Wednesday, September 8, 2021

Review: Undercurrent of Secrets by Rachel Scott McDaniel


 5 Stars!


Oh my stars, this book! Be still my vintage-loving heart! I became a forever fan of Rachel Scott McDaniel’s books when I read her debut novel almost two years ago. She’s one of those authors that I automatically want to read everything they write, even before I know anything about it! So, needless to say I was eagerly anticipating Undercurrent of Secrets, and oh my word it exceeded every single one of my sky-high expectations! This story swept me away from page one, and I wasn’t ready to say goodbye to these characters when I turned the final page! Devyn is an amazing character and I found myself relating to her in several ways. And Chase, oh my, talk about a sweet, swoon-worthy hunk of a hero! And historical hero Jack is equally swoon-worthy in his own right! (I totally and unashamedly finished this book with two new book boyfriends!) And, of course I can’t forget Hattie, I loved her so much, she’s such an inspiring character, and I totally wanna be like her when I grow up! 

As a history nerd I love the way Rachel makes history come alive for the reader, and she writes so beautifully and brilliantly that the story plays out like a movie in my mind’s eye. I felt like I was really there on the Idlewild/Belle of Louisville sailing on the Ohio river! 

The faith story in this book is utterly magnificent, powerful, and soul stirring. It touched my heart deeply! 

Aside from getting two amazing stories in one book the thing I love most about time-slip novels is the way the two storylines intertwine, and in this one, oh my goodness, the amazing way Hattie and Devyn’s stories connect is so beautiful it not only put a huge smile on my face, but in my reader heart as well, and nearly brought me to tears! Bravo, Rachel!

I absolutely and completely adored every single moment of this book, and I’m already eagerly looking forward to a re-read! 

I most highly recommend Undercurrent of Secrets! If you only read one book during the remainder of 2021 make it this one, you won’t be sorry! 

Undercurrent of Secrets is everything I want in a book and so much more, it’s one of my favorite reads of 2021, and has a permanent spot on my keeper shelf! 


I received a complimentary copy of this book. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


Click HERE to purchase your copy!

Wednesday, September 1, 2021

Review: The Mistletoe Countess by Pepper Basham


It's not often that I feel timid when it comes to writing a review, but I do in the case of this brilliant story, because I know there are no words I can string together that will come anywhere close to doing this incredible book justice! But I will do my best! For starters, I loved Grace, she is probably my favorite heroine of all time, she is so much fun in all her bookish delightfulness, she never fails to make me laugh, and I love her outlook on life! I seriously wish Grace was real because I would totally claim her as my BFF! And, Frederick, oh my stars, what a swoonilicious hunk of a hero! He is humorous, selfless, sweet, protective, caring, thoughtful, just the right amount of brooding, the tiniest bit deliciously roguish, and he's a reader! Trust me, you'll fall head over heels in love with him, and this book has plenty of kisses that are guaranteed to make you swoon! 


This book is hilariously funny, it had me laughing out loud more times than I count, and in my opinion it's simply impossible for this story to not put a smile on your face.

The faith message in this book touched my heart with the reminder of who we are in Christ, how much God loves us just the way we are, and that even if our life story isn't playing out the way we thought it would the Author of life is still in control of our story and He is writing something for our lives that is more beautiful than we could have ever imagined! 

The Mistletoe Countess truly contains everything you could ever want in a Christian historical romance: fantabulous characters that you fall in love with; humor; fun; an English country estate; drama; mystery; suspense; a faith message that will touch your heart; a Christmastime setting; all the bookish conversation; and of course a sigh-worthy romance that will put a giddy grin on your face, leave you hoping for a sequel, and have you gushing about it on social media with all the heart-eyes emojis!

I seriously can't find the words to describe my deep and abiding love for this story! The best way I can think of to describe it is to say, picture your perfect day and then imagine how that day would make you feel. Well, that's how reading this book made me feel, pure bliss! The Mistletoe Countess is my favorite book of Pepper's and it's one of my top 5 favorite reads of 2021!

The Mistletoe Countess is perfection! There were times I found myself re-reading lines just so I could bask in the sheer brilliance of the writing! This story is an absolutely and completely delightful romp that is guaranteed to bring immense joy to your life! Trust me, you do not want to miss this one!


I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley, but I will definitely be purchasing it in both paperback and audio because I love it so much! My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Friday, August 20, 2021

Husband Auditions by Angela Ruth Strong: Review & Giveaway!

 Welcome to the Blog Tour for Husband Auditions by Angela Ruth Strong


About the Book

How far would you go to find the perfect husband? All the way back to the 1950s?

In a world full of happily-ever-after love, Meri Newberg feels like the last young woman on the planet to be single, at least in her Christian friend group. So when she's handed a strange present at the latest wedding--a 1950s magazine article of "ways to get a husband"--she decides there's nothing to lose by trying out its advice. After all, she can't get any more single, can she?

