Monday, September 11, 2023

Guest Post, Review, and Giveaway: The Starlet Spy by Rachel Scott McDaniel

 


About the Book

 


Book: The Starlet Spy

Authors: Rachel Scott McDaniel

Genre: Historical Christian Fiction

Release Date: August, 2023

Hollywood Star Turns Spy

In 1943, movie producer Henrik Zoltan approaches Amelie Blake under the guise of offering the Hollywood star a leading part in his upcoming film, but he has a more meaningful role in mind. Amelie’s homeland of Sweden declared neutrality in the war, but Stockholm has become the “Casablanca of the North.” When top-secret atomic research goes missing in Sweden, the Allied forces scramble to recover the files before they fall into Nazi hands.

The United States Office of Strategic Services (OSS) needs someone who’s subtle enough to spy on the Swedish elite without triggering suspicion. Who better than the “all beauty, no brains” Scandinavian starlet? Fluent in three languages and possessing a brilliant memory, Amelie loathes being labeled witless but uses the misconception as her disguise. She’s tasked with searching for the crucial files, but Fynn Ristaffason keeps getting in her way. Is the charming shipping magnate after the missing research? Or does he have other reasons for showing up at her every turn?

With the Gestapo on her heels, Amelie must rely on her smarts in addition to her acting skills to survive a world of deadly spies and counterspies.

 

Click here to get your copy!

 

My Review:


This author does an incredible job of bringing history to life, and The Starlet Spy was no exception! I am a huge fan of everything Rachel Scott McDaniel writes. She is an auto-buy author for me, and I always eagerly anticipate each new release! 

The Starlet Spy is a brilliantly crafted WWII Christian romance, and I absolutely loved it! 

I loved Amelie! Her sweet heart, and abiding love for Jesus were amazing. And I loved how she used other people’s assumptions about her to mask her intelligence (and her gift!) and therefore she made a fantastic spy! 

I also loved Finn. He was an amazing hero! 

I don’t think I’ve ever before read a book that was set in Sweden. I loved getting to explore this unique setting that the author crafted so wonderfully! I also loved getting to learn about Swedish culture and history, and there were several things about Sweden’s role in WWII that I would never have known if not for reading this book! 

I also have to say that in general I am not the biggest fan of WWII novels, but I loved the way this one still contained the threat of the war while being set apart from the major action of the war. We still knew what was happening, and everything Amelie did was on behalf of the Allies, but I really appreciated that this book captures the essence of WWII fiction without the reader having to experience battle scenes or bombings! 

This book was an absolute delight to read and I loved every minute of it! I most highly recommend The Starlet Spy, and I cannot wait to read Rachel Scott McDaniel’s next book! 

5 Stars!



I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher.

My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own


About the Author



Rachel Scott McDaniel is an award-winning author of historical romance. Winner of the ACFW Genesis Award and the RWA Touched By Love award, Rachel infuses faith and heart into each story. Rachel can be found online at www.RachelScottMcDaniel.com and on all social media platforms. Her work is represented by Julie Gwinn of the Seymour Agency. Rachel resides in Ohio with her husband and two children.

 

More from Rachel

Setting The Starlet Spy in Sweden



Hej! If you’ve ever been to Ikea, then you know that’s the Swedish greeting for Hello! Prior to writing The Starlet Spy, my knowledge of the Swedish culture was limited. It seemed I wasn’t alone. Early last year, I held a poll on my social media asking if anyone had ever read a book set in Sweden. A sweeping majority said no.



Since all of my previous books are set in the United States, this is my first novel with an international setting. So I immersed myself into research. I read books about the country, watched videos, followed Swedish Instagrammers to learn more about the language. And let me tell you, I totally fell in love with this Scandinavian world. It is now on my bucket list to visit because it’s just that gorgeous. I wrote The Starlet Spy with a romantic adventure vibe. I wanted to take the reader on a tour of this amazing country, from the classically beautiful Stockholm, to the quaint fishermen city of Malmo, to the ancient streets of Sigtuna—one of Sweden’s oldest villages—to the brilliant Northern Lights in the Lapland region.



