Friday, November 13, 2020

Desire of the Heart by Anne Perreault: Review & Giveaway!



About the Book

 


Book: Desire of the Heart

Author: Anne Perreault

Genre: Christian Romance

Release Date: April 2020

 

It all started with a hike…
Cady Jackson’s vacation plans were simple. Go to Yellowstone National Park, enjoy the scenery, take lots of pictures. She and her cousin, Ashley, have grown up in a strict, conservative Christian family in upstate New York. Cady has never been encouraged to spread her wings. This trip is an opportunity to do so. Only, she doesn’t know how much her life is about to change when she has an unfortunate encounter in the middle of nowhere.
Why would God take a personal interest in someone like her?
Grant McClintoch generally loves his job as a ranger in the oldest national park in the country. That it includes rescuing stranded visitors to the park is unfortunate. He has been trying to rebuild his life after it had nearly been destroyed. Grant doesn’t realize that God isn’t done with him yet when he stumbles onto an injured hiker.
But can he place his past in God’s capable hands where it belongs?

 

Click here to get your copy!



My Thoughts:


What a great book from a new-to-me-author! I've been seeing this author's books online for a while now and I was really interested in them but hadn't yet had a chance to read one, so needless to say I jumped at the chance to request a review copy of this one! I was first drawn to this book by it's absolutely gorgeous cover, and I'm thrilled to say that the story inside is every bit as beautiful as the cover! I liked Cady instantly, I was cheering her on from the beginning. I loved watching her discover (for the first time really) grace and the depth of God's love for His children, while still holding to her conviction to save her first kiss for her wedding day. I made the same commitment as a teen, and am still waiting for the man I believe God created with me in my mind to come into my life, and this story gave me hope for my own future happily ever after!
Grant was an awesome hero, he totally made me melt! 
I loved all the nicknames that Cady came up with for Grant, my personal favorite being: Ranger McSmooth.
This engaging romance held me captivated throughout, and I thoroughly enjoyed this book! 
I highly recommend Desire of the Heart, and especially if you are a fan of Christian romances that focus on more than just physical attraction this is a story you don't want to miss!
I look forward to reading the rest of the Yellowstone Series!


I received a copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

 


About the Author

 


 

Anne Perreault was born and raised in Germany. By the time she was 14 years old, her family moved to Dubai, UAE. While living in this exotic place, she traveled extensively to various countries around the world. After graduating from an American boarding school in Austria, she attended college in England, where she met her husband. She graduated from New England College with a degree in biology, and settled down in Connecticut. Anne became a horseback riding instructor as well as a certified therapeutic riding instructor. She and a group of friends started a therapeutic riding center in Bristol, CT. During that time, Anne also received a masters degree in secondary education and began to homeschool her three children. While raising their three children, she began to write an inspirational story primarily for her daughter. Anne, her husband, and two of their grown children now reside in Southern Vermont, where they are building their home. Besides writing, Anne enjoys reading, spending time with her husband, grown children, and grand-dogger.

 


More from Anne

Desire of the Heart…

This book is so special to me. I had been pondering what to write a few years back and the thought came to me that I should base my next character on some of the adorable quirkiness of my beautiful daughter, a young woman filled with integrity and strength. Except, when you first meet her, you might think she’s too naïve or too sweet. She has a fire in her and a passion. And then I watched a TV show and one of the character’s were named Cady. I knew I had my main character. My daughter loves to  travel, and a few years ago, she and her cousin traveled to Scotland together. It was kind of like fiction came to live right then and there. I had already paired Cady up with her cousin, a young woman who is the complete opposite to Cady. Of course, in real life, my daughter and her cousin are incredibly similar to each other and are both such amazing young women of God.

Her counterpart came about because I was looking for someone with strength and also with great integrity, but someone who was wounded by life. I also realized that I wanted to set the story in a national park. I’ve always enjoyed nature and wanted my main character to be working in some capacity with nature. Grant naturally became a park ranger. It fit his personality so well, I secretly rubbed my hands together in glee.

Setting the story at Yellowstone allowed me to research that beautiful part of the country. I have always been a wildlife enthusiast. My oldest son loves wolves and has studied them all his life. I wanted to include wolves in the story… enough said. I fell completely in love with the park and I will one day travel there and stand where Grant and Cady did.