Her brother's roommate sees the whole thing as a great opportunity. Not to fall in love--Kai Kamaka has no interest in the effort a serious relationship takes. No, this is a career jump start. He talks Meri into letting him film every silly husband-catching attempt for a new online show. If it goes viral, his career as a cameraman will be made.

When Meri Me debuts, it's an instant hit. People love watching her lasso men on street corners, drop handkerchiefs for unsuspecting potential beaus, and otherwise embarrass herself in pursuit of true love. But the longer this game goes on, the less sure Kai is that he wants Meri to snag anyone but him. The only problem is that he may not be the kind of husband material she's looking for . . .

With droll comic timing, unbeatable chemistry, and a zany but relatable cast of characters, Angela Ruth Strong has created a heartfelt look at the reality of modern Christian dating that readers will both resonate with and fall for.
 

Click HERE to purchase your copy!



My Thoughts:

What an absolutely phenomenal romcom! I have been eagerly anticipating this book since the first time I saw the author mention it online, and it exceeded every single one of my expectations! I loved Meri, and as a single Christian woman I could totally relate to her! I loved Kai, too! I loved Kai and Meri together, and I love how perfectly imperfect they are as people, their character growth was wonderful and encouraging to watch! I also loved Gemma, she cracked me up and as a writer I totally get her! The faith message in this book was amazing and touched my heart deeply! Husband Auditions is hilariously funny, I can't even begin to count the number of times it had me laughing out loud! I finished this book in less than 24 hours, and I would have finished it even sooner if I hadn't had to take a break because my face hurt from how much this book made me smile! Husband Auditions is a brilliantly written romcom that also touches on some deeper, very real topics that make you think! I absolutely loved every single moment of this book, it was an utter delight to read, and I hated to turn the final page because I wasn't ready to say goodbye to these characters! Husband Auditions is a must read for romcom fans, I most highly recommend it! This book is one of my favorite reads of 2021, and one of my favorite romcoms of all time!
(5 Stars!)

I received a copy of this book from the publisher. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.



About the Author

Angela Ruth Strong sold her first Christian romance novel in 2009, then quit writing romance when her husband left her. Ten years later, God has shown her the true meaning of love, and there’s nothing else she’d rather write about. 


Strong’s books have since earned Top Pick honors in Romantic Times, won the Cascade Award, and been Amazon best sellers. Her book Finding Love in Big Sky recently filmed on location in Montana and will air soon. She also writes articles for SpiritLed Woman


To help aspiring authors, she started IDAhope Writers where she lives in Idaho, and she teaches as an expert online at Write That Book.


Besides writing, Strong teaches exercise classes, works for an airline, and enjoys Harley rides with her husband and camping with her three kids.

 

Learn more about Angela Strong at www.angelaruthstrong.com, or find her on Facebook (Angela Ruth Strong Fan Page)Instagram (@ang_strong), and Twitter (@AngelaRStrong)



Giveaway









a Rafflecopter giveaway

Bonus Giveaway!

Angela Ruth Strong is doing a big giveaway for a free roundtrip airline ticket on Allegiant Air. 
Click HERE to enter!

Sunday, August 1, 2021

Review: Since You've Been Gone by Tari Faris





5 Stars!

Wow! What a phenomenal conclusion to the Restoring Heritage series! Tari Faris became a favorite author of mine back when her debut novella, P.S.Goodbye released. I've read and loved each and every one of her books to date, and I was eagerly anticipating Since You've Been Gone, it grabbed me at page one and held me spellbound until I turned the final page! Reading this story was such a treat, I absolutely loved everything about this utterly delightful book! I love that each of this author's novels features not one but two love stories (double the romance, double the faith journeys, and double the kissing scenes? Yes, please!) I loved Jon and Leah, they were great together, their relationship felt very realistic and true to life, and it was a joy to watch them overcome old hurts and find love! As much as I loved Jon and Leah, I think I might have loved the secondary characters and their love story the tiniest bit more, their story was so beautiful it nearly brought tears to my eyes!

The heart touching, and soul stirring faith messages in this book are incredibly moving, and beautifully written! Tari's books are perfect to read and re-read anytime you find yourself needing a reminder of the Truth!

And, of course I would be remiss if I did not mention Otis, everyone's favorite brass hippo. I so loved learning his history as well as the answer to the mystery of how he moves, but no spoilers here, you'll have to read the book to find out for yourself!

Reading this book gave me all the feels, it made me so happy, but also a little sad to have to say goodbye to this town I've fallen in love with, and these characters who feel like friends to me. I loved every minute of this book, especially the ending scenes which left me happy-sighing with a giant grin on my face!