Not only did I want to paint the scene of these various places, but I also wanted to introduce the Swedish culture. Tucked within the pages of The Starlet Spy, the reader will find traces of Scandinavian folklore and legends, which was super fun to explore. But to be honest, my favorite inclusion of Swedish culture was incorporating a traditional dance—the Hambo! It’s such an interesting and unique dance, and I may have been trying to coax my husband into trying it with me for an Instagram Reel, but so far, no such luck! Though I have no problem getting him to enjoy Fika with me. Fika, my friends, is a coffee break, or simply coffee. Just as the British favor their tea, the Swedes are adamant about their fika. So I can most definitely relate.

If all this intrigues you, I welcome you to read The Starlet Spy. It’s set in 1943, which was a pivotal time for Sweden during World War II. If you’ve read my previous stories, you know how much I love to weave as much true history into the chapters. This book has by far the most!


Blog Stops

Babbling Becky L’s Book Impressions, August 29

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, August 29

lakesidelivingsite, August 29

Lily’s Book Reviews, August 30

Where Faith and Books Meet, August 30

Melissa’s Bookshelf, August 31

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, August 31

Back Porch Reads, September 1

annette_reads_daily, September 1

Texas Book-aholic, September 2

Cathe Swanson, September 2

Book Looks by Lisa, September 2

Locks, Hooks and Books, September 3

Christina’s Corner, September 3

Connie’s History Classroom, September 4

Kristina Hall, September 4

The Book Club Network, September 5

Pause for Tales, September 5

Happily Managing A Household of Boys, September 5

Cover Lover Book Review, September 6

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, September 6

Gina Holder, Author and Blogger, September 7 (Author Interview)

The Book Nook, September 7

Betti Mace, September 8

Labor Not in Vain, September 8

Just Your Average reviews, September 8

Simple Harvest Reads, September 9 (Guest Review from Mindy Houng)

Becca Hope: Book Obsessed, September 9

A Good Book and Cup of Tea, September 9

Blogging With Carol, September 10

For Him and My Family, September 10

Holly’s Book Corner, September 11

Lights in a Dark World, September 11

Books I’ve Read, September 11


Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Rachel is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon eGift card and a print copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/278bf/the-starlet-spy-celebration-tour-giveaway

Tuesday, September 5, 2023

Review: Brynn and Sebastian Hate Each Other: A Love Story by Bethany Turner

 


πŸ”πŸŽ€πŸŒ²RELEASE DAY!πŸŒ²πŸŽ€πŸ”


Happy Book Birthday to my dear friend, Bethany 


I absolutely adored this enemies-to-lovers romcom! Brynn and Sebastian Hate Each Other: A Love Story is AVAILABLE NOW! Treat yourself to a copy! You do not wanna miss this one! 

Click HERE to purchase your copy!

Check out my full review below! 


My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Oh my stars, I adored this book so much! This was my most anticipated read of 2023, and it most definitely did not disappoint! 

I’ve read all of Bethany Turner’s romcoms, and I am huge fan of her writing. I LOVE the way this talented author writes stories that go deep and touch my heart, while simultaneously making me laugh! 

Brynn Cornell is a broken character in desperate need of healing, my heart broke for all she had gone through, and as I watched her grow and change I came to love her! Sebastian Sudworth is an amazing hero and I fell head over heels in love with him the first time he appeared on the page! 

And I would be remiss if I did not mention Murrow, this super sweet dog completely stole my heart! 

To be honest enemies-to-lovers is not one of my favorite tropes, but I absolutely loved this one! In my opinion the way the romance developed was utter perfection! BTW, this book contains one of my all time favorite kissing scenes! And without giving spoilers let me just say that there were two other scenes, one involving a tree, and the other featuring PTA night at the local bar and grill that will forever be favorites of mine, but you’re just gonna have to read the book to find out why! 