Blog Stops

For Him and My Family, November 2

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, November 3

Book of Ruth Ann, November 3

Texas Book-aholic, November 4

Mary Hake, November 4

Inklings and notions, November 5

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, November 6

Pause for Tales, November 6

Older & Smarter?, November 7

deb’s Book Review, November 7

Locks, Hooks and Books, November 8

Through the Lens of Scripture, November 9

Ashley’s Bookshelf, November 9

Artistic Nobody, November 10 (Guest Review from Joni Truex)

21st Century Keeper at Home, November 10

Quiet Quilter, November 11

Sara Jane Jacobs, November 11

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, November 12

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, November 13

Just Your Average reviews, November 13

Spoken from the Heart, November 14

Emily Yager, November 14

Daysong Reflections, November 15


Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Anne is giving away the grand prize package of a bookmark and a signed copy of Desire of the Heart!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/102f2/desire-of-the-heart-celebration-tour-giveaway

Tuesday, November 10, 2020

Review: The Red Canary by Rachel Scott McDaniel

Happy Book Birthday to The Red Canary by my author friend Rachel Scott McDaniel! I'm so excited that this gorgeous amazing story is NOW AVAILABLE! I adored this book! Scroll down for my full review and more info about the book!


My Thoughts:



A stunning, superb sophomore novel from Rachel Scott McDaniel! 
I fell head over heels in love with this author's writing last year when I read her amazing debut novel, Above the Fold, so needless to say The Red Canary was one of my most anticipated reads of 2020! And oh my word, what a gorgeous, gorgeous story it is! From the first line I was swept away into the world of 1920's Pittsburgh, and the Allegheny forest, and I did not want to leave! This story held me utterly and completely spellbound, every word was like music to my heart and soul! 
I loved Vera and Mick instantly! Vera has a super sweet heart and just the right amount of spunkiness and sass (my favorite type of heroine!) my heart broke for her and all she'd been through and I kept wanting to reach through the pages and give her a hug! And Mick, oh my stars, can you say swoony?! His strength, tenderness, and steadfastness, melted me into a puddle, and he will always have a spot on my list of favorite heroes!
The Red Canary is one of my top ten favorite reads of 2020!
I seriously adored every minute of this completely captivating story, it's totally one for the keeper shelf, and I most highly recommend it! 
Trust me, you need this book in your life ASAP! 
Rachel Scott McDaniel is one of my favorite authors and I'm impatiently anticipating her next book! 
(5 Stars!)



I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher. Which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own!





About the Book




In 1928, soot from the local mills and music from speakeasies linger in the Pittsburgh air. When the manager of The Kelly Club is found dead, nightclub singer Vera Pembroke is thrust into peril. As the only witness to the crime, she’s sentenced to hide away in the Allegheny Forest with a stuffy police sergeant as her guardian.

Sergeant Mick Dinelo harbors a burning hatred for Pittsburgh’s underworld after the devastation it left on his life—and heart. He should be out exposing the culpable gangsters rather than tending to the impetuous woman who defies his every effort to keep her safe.

Mick and Vera must set aside their differences to solve the murder that someone wants to keep buried beneath the soot of Steel City.
 

Click HERE to purchase your copy of this amazing book!





Sunday, October 18, 2020

Brought to Book by Barbara Cornthwaite: Spotlight and Giveaway!



About the Book

 


Book:  Brought to Book

Author: Barbara Cornthwaite

Genre:  Christian cozy mystery

Release Date:  June 24, 2020

There’s nothing in Emily Post about dealing with murder.

Katrina just wanted to spend time among the books at Frank’s Bookstore. Yes, that’s an unimaginative name for a store, but Frank’s an unimaginative guy–or he was.

Now he and his murder are the reason Katrina is spending her spare time with Wilkester detective, Todd Mason. Or, that’s what she tells herself.

Why would anyone want to kill Frank Delaney? Who would do it? And is Katrina herself even safe?

Mixing faith, literary humor, sweet romance, and a cozy mystery that will keep you guessing, Barbara Cornthwaite’s first Wilkester Mystery has everything you want for a cozy read.

Begin your investigation of Brought to Book today.

 

Click here to get your copy!

 

About the Author



Barbara Cornthwaite lives in the middle of Ireland with her husband and children. She taught college English before “retiring” to do something she loves far more; her days are now filled with homeschooling her six children, trying to keep the house tidy (a losing battle), and trying to stay warm in the damp Irish climate (also a losing battle). She is surrounded by medieval castles, picturesque flocks of sheep, and ancient stone monuments. These things are unappreciated by her children, who are more impressed by traffic jams, skyscrapers, and hot weather.

 

More from Barbara

Meeting of the Minds

A Wilkester Mysteries Introduction

Detective Todd Mason knew Katrina was the one the first time he met her. The woman had witnessed a murder—if not with her eyes, at least with her ears. She’d seen the man dying and called for help, afraid all the while that the killer would return for her. So much he’d been told before he went into the interrogation room.