I loved, loved, loved Since You've Been Gone and most highly recommend it! If you haven't started the Restoring Heritage series yet what have you been doing with your life? This series is a must read for fans of Christian contemporary romance! I cannot wait to read this author's next book, and I'm hoping she will one day write a story about Jon's sister, Abby, I'd love to see that girl get a happily ever after!


I received a copy of this book from the publisher as a member of the author's launch team. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Click HERE to Pre-Order your copy!

 

Wednesday, July 28, 2021

Series Spotlight and Giveaway: Northshire Heritage series by JP Robinson

Northshire Heritage JustRead Blog Tour 

Welcome to the Blog Tour for Northshire Heritage series by JP Robinson, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!

ABOUT THE BOOKS

In the Shadow of Your Wings

Title: In the Shadow of Your Wings
Series: Northshire Heritage #1
Author: JP Robinson
Publisher: Logos Publications, LLC
Release Date: November 6, 2018
Genre: Christian Historical Suspense

The shadow of the Great War looms over Europe, affecting everyone in its path.

Leila Durand, an elite German spy charged with infiltrating the home of British icon Thomas Steele, sees the war as a chance to move beyond the pain of her shattered past. But everything changes when she falls in love with Thomas's son, Malcolm. Is there a way to reconcile her love for Germany and her love for the enemy? 

Thomas Steele sees the war as an opportunity for his profligate son, Malcolm, to find a purpose greater than himself. But when Malcolm rebels, it falls to Thomas to make tough decisions. 

The war's reach extends to the heart. Eleanor Thompson finds her faith is pushed to the breaking point when her husband disappears on the battlefront and her daughter is killed in a German air raid. Where is God in the midst of her pain? In the Shadow of Your Wings presents inescapable truth that resonates across the past century. Then as now, the struggle for faith is real. Then as now, there is a refuge for all who will come beneath the shadow of God's wings.

PURCHASE LINKS*: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound | Christianbook | BookBub

In the Midst of the Flames

Title: In the Midst of the Flames
Series: Northshire Heritage #2
Author: JP Robinson
Publisher: Logos Publications, LLC
Release Date: November 8, 2019
Genre: Christian Historical Suspense

Divided by a lie. Haunted by the past. Bonded by their love.

As the fires of the Great War rage across the European continent, the Steele family is caught in the midst of the inferno. 

Estranged from his wife Malcolm wonders if he can ever find forgiveness for his betrayal as he begins the long journey home. 

Leila desperately searches for a way to escape her past life as a spy—and the German agent who has been sent to kill her—as she struggles to prove her innocence. 

Determined to save his family, Thomas risks everything in a high-stakes political gamble, bringing Britain to the brink of obliteration, as spymaster Robert Hughes plots his downfall. 

Will everything be reduced to ashes?Or does God still walk with those who, through faith, step out into the midst of the flames?

PURCHASE LINKS*: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound | Christianbook | BookBub

In the Dead of Night

Title: In the Dead of Night 
Series: Northshire Heritage #3
Author: JP Robinson
Publisher: Logos Publications, LLC
Release Date: March 9, 2021
Genre: Christian Historical Suspense

The smallest flame can conquer the darkest night

Darkness gathers in the final days of the Great War as the Germans plot to unleash a weapon that will plunge the Allied world into obscurity. 

For the Steele family, the stakes have never been higher. 

Leila is forced back into the shadows when the leader of a German spy ring kidnaps her child, jeopardizing Europe’s fragile bid for peace. 

Meanwhile, Malcolm fights to keep Northshire Estate as his father stands trial for treason against the British empire. 

Confronted with overwhelming circumstances from their past, the Steeles must rely on their grit and faith to conquer the night. 

But will it be enough?

PURCHASE LINKS*: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound | BookBub



Excerpts


In the Shadow of Your Wings  

Leila slipped her shoes back on, held her breath to still her racing heart, then plastered  on a sedate smile. “Oh, there you are darling!” She minced toward him, eyes wide. “So, did you  conquer the old dragon?” 

He caught sight of her and paused, standing before the three paintings of his ancestors.  His face was worn, creased by lines that hadn’t been there only a few minutes earlier. Something  was wrong. Terribly wrong.  

“Malcolm?” Her voice quavered. “Malcolm, what is it?” His eyes had never been so dull.  Whatever had happened in that room seemed to have sucked the life out of his blood. 

“We… we have to leave, Leila. Now.” 

Her blood ran cold. “He’s done it, hasn’t he? He’s disinherited you.” 

Malcolm nodded, averting his eyes. “He’s kicked me out of my home.” 

“It’s my fault.” Leila touched his chest as guilt washed over her. “Malcolm, I’m to blame.  Were it not for me…” 

He stepped closer and cupped her cheek with his hand. 