I had been eagerly anticipating getting to visit Adelaide Springs, and I quickly fell in love with this adorable fictional Colorado small town, and it’s quirky and all around amazing cast of secondary characters! 

Bethany Turner is hilarious and I lost count of how many times this amazing book had me laughing out loud! 

Brynn and Sebastian Hate Each Other: A Love Story is a delightful feel-good romcom that brilliantly balances humor with some tough topics. This is a deeply thought-provoking book about second chances, forgiveness, and what love truly looks like. This book will deepen your understanding of the incredible power of our words, which is a power to be wielded with great care. And it just might cause you to ask yourself, “Am I being authentic with others?” and “Am I using my words to tear others down or build them up?” 

I loved absolutely everything about this book, it is one of my top 5 favorite reads of 2023, and I most highly recommend it!


I received a complimentary Advanced Reading Copy of this book from the author

My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.




Review: You Make it Feel Like Christmas by Toni Shiloh!

 


πŸ“šπŸŽ„RELEASE DAY!πŸŽ„πŸ“š


You Make it Feel Like Christmas by Toni is AVAILABLE NOW! 

Be sure to grab yourself a copy. You don’t wanna miss this sweet Christmas read!

Click HERE to purchase your copy! 


I loved this delightful story! Check out my full review below! 


My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


This is a fantabulous Christmas story that will give you all the feels! This was a reread for me, as I originally read this one when it was published under the title I’ll Be Home and I really enjoyed that first read, but I loved this brand new expanded edition even more! 

I loved Starr, and I definitely found myself relating to her, especially her love of writing! And Waylon is just a doll, I love him so much! 

I just adore the Lewis family, they are some of my favorites of Toni Shiloh’s characters, they’re just so much fun and they never fail to crack me up! 

You Make it Feel Like Christmas is a beautiful romance filled with the authentic faith readers expect from a Toni Shiloh book! This story will give readers all the cozy vibes and leave them longing for a cuddly blanket, a mug of hot chocolate, and a beautiful Christmas tree to gaze upon! 

I absolutely loved this story and most highly recommend it! 


I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher.

My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own


Tuesday, August 1, 2023

Review: Countdown by Lynette Eason


 

πŸ’œπŸ”«BOOK REVIEW!πŸ”«πŸ’œ


I’m so excited that Countdown by Lynette Eason is NOW AVAILABLE! 


I absolutely loved this conclusion to the fabulous Extreme Measures series! Check out my full review below!


My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Wowza! What a crazy and wonderful thrill ride! I’m one of Lynette Eason’s biggest fans, her books are always on my most anticipated releases list, and Countdown was no exception! I have loved Raina and been so intrigued to learn her story since first meeting her in Life Flight, and Countdown most definitely did not disappoint! Raina and Vince made such a great couple! My heart broke for Raina, and while I have not been through the same things she had I can totally relate to her struggle to trust God! The faith story in this book was beautifully written, and touched my heart so deeply! Vince was an amazing hero, I loved that he was strong and tough, but also didn’t shy away from being gentle and tender with Raina, and I also loved that he wasn’t afraid to share his emotions! 

The mystery had my eyes glued to the page, and the suspense was everything and more that I have come to expect from a Lynette Eason novel, loved that!

I loved absolutely everything about Countdown, and my only complaint would be that I was sad to say goodbye to the characters from the Extreme Measures series! 

I most highly recommend Countdown, and I cannot wait to read the next series from this amazing author! 


I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher.

My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own. 


Click HERE to purchase your copy! 

Review: The Love Script by Toni Shiloh

 

πŸŽ₯πŸ’œπŸ’‡πŸΎ‍♀️BOOK REVIEW!πŸ’‡πŸΎ‍♀️πŸ’œπŸŽ₯


I’m so excited that The Love Script by Toni is NOW AVAILABLE! 