“How’s she handling it?” he asked the officer who had arrived first at the scene and escorted her to the police station.

“Not too badly,” said Gary. “She’s in shock, of course, but she’s trying to hold it together. Katrina Peters. She’s in Room 2.”

He’d gone in then and gotten his first look at her. Late thirties or early forties. Brown hair that fell to her shoulders in loose waves. Brown eyes that were red-rimmed from crying. Hands clutching a tissue. She managed a faint smile when he walked in.

“Hello, Ms. Peters. I’m Detective Todd Mason. I need to ask you some questions, if that’s all right.”

“Miss,” she said, almost as a reflex.

“I beg your pardon?” Todd wasn’t sure he’d heard her correctly.

“It’s Miss Peters.” She said it firmly, repudiating the term Ms. even at such a stressful moment. Something made her blush then, and he saw her glance at his left hand. “Never mind,” she murmured.

She’s afraid I’ll think she’s trying to advertize her availability. It amused Todd to see the blush—if only she knew how refreshing it was to see a woman who would even be conscious of such a thing. Old fashioned, he thought. In a good way.

She answered his questions as calmly as she could, and even apologized for the tears that insisted on coming out now and then. When she alluded to Daniel in the lion’s den, he knew she really was out of the ordinary, and it took all his self-control not to offer to drive her home himself.

To join the investigation, read your copy of Brought to Book today.


Blog Stops


Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, October 10

21st Century Keeper at Home, October 10

The Avid Reader, October 10

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, October 11

Remembrancy, October 11

For the Love of Literature, October 12

Worthy2Read, October 12

Genesis 5020, October 12

deb’s Book Review, October 13

Blogging With Carol, October 13

Robin’s Nest, October 13

Texas Book-aholic, October 14

Losing the Busyness, October 14

April Hayman, Author, October 14

Babbling Becky L’s Book Impressions, October 15

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, October 15

Inklings and notions, October 16

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, October 16

Daysong Reflections, October 16

Older & Smarter?, October 17

For Him and My Family, October 17

Ashley’s Bookshelf, October 18

Just Your Average reviews, October 18

Lis Loves Reading, October 18

Locks, Hooks and Books, October 19

As He Leads is Joy, October 19

Emily Yager, October 19

Sodbusterliving, October 20

Artistic Nobody, October 20 (Guest Review from Joni Truex)

Labor Not in Vain, October 20

She Lives To Read, October 21

Bizwings Blog, October 21

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, October 21

Godly Book Reviews, October 22

Mary Hake, October 22

Vicky Sluiter, October 22

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, October 23

Sara Jane Jacobs, October 23


Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Barbara is giving away the grand prize package of a $25 Amazon gift card and a paperback of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/10210/brought-to-book-celebration-tour-giveaway

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Review: Wildflower Road by Janine Rosche

Happy Book Birthday to one of my favorite reads of the year, the amazing Wildflower Road by Janine Rosche! Be sure to check this one out, you need this story in your life! 





About the Book


Publisher: Berkley | Penguin Random House

Release Date: October 13, 2020

Summary:

A young widow is tempted to love again after her heartbreaking loss in this new Madison River Romance. 

After her husband’s tragic death, Ryann Marie Ashcroft’s only remaining dream is to save her family’s struggling mountain resort. And the last person she wants to rely on is a brooding stranger with secrets of his own.

Nicknamed America’s rock-and-roll pastor, Shane Olson arrives in Montana after a viral video destroys his marriage, his ministry, and his reputation. Working side by side on the banks of the Madison River, he and Ryann get a second chance at love. But not everyone wants to see their happily ever after.

Buy Link


My Thoughts:



Oh, how I adored this book! 
When I read the novella Mistletoe Menagerie last year Janine Rosche instantly became one of my very favorite authors, I devoured and loved her debut novel, This Wandering Heart earlier this year, and Wildflower Road was one of my most eagerly anticipated reads of the year! 
Oh my stars, this story exceeded every single one of my expectations, eeep it's SOOOO good and I absolutely loved every minute of it! 
It takes something special to make me feel giddy with excitement, and this story did it, I couldn't stop smiling while reading this book, and the characters haven't left my thoughts yet (and I highly doubt they ever will!)
I loved Ryann! My heart broke for all she had been through. I admired her strength, confidence, and great love for others! I want to be more like her, #lifegoals!
And Shane, oh my, there simply aren't words to express just how amazing he is, so you'll just have to read the book to find out! I love him so much, he is my favorite hero this author has written so far! Shane is totally my dream guy, he stole my heart, and I will forever be obsessively fangirling over him! 
I love a good redemption story and Wildflower Road is one of the best I've read! The faith story touched my heart in a million ways, it's a powerful message that everyone needs to read, in my opinion! 
Another thing I loved about this book was the hint of danger and suspense, it was perfectly done and made me love the book even more! 
This book does tackle some tough topics, but it does so with grace and sensitivity, while at the same time being very real about the issues we face in this fallen world. 
This beautiful, captivating story held me completely spellbound from beginning to end! 
Wildflower Road is utter perfection, and reading it is absolute bliss! This book is a must read that will always have a spot on my keeper shelf! It's one of my favorite reads of 2020 and I'm already itching to re-read it! 
I adored absolutely everything about Wildflower Road and most highly recommend it! 
(5 Stars, scratch that, all the stars in the sky!)


