was on the page he said something that made me smile and that was inspiring and encouraging to me.

I read this book over a couple of bitterly cold winter days here in Vermont, so it was lovely to get to armchair travel to the tropical African climate of beautiful Oloro Ile through this book! 

I love that this book is written in first person, my personal favorite POV! 

The faith story touched my heart and is one of my favorite parts of the book! 

In Search of a Prince is a magnificent, engaging royalty romance that will sweep you away and leave a lasting impression on your heart! 

I loved everything about In Search of a Prince and most highly recommend it! I cannot wait to read Iris’s story, I loved her in this book!



I received a complimentary copy of this book. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Monday, January 10, 2022

A Book Called You by Matthew Stephen Brown

A Book Called You JustRead Blog Tour

Welcome to the Blog Tour for A Book Called You by Matthew Stephen Brown, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!

ABOUT THE BOOK

A Book Called You
Title: A Book Called You 
Author: Matthew Stephen Brown 
Publisher: W Publishing / Thomas Nelson 
Release Date: October 5, 2021 
Genre: Christian Growth / Enneagram 

A biblically grounded Enneagram book that looks at the Enneagram numbers of people in the Bible so readers can discover more about themselves and gain specific wisdom about how and why they are uniquely made. 

Who am I? Everyone asks that question, no matter their age or status in life. If we truly are supposed to be real with others, shouldn’t that start with learning how to be real with ourselves? We think so. But we have to be willing to look inside and ask, "Okay, God, who am I? What is it that I don’t see about myself that you see?" A Book Called YOU will help us learn about who we are as individuals and how a biblical view of self-discovery can improve every part of our lives. 

Based on his widely successful teaching series "A Series Called You" and his personal experience using the Enneagram personality assessment tool in his marriage and other personal relationships, pastor Matt Brown offers a groundbreaking, entertaining, and heartfelt guide that highlights biblical truths alongside the Enneagram to help us better understand ourselves and how we relate to the people around us. 



My Thoughts:


This is a great book on the Enneagram from a Christian worldview. I’ve heard of the Enneagram before, but really knew very little about it. I love how in each chapter about the nine different types the author features a person from the Bible who likely had that personality type, it was really helpful, and it was great to see a study of God’s Word intertwined with a study of personality types. 

I’ll admit that I haven’t yet figured out which type I am, still working on it, and thinking I might not fit exactly in any one category, but this book taught me a lot about recognizing traits of the different types in people I know, so I know it will help me to understand them better. I definitely anticipate referencing back to this this book many times in the future. 

If you’re looking for a great Christian book about the Enneagram I definitely recommend A Book Called You! 



I received a complimentary copy of this book. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Matthew Stephen Brown is the founding and lead pastor of Sandals Church in Riverside, California. Sandals Church began in 1997 when Pastor Matt and his wife, Tammy, set out to create a church where people could be real with themselves, God, and others. From its first meeting with eight people in the Browns' living room, Sandals Church has since grown to reach more than 12,000 people each weekend at eleven locations across Southern and Central California. Around the world, Sandals Church's digital content is viewed by close to 30,000 people every week.

Today, he continues to lead Sandals Church as the primary teaching pastor. In 2016, he launched The Debrief podcast, an opportunity for people to get real answers to tough questions about the Bible and Christianity. And last year, Pastor Matt and Sandals Church launched the ROGO Foundation, which exists to help save and replant dying churches and invest in up-and-coming leaders through hands-on leadership training programs at Sandals Church. Matt is passionate about the vision of authenticity and raising up the next generation of leaders for the local church. He and Tammy have three children and reside in Riverside, California.

CONNECT WITH MATTHEW: Website Facebook Instagram | Twitter

TOUR GIVEAWAY

(1) winner will receive a copy of A Book Called You!

A Book Called You JustRead Giveaway

Be sure to check out each stop on the tour for more chances to win. Full tour schedule linked below. Giveaway began at midnight January 10, 2021 and lasts through 11:59 PM EST on January 17, 2021. Winner will be notified within 2 weeks of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or risk forfeiture of prize. US only. Void where prohibited by law or logistics.

Giveaway is subject to the policies found here.

ENTER GIVEAWAY HERE


Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!

JustRead Publicity Tours 

*NOTE: This post contains affiliate links.