I loved this book to pieces! Check out my full review below!


My Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


Oh my stars! What a phenomenal read! I’ve been a huge fan of Toni Shiloh’s books for years, and they are always most anticipated releases for me! 

I seriously adored The Love Script so very much! I loved Nevaeh, she is a wonderful heroine and I found myself relating to her faith journey. And Lamont is AMAZING! Where can I find me a man like him?! 

I adored all the characters, Nevaeh, Lamont, Ms. Rosie, Tuck, Piper, and Chris. I wish they were real because I would love to be friends with them! 

I’m fascinated by Hollywood and if a book is set there and features at least one celebrity character then sign me up! I loved the way the author brought to life the pros and cons of life in the spotlight, and the challenges (and the positives) that come with being a Christ-follower in Hollywood! Loved, loved, LOVED that! 

I always love the way Toni Shiloh so beautifully and organically weaves faith into her stories! 

This book was an absolute joy to read and I loved every single moment of it! 

I love everything that Toni Shiloh writes, but The Love Script is one of my very favorites of her books, and I cannot wait for the next book in the series! 

I most highly recommend The Love Script! Grab yourself a copy ASAP! You do not wanna miss this beautiful masterpiece! 


I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher.

My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own. 


Click HERE to grab your copy! 

Tuesday, July 25, 2023

Review: The Words We Lost by Nicole Deese

 


Nicole Deese has done it again! The Words We Lost is a powerful, heart-tugging story of love, friendship, loss, and healing. I loved the friendship between Ingrid, Joel, and Cece that we got to see snippets of. 

Friends-to-lovers, and second chance are two of my very favorite romance tropes, and it made me so happy that this book contains both of those! As a reader and writer myself I am a sucker for any book that features writers, books, the publishing world, etcetera! I loved that about this book and am so excited to read the next Fog Harbor Romance!

As with everything Nicole Deese writes The Words We Lost is a stunningly beautiful book that will leave you forever changed, in the best possible way! 

I highly recommend this book, just make sure you have tissues handy! 

(5 Stars!)


I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher.

My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Monday, May 15, 2023

Review: Authentically, Izzy by Pepper Basham

 


Oh my stars! This delightful romcom felt like a cozy hug for my book loving heart! 

Pepper Basham is one of my absolute favorite authors, and if she writes it I know I’m gonna love it! I have been so excited about this book since long before it released, but just finally had a chance to get to it, and wow what a joyful journey this book took me on! 

My life story is definitely not the same as Izzy’s, but I related to her in so many ways. Her love of fictional characters, and her journey of learning to let her authentic self shine through really hit home for me and touched my heart in so many ways! 

Brodie is an amazing swoon-worthy hero who I fell head over heels in love with! I almost never picture book characters in any specific way when I’m reading, however in Brodie’s case JJ Feild circa Austenland kept coming to mind, and I’m definitely not mad about it! Hear that Mr. Feild, if you can pull off a Scottish accent then please keep your schedule open for when this book becomes a movie! BTW Hollywood, you need to get on that ASAP! 

I also loved the secondary characters, especially Luke! 

As with everything Pepper Basham writes Authentically, Izzy put a smile on my face, had me laughing out loud, and made my heart swell to the point of overflowing with joy! 

I know that epistolary novels (those told through letters, emails, etcetera) aren’t everyone’s jam, but personally they’re one of my favorite things, and I loved this one so very much! 

I ADORED every second of Authentically, Izzy! It is one of my favorite reads of 2023, and I most highly recommend it! 


P.S. the audiobook is AMAZING and one of my all time favorites! If you’re into audiobooks you need to read this one! 


P.P.S. you also need the paperback for your keeper shelf, and if you read ebooks you need that too. This is one of those stories that one needs to own in as many formats as possible! 

(5 Stars!)


I received a complimentary ebook copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley.

My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own. 