“No, Leila.” His blue eyes roamed over her face. “I made my choice. I love you.” 

Tears stung the back of her eyelids and she looked away. What have I done? If he only  knew the truth… 

“You don’t understand.” 

“Shh...” He pressed her to him and she listened to the rhythm of his heart. She had been  sent to use him, not fall in love with him. But she did love him. And he loved her enough to walk  away from his father and all that he knew—for her. 

She took his hand. “Leave me Malcolm. Only your father knows about our marriage. Tell  him you’re sorry and you’ve made a mistake. Tell him—” 

He crushed her lips against his own. For a long moment, he just held her, ignoring the  tears that slipped down her cheeks. At length, he pulled away. “That’s a no, in case you were  wondering.” A faint smile touched his lips as he fingered a few strands of her blonde hair. 

She hesitated, her heart splitting with guilt and concern. “I have a flat in London,” she  said. “We’ll go there and sort out what we’ll do next.” 


In the Midst of the Flames 

"Malcolm rolled onto his back, folded his hands behind his head, and stared up at the  brothel’s ceiling. So, Leila, I’ve kept my word.

His mind flitted to the last time he had seen his wife. After hearing about the severity of his  wounds, Leila had travelled with his father, Thomas Steele, to visit him at a hospital at Etaples.  The reunion had been anything but happy. 

Malcom’s lips curled back in a sneer. At that fateful encounter, Leila had revealed that she  was a former German spy, recruited by Abteilung 3B to elicit secrets from the son of Sir Thomas  Steele. As a personal friend to both the Prime Minister of England and the head of British  Intelligence, Thomas was too tempting a target for Germany to ignore.  

And I was the gullible errand boy.  

He slammed his eyelids shut. Eight months after he had learned the truth, he was still unsure  of what hurt worse—the fact that he had just been a necessary tool to get to Thomas, or the fact  that Leila had deceived him at all.  

With a groan, Malcolm buried his face in his sweaty palms. After learning of their marriage,  Thomas had banished the pair from his home at Northshire. Too late, Malcolm had discovered  a duplicitous side to his golden-haired beauty. Furious at her betrayal, he had fled to the Front  where the battles were physical and not of the heart.  

Leila betrayed me. She deserves no better.  

Why then did he feel sick with shame?" 


In the Dead of the Night 

"Bending down, Leila scooped her son into a protective embrace and kissed the fuzz on top  of his head. His tufts of hair were a mixture of her own mane of gold and Malcolm’s shaggy  brown, but his eyes were the same shade of green as her own.  

He’s perfect, Malcolm. I want you to see him. To hold him. To love him as I love him. 

Leila let out a deep sigh. “Did I make a mistake, Jenny? Am I wrong to love Malcolm as I  do?” Life was complicated. God had forgiven her past, but it seemed that those made in His  image would not. One mistake had spawned a litany of consequences that she couldn’t outrun  no matter how hard she tried. 

Leila rubbed her cheek against the soft top of her son’s head, savoring the fragrant mixture  of life, hope, and new beginnings. She would not—could not—allow him to pay for her sins.  Which had led her to this point. 

“Against all odds, I became a mother. Against all odds, I’ll ensure my son has a future.” “What will you do?” Jenny took a step back as though she feared the next words that would  leave her mistress’s lips. 

Lifting her chin, Leila met her gaze. “Change everything.”


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

JP Robinson 

JP Robinson is an award-winning author of historical/political suspense, a full-time minister, and the president of Lancaster Christian Writers Association. With a tagline of “Unforgettable drama, Undeniable Truth, ” JP’s high-adrenaline novels often mesh real-world marriage and parenting scenarios with vivid fiction. His books have been praised by industry leaders such as Publishers Weekly.

JP often speaks to writers and church groups within the United States and internationally. He has been happily married for over fifteen years to his high school sweetheart. 

CONNECT WITH JP: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

TOUR GIVEAWAY

(1) winner will receive a Grand Prize of a signed complete set of the Northshire Heritage series (all three books)

PLUS (5) additional winners of digital copies of the complete Northshire Heritage set (PDFs)!

Northshire Heritage JustRead Blog Tour Giveaway

Full tour schedule linked below. Giveaway began at midnight July 26, 2021 and will last through 11:59 PM EST on August 2, 2021. Winner will be notified within 2 weeks of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or risk forfeiture of prize. Print copy US only. Void where prohibited by law or logistics.

Giveaway is subject to the policies found here.

ENTER GIVEAWAY HERE


Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!

JustRead Publicity Tours 

*NOTE: This post contains affiliate links.