I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher. Which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own!

About the Author


Prone to wander, Janine Rosche finds as much comfort on the open road as she does at home. This longing to chase adventure, behold splendor, and experience redemption is woven into her Madison River Romance series. When she isn’t writing or traveling, she teaches family life education courses to college students, takes too many pictures of her sleeping dogs, and embarrasses her four children and husband with boy band serenades.
www.janinerosche.com




Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Review: Jocelyn by Sarah Monzon

 Happy Book Birthday to Jocelyn (Sewing in SoCal #2) by Sarah Monzon! I loved this book and I'm so excited to share my review with you! This book is a MUST READ so be sure to check it out! 😍


My Thoughts:


Wow! What a fantastic second installment in the Sewing in SoCal series! 
Sarah Monzon is one of my all time favorite authors, and I adored the first in this series, Molly! After meeting Jocelyn in the first book I was super excited when I found out her book would be next, and as soon as I first read the description of this story I knew it would be right up my alley, I grew up around cows, and I've been riding horses since I was a young child, and I love reading stories that feature a farm or ranch setting. 
I loved Jocelyn, I so admired her determination, and her heart for others. It was a joy to watch her find her way to the kind of life she'd always dreamed of. I wish she were real because I would love to be friends with her!
And Malachi! Oh My Swoon, what a fantastic hero! I love him so much and he will always have a spot on my list of favorite Book Boyfriends! I loved his genuineness and his kind heart that always puts others first!
I seriously have such a huge crush on him! 
It was such a joy to watch Jocelyn and Malachi's relationship bloom, and I especially loved all their text message conversations! 
Jocelyn is a funny, highly entertaining, empathy building, and thought-provoking gem that I totally and completely loved! 
I most highly recommend Jocelyn (get it ASAP!) and cannot wait to read book 3 in the series, Nicole! 
(5 Stars!)


I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher. Which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own!



About the Book


WWSOD—What would Scarlett O’Hara do?
Anything to survive, that’s what. But instead of a man-eating Southern belle in hoop skirts and big hats, my version of existence looks an awful lot like a financial conglomerate employee staring blankly at budget analysis spreadsheets. Either way, the motto has served me well most my life. Until now, that is. The corporate retreat location has just been announced, and this city girl is headed to a dude ranch in the country. How will Scarlett help me survive that? No, this time I’ll turn to the sage advice of preteen YouTubers and their ponies to keep me from making a fool of myself.
But who’s going to help me navigate the kind yet reticent cowboy in the black Stetson—the cattle ranch owner who’s slowly claiming corners of my heart? 

Amazon | Goodreads


About the Author


A Carol award finalist and Selah award winner, Sarah Monzon is a stay-at-home mom who makes up imaginary friends to have adult conversations with (otherwise known as writing novels). As a navy chaplain’s wife, she resides wherever the military happens to station her family and enjoys exploring the beauty of the world around her.

www.sarahmonzonwrites.com
Sarah loves connecting with readers on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram










Monday, October 5, 2020

Wish Upon a Star by Tabitha Bouldin: Review & Giveaway!



About the Book

 


Book:  Wish Upon A Star

Author: Tabitha Bouldin

Genre:  Holiday Fiction

Release Date: December 1, 2018

Bryce Masters had everything he needed…or so he thought. His six-year-old daughter, Anna, would disagree. They were going home, moving back to Jingle Junction where Bryce would take over the local bookstore just in time for Christmas. Losing his wife, Molly, during the birth of their daughter six years ago was tragic, but Bryce has no idea just how much it weighs on young Anna’s heart until she confesses her deepest wish. What Anna wants for Christmas is a mother, but Bryce’s heart is not ready to love again. Only God can give Bryce the desire to make Anna’s wish come true. Only He can heal the hurt and open Bryce’s heart to the power of love. But Bryce will have to be willing to listen. And when the perfect woman reveals a secret that could devastate them all, will Bryce be able to look beyond what was and accept what might be?