Click HERE to purchase your copy! 


Wednesday, April 26, 2023

Review: The Shifting Current by Dani Pettrey

 


What an absolutely phenomenal novella! I have “shipped” Emmy and Logan since first meeting them in The Killing Tide! I’ve been waiting years to get their story, and every second of that wait was so very worth it! 

The Shifting Current is overflowing with the romance, suspense, and faith that I have come to expect from Dani Pettrey’s incredible writing! 

This thrilling story held me on the edge of my seat in suspense, kept my brain spinning trying to puzzle out the mystery, and caused my knees to melt a time or two from the sweet kisses! 

My eyes were glued to the page from start to finish, I loved every minute of this story, and was sad to say goodbye to Emmy and Logan when I turned the final page! 

The Shifting Current confirms yet again why Dani Pettrey is one of my all time favorite authors. There’s just something about her books that grabs hold of my heart and doesn’t let go! 

I absolutely adored The Shifting Current and most highly recommend it!  

The story itself stands alone so you could totally start here, but I think it would be even more meaningful to read the series in order if you can. But in whatever order you choose, please read this series! You won’t wanna miss a moment with the amazing Coastal Guardians team! 

(5 Stars!)



I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author.

My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


The Shifting Current releases May 2nd! Click HERE to pre-order your copy! 

Tuesday, April 11, 2023

Review: Blind Trust by Natalie Walters

 


5 Stars!


Wow, what an amazing conclusion to the SNAP Agency series! I have ‘shipped’ Lyla and Garcia since the very beginning of the series so I was beyond excited to read their story, and  I loved it so much! Lyla is such a fun character, I love her spunkiness (or moxie as Garcia says!) 

NicolΓ‘s Garcia is such an amazing guy! I love me a strong, tender, quiet, thoughtful, and unswervingly loyal hero, and if he happens to be an expert in EOD even better! (for those not in the know that stands for explosive ordnance disposal aka the people who defuse bombs)

Nic and Lyla’s romance is a very slow burn, and I loved watching them realize they had feelings for each other that went beyond friendship! 

I loved the faith story in this book, it was woven in so authentically and just beautifully done! 

I absolutely adore the SNAP Agency team! They are such a delight, and just SO much fun, they always make me smile, and I wish I could spend a day hanging out with them in the fulcrum. In fact I wish I had my very own Kekoa to throw me handfuls of chocolate when I’m upset and wrap me in breath-stealing hugs when I’m having a bad day! *sigh*

One of my favorite TV shows is NCIS: Los Angeles, and the SNAP team gives me major NCIS: LA vibes! The ensemble cast of quirky characters, the witty banter, the suspenseful action, the international intrigue, the team of friends that are more like family! If you like NCIS: LA you’re gonna LOVE the SNAP Agency series! 

I absolutely loved every minute I spent reading Blind Trust, and I most highly recommend it! My only complaint is that it ended too soon, I was so sad to say goodbye to these beloved characters! I could totally read a new book about these characters every year! Seriously, this series could continue on forever, and I’D NEVER GET TIRED OF READING ABOUT THIS TEAM!!!!!

If you haven’t read this series yet then what have you been doing with your life?! The novels themselves stand alone, but I would say make sure you read Initium, the prequel novella BEFORE Blind Trust, otherwise Blind Trust will spoil the novella for you! But Initium is a super quick read and it is FANTASTIC! 

The point is: READ THIS SERIES! You can thank me later! 


Click HERE to purchase your copy!


I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher.

My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Friday, March 10, 2023

Cover Reveal and Kickstarter info: Suspended in the Stars by E.A. Hendryx


πŸͺ A girl in hiding. A boy on the run. The fate of the galaxy between them.


πŸͺ I am excited to take part in the #coverreveal and Kickstarter launch for Suspended in the Stars by E. A. Hendryx @createexploreread. Suspended in the Stars is Emilie’s debut #youngadult novel and is the first book in a YA science fantasy trilogy. 