Tuesday, July 27, 2021

Review: Lethal Cover-Up by Darlene L. Turner


5 Stars!

What an excellent romantic suspense from one of my favorite authors! I eagerly anticipate each new release from this author and Lethal Cover-Up did not disappoint! Madison and Tucker were both great main characters, I loved that they had known each other since they were kids and that their love story featured the friends to more and second chance romance tropes (two of my favorites!) One of the things I love so much about this author's books is how nonstop action packed they are (Lethal Cover-Up was no exception, I hardly had time to catch my breath before I'd be back on the edge of my seat and I loved every minute of it!) But this author also does a fabulous job of balancing the action and suspense with romance, character growth, and a wonderful faith message! This story is chock full of everything I love about the Christian romantic suspense genre, and is not to be missed! I loved Lethal Cover-Up and most highly recommend it!

I cannot wait for Darlene L. Turner's next book! 


I received a copy of this book from the author. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


 

Friday, July 2, 2021

Review: Nicole by Sarah Monzon


5 Stars!

Oh my word! I adore Sarah Monzon's books! I've been loving the Sewing in SoCal series, and Nicole is my favorite one yet! I loved Nicole, I really enjoyed her in the two previous books and I knew I'd love her story, and love it I did! As a curvy girl I loved that Nicole was a curvy and confident woman, bravo Sarah! And authors: more curvy heroines, please! And Dr. Drew, oh my goodness, that man. I simply can't find the words to express how much I love him. He cracks me up with his hilarious sense of humor, and his kindness, tenderness, and selflessness totally warmed my heart, no spoilers but the visits he made to the hospital's third floor totally melted me into a puddle! I seriously adored everything about this story, loved every minute I spent reading it, and I hated for it to end! 

This hilarious romcom is delightfully perfect in every way! Nicole is one of my favorite reads of 2021 and I most highly recommend it!



I received an audiobook copy of this book from the author. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


Click HERE to purchase your copy!

 

Friday, June 11, 2021

Review: On the Cliffs of Foxglove Manor by Jaime Jo Wright


5 Stars! 

Wow! What a stunningly superb novel! Jaime Jo Wright is an amazing author! This is only the second book of hers I've read, but it will not be the last! I was drawn into this story from the first page and hated to stop reading! I loved the incredible writing, there were some lines that I had to stop and reread several times over in an attempt to fully absorb the sheer brilliance of the words! I also love how the author knows how to keep your eyes glued to the page, and gives the reader just the right amount of thrills and chills! I loved both the historical and contemporary couples, though I might have liked Kailey and Axel's story the tiniest bit more, largely because Jude was there, I just adored him and he totally made the story for me, as did Raymond and Maddie! I found the mystery absolutely fascinating, I had no idea there were any Civil War connections to the Great Lakes so that was super interesting to learn about. Time-slip novels are one of my very favorite things, and the way the two stories in this book intertwined was absolutely brilliant, loved it! 

On the Cliffs of Foxglove Manor is an epic story that will hold you spellbound from beginning to end! I loved this book and highly recommend it! I'm super excited to dive into The Haunting at Bonaventure Circus soon, and I'm looking forward to Jaime Jo Wright's next book!


I received a copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

 

Tuesday, June 1, 2021

Review: The Heart's Charge by Karen Witemeyer


5 Stars!

An absolutely amazing second book in the Hanger's Horsemen series! After reading and absolutely loving At Love's Command I was super psyched to dive into The Heart's Charge, and what a fantastic ride this story is! I loved Mark and Jonah, they are both such fantastic heroes that I simply can't choose a favorite! In my opinion the only thing better than a Karen Witemeyer written romance, is TWO Karen Witemeyer written romances in the same book! I absolutely loved that we get both Mark and Kate's, and Jonah and Eliza's love stories, it added a whole other level of amazingness to this story! And I LOVE that Ms. Witemeyer chose to feature an African-American hero and heroine, Jonah and Eliza brought to this book a beautiful diversity that, in my opinion, we need more of in Christian fiction!

Oh, and I would be remiss if I didn't mention just how much I love that gorgeous cover! I could stare at it for hours, and I wish there was a way I could frame it and hang it on my wall! I've been absolutely mesmerized by this cover since the moment I first saw it, and it's one of my favorite covers of all time!

I absolutely adored everything about this book, and most highly recommend it! The Heart's Charge is a fast paced read that will take you on a thrilling ride and leave you blissfully grinning, and eagerly anticipating Preach's story!

I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

 Click HERE to purchase your copy!

Tuesday, May 25, 2021

Review: Once Upon a Summer by Andrea Boyd, Toni Shiloh, Teresa Tysinger, and Jaycee Weaver



5 Stars!

This is an absolutely delightful collection of contemporary fairytale retellings that will give you all the feels! I love all four of these authors' writing and these novellas are all so great! I so enjoyed the twists on these classic stories, and it was super fun that they were all set during summer! I loved getting to travel virtually through the different stories, especially to France in Toni Shiloh's An Ever After Summer! Once Upon a Summer is a fantastic collection and I highly recommend it! This collection would make the perfect beach or pool read, be sure to add it to your summer TBR, this is one you don't wanna miss!