 

Click here to get your copy!

 

My Thoughts:


What an awesome Christmas novella! 
Last year I read and really enjoyed this author's novel, Trial By Patience, and I knew I wanted to read more of her work, so needless to say I jumped at the chance to request a review copy of this novella! 
Wish Upon a Star is a great story. I'm a sucker for a good single-dad hero and Bryce was a great one, I loved his steadfastness, and his sense of humor! His sacrificial love for his daughter Anna totally melted my heart! 
Rachel was an excellent heroine. She was likable, funny, and just all around a very relatable character. I liked her instantly and felt like she and I became friends. 
Anna was adorable, the thngs she said never failed to make me smile!
I fell in love with the town of Jingle Junction, and I can't wait to make a return visit! 
I'd love to see the author write a story about Anna as an adult, I think that would be such a fun read!
I highly recommend this story. If you enjoy Hallmark Christmas movies but want something with more depth and a faith message you're going to love Wish Upon a Star! 

I received a copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


About the Author



Tabitha Bouldin has a Bachelor’s in creative writing from Southern New Hampshire University, where she graduated with honors. She is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and has been published with Chicken Soup for the Soul. When she’s not homeschooling her kids, you’ll find her curled up with a book. Tabitha’s genre of choice is Contemporary Christian Romance which she describes as: Adventure with heart.

 


More from Tabitha

Wish Upon a Star owes its existence to Hallmark’s Christmas movies. I could, and often do, watch their Christmas movies all through the year. Doesn’t matter how cheesy the storyline, I love them all. While I wanted to bring that sense of fun and feel-good romance, I needed a little oomph. So, I took some inspiration from “The Christmas Shoes” by NewSong. For the record, I love Hallmark and NewSong equally, so putting the two together was a natural fit.

The intention wasn’t to make a sad Christmas story, but there’s some pain Bryce has to manage while learning to love again. The best things come from overcoming that thing you never thought you could do. When you press on, with God’s guidance and with His approval, anything is possible. Bryce needs this reminder that even in the darkest nights, God is there.

Wish is part of the funky town I created and dubbed Jingle Junction, a place where it’s all Christmas all the time. Jingle Junction has only a few rules. First off, you can have any business you want, as long as the business name is an alliteration. Second, community is the name of the game. When someone’s in need, everyone pitches in to help.

For this story, I wanted to highlight homecoming. To do that, I needed Bryce to have a reason to come back to Jingle Junction. That’s where the song came in. If you don’t know the song, it’s about a little boy who wants only one thing for Christmas, and that’s a pair of shoes for his dying mother. I listen to “The Christmas Shoes” at least a dozen times a year. It’s heartbreaking but wonderful. It has that bit of hope I needed for Wish. For my story, Bryce’s daughter, Anna, lost her mother when she was born. The only thing she wants is the one thing she’s never had: a mother. It’s also the one thing Bryce cannot give.

The plan had always been to return to Jingle Junction. Bryce wants to raise Anna in the hometown where he was born, and he’s finally gotten the opportunity to make good on the plans he and his wife made when they first learned of her pregnancy. It took him six years to make good on his promise, and he’s not sure he’s made the right decision.

Wish Upon a Star is one of those books where I wanted to challenge myself by writing only from the male point of view. Although I always write alternating point of view in my romances, Wish has always been Bryce’s story. A story of coming home.


Blog Stops

Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, September 23

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, September 24

deb’s Book Review, September 24

Texas Book-aholic, September 25

Inklings and notions, September 26

21st Century Keeper at Home, September 26

For Him and My Family, September 27

CarpeDiem, September 27

Locks, Hooks and Books, September 28

Older & Smarter?, September 29

lakesidelivingsite, September 29

Artistic Nobody, September 30 (Guest Review from Joni Truex)

Batya’s Bits, September 30

Ashley’s Bookshelf, October 1

Emily Yager, October 1

She Lives To Read, October 2

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, October 3

Pause for Tales, October 3

Sara Jane Jacobs, October 4

Connect in Fiction, October 4

Spoken from the Heart, October 5

Just Your Average reviews, October 5

Book Bites, Bee Stings, & Butterfly Kisses, October 6

Musings of a Sassy Bookish Mama, October 6


Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Tabitha is giving away the grand prize package a $25 Amazon gift card and a copy of the book!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/10114/wish-upon-a-star-celebration-tour-giveaway