I seriously love this gorgeous cover designed by @eahcreative 


πŸͺ About the book:

Suspended in the Stars is the first book in the Xerus Galaxy Saga. It is the story of a girl in hiding who teams up with a rogue soldier to save a galaxy ruled by a corrupt governing council. It’s “The Greatest Showman” meets “Star Wars” and is a soft sci-fi with fantasy elements and no spice sizzling romance. 


πŸͺ Sci-fi and fantasy aren’t usually my jam, but this one sounds so amazing, and I adore Emilie’s writing, so I am over the moon excited to read it! πŸ˜





 πŸͺ Suspended in the Stars is now available to pre-order through Kickstarter!

The Kickstarter runs from March 10th-31st and, should it fund, will enable Emilie to put out her book as an early release eBook, paperback, audiobook, and Kickstarter limited edition hardcover (with bonus content) all with fun swag *before* the book releases at the end of the year. See the Kickstarter page for more details!


πŸͺ Landing page for Kickstarter 

https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/eahendryx/suspended-in-the-stars


#suspendedinthestars #coverlove #yascififantasy #yabooks #youngadultbooks #yasciencefiction #yafantasy 

 

Sunday, February 26, 2023

In Spotlight and Shadow by Rachel Scott McDaniel: Review, Guest Post, and Giveaway!

 


About the Book

 


Book: In Spotlight and Shadow

Author: Rachel Scott McDaniel

Genre: Christian Fiction / Historical Fiction / Mystery / Romance

Release date: February 1, 2023

A Gem of a Mystery Takes Center Stage

​Walk through Doors to the Past via a new series of historical stories of romance and adventure.

Elise Malvern has a habit of letting people down. Her former boyfriend who hoped she’d be his bride. Her grandfather who hoped she’d take over the family’s auction company. But mostly she’s disappointed herself. What’s the point of pursuing her passion as a violinist, if she is too scared to audition for a seat in the Pittsburgh Symphony? Her internship at the elegant Heinz Hall places her in the wings of the stage, but never on it. By accident, she discovers an old stage prop. Her instincts tell her there’s more to the paste necklace than meets the eye. Whether a good idea or not, she accepts help from a childhood friend, who happens to be country music megastar—Peirson Brooks. Peirson and Elise share a history; one she doesn’t care to repeat. The more involved they become in the mystery, the more things get tangled, including her heart.

A century earlier…
Sophie Walters longs for center stage, her name on the marquee, and all that jazz, but climbing her way into an acting career is more difficult than she imagined. Having spoiled all her chances in Hollywood, she returns to Pittsburgh, accepting an insignificant role in a popular production. She watches her dreams pass by from behind the curtain at the illustrious Loew’s Penn Theatre. She finally gets the coveted spotlight, but not for her talent. No, her surge to fame is all one terrible mistake. Somehow, she’s suspected to be a notorious jewel thief known around Pittsburgh as The Mirage. The man she pleads for help is none other than the man she jilted at the altar five years before, Sterling Monroe.

 

Click here to get your copy!



My Thoughts:


What a breathtakingly beautiful story! Rachel Scott McDaniel’s writing always immediately sweeps me into the story, and back in time! And In Spotlight and Shadow was no exception! I loved both Sophie and Sterling’s story, and Elise and Pierson’s. Often in a time-slip I end up loving one storyline more than the other, but with this one I was equally invested in both the historical and contemporary stories! 

I loved Elise! And Pierson was awesome, I loved that he was a country music star! 

Sophie was a wonderful heroine, it was so much fun to experience life as a 1920’s actress through her POV. And Sterling was a fantastic hero! 

The second chance romance trope is one of my favorites, and I absolutely LOVED that both romances in this book were second chance stories! 

The theme of identity in Christ was soul-stirringly powerful, and beautifully written! 