I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Click HERE to purchase your copy!



 

Review: Glory Falls by Janine Rosche


 

5 Stars!


Oh my word, what a gorgeously written conclusion to the Madison River Romance series! I am a forever fan of Janine Rosche's books, I adore everything she writes! I was swept away and enthralled from page one of Glory Falls and I hated to put it down (I read it in about 24 hours!) Blue and Thomas were excellent main characters (I've been looking forward to reading Thomas's story since first meeting him in This Wandering Heart, and what a heart-melting hero he is, I loved him so much, and his story was everything I dreamed it would be and so much more!) I think Shane and Thomas are now tied for my favorite hero of the series (don't feel left out, Robbie, I love you too!) I am so grateful that I don't have to choose just one favorite hero! I also adored Thomas's yellow lab, Molly, she never failed to make me smile! This book brought me such joy from beginning to end, I simply couldn't contain my grin! I adored every second of this book, and there is not a single thing about Glory Falls that I didn't absolutely love, it's one of my favorite reads of 2021 and I most highly recommend the entire series! I cannot wait for this author's next book, and incidentally I just got the notification that my Netgalley request for Aspen Crossroads was approved, now comes the age old struggle, do I give in to the temptation and dive in ASAP or make myself wait until closer to release date so I'll have less time to have to wait for the one that comes after it? #booknerdproblems


I received a copy of this book from the author. No review required. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own and were not influenced in any way.

Click HERE to purchase your copy!

Friday, May 21, 2021

Review: Lady Wynwood's Spies1: Archer by Camille Elliot



A great, fantastically unique novel! This is the first book by Camille Elliot that I've read and I enjoyed this take on regency London. I really liked Phoebe and I could relate to her quite a lot as I too am tall for a woman, and I am an archer (though I am much less skilled than Phoebe and I only do target practice for fun, I don't compete like she does) and I loved seeing her rise to the occasion and help people in ways she wouldn't previously have thought possible. There were a lot of characters in this book and I sometimes had trouble keeping them all straight in my mind. There were lots of exciting parts in this story but overall it didn't hold my interest throughout the way I'd hoped for. I've never read a serial novel before so I don't know what is normal for the development of a romantic relationship in this type of story, but I was a bit disappointed there wasn't more romance between Phoebe and Michael in this story, though I do realize their relationship will likely develop further in future books. 

Overall, I'm glad I read this super unique and original regency story and I definitely recommend it!


I received a copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


 

Thursday, April 22, 2021

Review: Hope Between the Pages by Pepper Basham


5 Stars!

What an absolutely gorgeous novel! Pepper Basham is one of my favorite authors, I love everything she writes and Hope Between the Pages was one of my most anticipated reads of 2021. Even though I knew it would be amazing it exceeded all my expectations! I love time-slip (aka split-time) novels and this one is absolutely brilliantly written, the way the historical and contemporary stories intertwined was beautiful and heart-tugging! The only thing better than a Pepper Basham written romance is TWO Pepper Basham written romances in one book, and both are equally phenomenal, enthralling, and completely swoon-inducing! Usually in a time-slip novel I end up loving one couple's romance slightly more than the other, but in this case I completely adored both the historical and contemporary love stories, and I can't choose a favorite! Hope Between the Pages is a book that will touch the heart of every avid reader, and speaking as a huge book nerd myself there aren't words to describe just how seen this story made me feel! This book was such a joy to read, I seriously loved it from beginning to end, and it definitely has a spot on my favorite reads of 2021 list! Hope Between the Pages is a must read, do yourself a favor and grab yourself a copy, but make sure to set aside time to read it all in one sitting because you won't want to put it down! I will definitely be re-reading this one in the future and I cannot wait to read the author's next book!


I received a copy of this book from the author and Barbour publishing which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


Click HERE to purchase your copy!

 

Tuesday, March 30, 2021

Review: Abducted in Alaska by Darlene L. Turner


5 Stars!

Wowza, Darlene L. Turner has done it again! What an amazing, romantic, suspenseful roller coaster of a ride! This author became a favorite of mine last year when I read her debut novel, Border Breach, I've been eagerly anticipating Abducted in Alaska, and it exceeded all my expectations! I loved Hannah and Layke, they were both excellent main characters, and Gabe was such a sweet and adorable little boy, I couldn't help but love him! I loved the themes of forgiveness and our identity in Christ. The characters' struggles and doubts were spot on realistic, and I think everyone can relate in some way (I know I sure can!) The setting was fantastic and so brilliantly written that it came alive like a movie in my mind! Darlene L. Turner writes amazing suspense, the action and suspense in this book were nonstop, there was barely time to catch my breath before the next super suspenseful scene would have me on the edge of my seat all over again! I absolutely loved every minute of Abducted in Alaska! This book is my favorite romantic suspense read of 2021 so far and I most highly recommend it! I cannot wait to read Darlene L. Turner's next novel! If you are a fan of Christian romantic suspense this is one you do not wanna miss!