Rachel Scott McDaniel has a truly magical way with words, and she brings the 1920’s to life in an enthralling way that never fails to captivate me! 

This book is utter perfection, and I seriously cannot begin to express just how much I loved it! 

I most highly recommend In Spotlight and Shadow, please read it ASAP! 

I adored every moment of this book, and it is one of my favorite reads of 2023!

I cannot wait to read Rachel Scott McDaniel’s next book! 

(5 Stars!)



I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher.

My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

 


About the Author



Rachel Scott McDaniel is an award-winning author of historical romance. Winner of the ACFW Genesis Award and the RWA Touched By Love award, Rachel infuses faith and heart into each story. Rachel can be found online at www.RachelScottMcDaniel.com and on all social media platforms. Her work is represented by Julie Gwinn of the Seymour Agency. Rachel resides in Ohio with her husband and two children.

 


More from Rachel

History of The Loew’s Penn/Heinz Hall Theater

 



The Loew’s Penn theater in Pittsburgh opened its doors on September 6, 1927. Thousands of Pittsburghians crammed the streets hoping to enter. Those who were fortunate to claim a seat gasped at the grandeur of what that has been billed the ‘Temple of Cinema.’ The new hotspot in the Steel City was regarded as the most magnificent theater between New York and Chicago.

The Loew’s Penn was five stories high and could seat over 3,000 guests. The grand lobby had a 50-foot-high vaulted Venetian ceiling, gilded Corinthian columns, and two spectacular chandeliers. The crystal for the chandeliers was imported from Vienna. From silk drapes to artwork by Renaissance masters to Italian marble staircases the theater seemed more like a museum than a cinema palace. As for the entertainment, the night began with a live stage show followed by a silent film feature.

Attendance averaged around 60,000 theatergoers a week. And with an admission charge of $.50, the theater made around $30,000 a week. Which was a substantial fortune during the 1920s. The theater hosted live stage shows and they also brought in national acts including Paul Whiteman and the Rhtyhm Boys featuring Bing Crosby. Also Buster Keaton and Eddie Cantor graced the stage.



Over the years, the allure of the Loew’s Penn faded, and the theater fell into disrepair, finally shutting its doors in 1968. The Howard Heinz Endowment purchased the building, saving it from demolition. After a 16-month renovation that had cost over $11 million, the doors opened yet again under the new name of Heinz Hall. The plush red carpet is bold and beautiful, but also a subtle nod to … you guessed it … Heinz Ketchup. The grand lobby features the original marble flooring as well as the two 15-foot chandeliers. The main auditorium seats 2,661 guests. Heinz Hall is now the home to the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra it also hosts concerts and Broadway touring companies.


Blog Stops


Texas Book-aholic, February 25

Melissa’s Bookshelf, February 25

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, February 26

Just Your Average reviews, February 26

Rebecca Tews, February 26

Where Faith and Books Meet, February 27

Locks, Hooks and Books, February 27

deb’s Book Review, February 28

Simple Harvest Reads, February 28 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, March 1

Blogging With Carol, March 1

Remembrancy, March 2

Connie’s History Classroom, March 2

Babbling Becky L’s Book Impressions, March 3

Betti Mace, March 3

Abba’s Prayer Warrior Princess, March 4

Cover Lover Book Review, March 4

Gina Holder, Author and Blogger, March 5 (Author Interview)

Christina’s Corner, March 5

Paula’s Pad of Inspiration, March 5

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, March 6

For Him and My Family, March 6

Through the Fire Blogs, March 7

Bigreadersite, March 7

lakesidelivingsite, March 8

Tell Tale Book Reviews, March 8

For the Love of Literature, March 8

Blossoms and Blessings, March 9

Holly’s Book Corner, March 9

Labor Not in Vain, March 9

Book Looks by Lisa, March 10

Pause for Tales, March 10


Giveaway




To celebrate her tour, Rachel is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/24705/in-spotlight-and-shadow-celebration-tour-giveaway