I received a copy of this book from the author. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


Click HERE to purchase your copy!


 

Wednesday, March 3, 2021

Abducted in Alaska by Darlene L. Turner: Guest Post & Giveaway!

Today I'm thrilled to host the amazing and talented Darlene L. Turner! Be sure to read her fantastic guest post and enter the giveaway! Take it away, Darlene!


Who Am I?



By Darlene L. Turner

“You’re never going to amount to anything.”

“I don’t want you on my team. Get to the back of the line.”

“You’re a nobody.”

These are hurtful words most of us have heard at one point or another. They’re hard to overcome, especially when spoken at a young age. The question “Who am I?” runs through our minds. It affects our self-esteem and can carry into adulthood. 

In Abducted in Alaska, Hannah discovers something about herself that crushes her and she questions her identity in Christ. Throughout the book, she struggles with her self-esteem but is eventually reminded she’s made in God’s image. It wasn’t easy for her to come to this conclusion and the same is true for us. 

So how do we move past our negative feelings of ourselves? Here are some thoughts.

Take a peek at God’s servants in the Bible. Moses didn’t think he was worthy of leading the Israelites out of Egypt. He even asked God, “Who am I?” like we’ve done at times. Look at what he accomplished when he put his trust in God. David took a stone and a slingshot to a sword fight. Goliath towered over him, but David still overcame. He was labeled as a “man after God’s own heart.”  Just think what we can achieve if we put our total trust in Him!

Surrender our feelings of inadequacy over to God. I know. Easier said than done. Believe me, I’ve suffered a lot of self-esteem issues in different periods of my life. Circumstances and how society treats us can sometimes dictate whether our confidence goes up or down. We need to allow God to heal our hearts through it all. Surrender to Him. 

Remember we’re not alone. We only need to look around us to discover that others are going through the same thing. It’s comforting to know we can reach out for help. A listening ear is always therapeutic. We can get through this together.

Through it all, sharing that Jesus is Lord is the most important thing. He rescued us and has put a song in our hearts. We have a purpose and it’s to give God glory.

That’s right. We’re a somebody. Not a nobody.

And Jesus chose us. He may not have called us to lead like He did Moses, but He has an awesome plan in store for us. Let’s muster up the confidence He’s given us and go!

Who are we? We’re God’s children and He loves us just as we are. Through Him we can do anything.

Genesis 1:27 (VOICE)

So God did just that. He created humanity in His image, created them male and female.

Question for giveaway: Who is your favorite servant in the Bible and why? 


Prize

Answer the question above in the comments below and one person will win an e-book copy of Abducted in Alaska!

Comment on the question and you’re automatically entered into the contest. Prize is open internationally. Here’s how it works. The number of entries are input into a Random Sequence Generator (i.e. 1 through 20). After I click the Generate button, whoever’s number corresponds with the number the random generator gives me wins! Note: If the winner is Canadian, they will be required to answer a skill-testing question before being awarded the prize.


About the Author




Darlene L. Turner’s love of suspense began when she read her first Nancy Drew book. She’s turned that passion into her writing and believes readers will be captured by her plots, inspired by her strong characters, and moved by her inspirational message. 


Darlene won the Daphne du Maurier Award for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense twice and an ACFW Genesis award. She’s represented by Tamela Hancock Murray of the Steve Laube Agency. Her debut book, Border Breach, released in April, 2020 with Love Inspired Suspense. She has two books releasing in 2021: Abducted in Alaska (March) and Lethal Cover-Up (August).


Darlene met her husband Jeff at the turtle races in Ontario, Canada. She loves flavored coffee and plaid shirts. You can connect with Darlene at www.darlenelturner.com where there’s suspense beyond borders. 


Darlene’s social media:


Facebook

Twitter

LinkedIn

BookBub

Pinterest

Instagram: darlenel.turner


ABDUCTED IN ALASKA


Back cover copy:


Protecting a child…  could cost them their lives.  Saving a boy who has escaped his captors puts Canadian border patrol officer Hannah Morgan right into the path of a ruthless child-smuggling ring. Now with help from police constable Layke Jackson, she must keep the child safe. But can they rescue the other abducted children and bring down the gang…all while protecting a little boy and keeping themselves alive?


Purchase Links:


Amazon 


Amazon ca


Chapters-Indigo


Barnes & Noble



Thursday, February 25, 2021

Lady Wynwood's Spies 1: Archer by Camille Elliot (Giveaway!)



About the Book

 


Book:  Lady Wynwood’s Spies 1: Archer

Author: Camille Elliot

Genre: Christian Historical Romantic Suspense

Release date: December 8, 2020

A Christian Regency Romantic Adventure serial novel with a supernatural twist

Lady Wynwood’s Spies volume 1

She met him again by shooting him.

Part one in a Christian Regency Romantic Adventure epic serial novel with a supernatural twist. After four seasons and unmarried because she is taller than most of her dance partners, Miss Phoebe Sauber receives the shocking news that she is being callously banished from her father’s estate because he is remarrying. Feeling betrayed by her father and by God, and wanting to escape her family’s presence, she attends an archery tournament with her friends.

But her perfect aim fails her, and her arrow hits a piece of paper held by Mr. Michael Coulton-Jones, whom she hasn’t seen much in society in several years. But strangely, her arrow tears a section of the paper with a partial symbol that looks eerily familiar to her.

He met her again while searching for a killer.

Michael had quit his work as a spy for the Foreign Office when his brother was poisoned. His search for the murderer leads him to Apothecary Jack, a criminal underworld leader with a penchant for poisons, who is gathering a powerful army through an alchemical potion that can give men supernatural strength.

But his path unexpectedly crosses again with Miss Sauber, who saves him from a trap laid by Jack. She and her Aunt Laura, Lady Wynwood, have found a vital connection to Apothecary Jack and the mysterious group he works for.

Now Michael, who had vowed to never again allow civilians to come to harm, must work with a nobleman keeping dangerous secrets, a human lie detector, a chemist, a fellow former spy, and the one woman he’s never allowed himself to get close to.

And it is only this ragtag group that stands against a traitorous organization that could enable Napoleon to conquer the world.

 

Click here to get your copy!


My Thoughts:

Review to come. Apologies for the inconvenience.

 

About the Author



 Camy writes Christian contemporary romance and romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She lives in San Jose, California, with her engineer husband and rambunctious dog. She was a staff worker for her church youth group for over 20 years and she currently plays on one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com/ and http://www.camilleelliot.com/ to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.

 

More from Camy

I love Regency romances! I started reading them when I was 13 years old and haven’t stopped since.

There’s something about the Regency time period and culture that’s glamorous and decadent and the epitome of elegance. The resplendent dresses! The brooding, romantic Lord Byron and the distinguished Beau Brummell! Dashing naval captains and army lieutenants, glittering ballrooms and winsome debutantes!

The flip side of my personality loves romantic suspense and action adventure. I love seeing strong women face danger with courage and smarts, and strong men willing to do anything to protect their loved ones and fight for justice.

So, basically, the Lady Wynwood’s Spies series grew out of my desire to see Mission: Impossible in the Regency era!

My Regency “IMF” team is brought together when my spinster heroine, a botanist and a skilled archer, discovers that her late uncle had ties to a mysterious group. She goes to her aunt’s best friend, a gentleman who has secretly been a spy for decades, and he forms his team of ex-agents and uniquely gifted civilians to battle this group of alchemists who want to ensure that Napoleon wins the war with England. (Cue the Mission: Impossible theme music!)

I’ve also structured the series a little differently. It’s a very long serial novel, similar to a Japanese manga or light novel series, with 12 volumes that each have a completed story arc, but the main plot isn’t resolved until the end.

I hope you’ll join me on this epic Regency romantic adventure!


Blog Stops

Locks, Hooks and Books, February 15

CarpeDiem, February 15

Hebrews 12 Endurance, February 16

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, February 16

Artistic Nobody, February 17 (Guest Review from Joni Truex)

Inside the Wong Mind, February 17

Through the Fire Blogs, February 18

Mia Reads, February 18

Sara Jane Jacobs, February 18

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, February 19

HookMeInABook, February 19

Betti Mace, February 20

Inklings and notions, February 20

Abba’s Prayer Warrior Princess, February 21

Texas Book-aholic, February 21

Connie’s History Classroom, February 22

The Artist Librarian, February 22

Pause for Tales, February 22

For Him and My Family, February 23

Labor Not in Vain, February 23

deb’s Book Review, February 24

Fiction Book Lover, February 24 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, February 25

Just Your Average reviews, February 25

Simple Harvest Reads, February 25 (Guest Review from Mindy Houng)

Tell Tale Book Reviews, February 26

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, February 26

Blossoms and Blessings, February 27

Britt Reads Fiction, February 27

Adventures of a Travelers Wife, February 28

A Good Book and Cup of Tea, February 28

Blogging With Carol, February 28


Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Camy is giving away the grand prize of a 1-year subscription to Kindle Unlimited!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1074a/lady-wynwood-s-spies-1-archer-celebration-tour-giveaway