Thursday, February 25, 2021

Lady Wynwood's Spies 1: Archer by Camille Elliot (Giveaway!)



About the Book

 


Book:  Lady Wynwood’s Spies 1: Archer

Author: Camille Elliot

Genre: Christian Historical Romantic Suspense

Release date: December 8, 2020

A Christian Regency Romantic Adventure serial novel with a supernatural twist

Lady Wynwood’s Spies volume 1

She met him again by shooting him.

Part one in a Christian Regency Romantic Adventure epic serial novel with a supernatural twist. After four seasons and unmarried because she is taller than most of her dance partners, Miss Phoebe Sauber receives the shocking news that she is being callously banished from her father’s estate because he is remarrying. Feeling betrayed by her father and by God, and wanting to escape her family’s presence, she attends an archery tournament with her friends.

But her perfect aim fails her, and her arrow hits a piece of paper held by Mr. Michael Coulton-Jones, whom she hasn’t seen much in society in several years. But strangely, her arrow tears a section of the paper with a partial symbol that looks eerily familiar to her.

He met her again while searching for a killer.

Michael had quit his work as a spy for the Foreign Office when his brother was poisoned. His search for the murderer leads him to Apothecary Jack, a criminal underworld leader with a penchant for poisons, who is gathering a powerful army through an alchemical potion that can give men supernatural strength.

But his path unexpectedly crosses again with Miss Sauber, who saves him from a trap laid by Jack. She and her Aunt Laura, Lady Wynwood, have found a vital connection to Apothecary Jack and the mysterious group he works for.

Now Michael, who had vowed to never again allow civilians to come to harm, must work with a nobleman keeping dangerous secrets, a human lie detector, a chemist, a fellow former spy, and the one woman he’s never allowed himself to get close to.

And it is only this ragtag group that stands against a traitorous organization that could enable Napoleon to conquer the world.

 

Click here to get your copy!


My Thoughts:

Review to come. Apologies for the inconvenience.

 

About the Author



 Camy writes Christian contemporary romance and romantic suspense as Camy Tang and Regency romance as USA Today bestselling author Camille Elliot. She lives in San Jose, California, with her engineer husband and rambunctious dog. She was a staff worker for her church youth group for over 20 years and she currently plays on one of the Sunday worship teams. Visit her websites at http://www.camytang.com/ and http://www.camilleelliot.com/ to read free short stories and subscribe to her quarterly newsletter.

 

More from Camy

I love Regency romances! I started reading them when I was 13 years old and haven’t stopped since.

There’s something about the Regency time period and culture that’s glamorous and decadent and the epitome of elegance. The resplendent dresses! The brooding, romantic Lord Byron and the distinguished Beau Brummell! Dashing naval captains and army lieutenants, glittering ballrooms and winsome debutantes!

The flip side of my personality loves romantic suspense and action adventure. I love seeing strong women face danger with courage and smarts, and strong men willing to do anything to protect their loved ones and fight for justice.

So, basically, the Lady Wynwood’s Spies series grew out of my desire to see Mission: Impossible in the Regency era!

My Regency “IMF” team is brought together when my spinster heroine, a botanist and a skilled archer, discovers that her late uncle had ties to a mysterious group. She goes to her aunt’s best friend, a gentleman who has secretly been a spy for decades, and he forms his team of ex-agents and uniquely gifted civilians to battle this group of alchemists who want to ensure that Napoleon wins the war with England. (Cue the Mission: Impossible theme music!)

I’ve also structured the series a little differently. It’s a very long serial novel, similar to a Japanese manga or light novel series, with 12 volumes that each have a completed story arc, but the main plot isn’t resolved until the end.

I hope you’ll join me on this epic Regency romantic adventure!


Blog Stops

Locks, Hooks and Books, February 15

CarpeDiem, February 15

Hebrews 12 Endurance, February 16

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, February 16

Artistic Nobody, February 17 (Guest Review from Joni Truex)

Inside the Wong Mind, February 17

Through the Fire Blogs, February 18

Mia Reads, February 18

Sara Jane Jacobs, February 18

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, February 19

HookMeInABook, February 19

Betti Mace, February 20

Inklings and notions, February 20

Abba’s Prayer Warrior Princess, February 21

Texas Book-aholic, February 21

Connie’s History Classroom, February 22

The Artist Librarian, February 22

Pause for Tales, February 22

For Him and My Family, February 23

Labor Not in Vain, February 23

deb’s Book Review, February 24

Fiction Book Lover, February 24 (Guest Review from Donna Cline)

Happily Managing a Household of Boys, February 25

Just Your Average reviews, February 25

Simple Harvest Reads, February 25 (Guest Review from Mindy Houng)

Tell Tale Book Reviews, February 26

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, February 26

Blossoms and Blessings, February 27

Britt Reads Fiction, February 27

Adventures of a Travelers Wife, February 28

A Good Book and Cup of Tea, February 28

Blogging With Carol, February 28


Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Camy is giving away the grand prize of a 1-year subscription to Kindle Unlimited!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/1074a/lady-wynwood-s-spies-1-archer-celebration-tour-giveaway

Sunday, February 14, 2021

Review: A Dance in Donegal by Jennifer Deibel

 



5 Stars! 

What an absolutely gorgeous story! I have been eagerly anticipating this debut novel since I first saw the cover and learned it was set in Ireland, and it most definitely did not disappoint! Jennifer Deibel's prose is beautiful, soul-stirring, and sweeps the reader away to another time and place, brilliantly painting a gorgeous picture of the Emerald Isle in the reader's mind! I fell in love with this book early on and was completely enthralled with the story throughout! I instantly liked Moira, and definitely found myself relating to her quite a bit. And I completely fell in love with Sean, he is such a fabulous hero, and he never failed to make me melt! This book also features a fantastic cast of supporting characters who make for a delightful addition to the story. Donegal was an absolutely beautiful setting, it really became another character in the book! The faith story in this book was wonderful, it touched my heart deeply!

If you are a fan of historical romance, particularly Catherine Marshall's Christy this is definitely one book you don't wanna miss!

A Dance in Donegal is a phenomenal debut novel, I loved every minute of it and most highly recommend it! I cannot wait to read Jennifer Deibel's next book!


I received a copy of this book from the publisher. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Click HERE to purchase your copy!

Thursday, February 4, 2021

Driven by Sara Davison: Spotlight + Excerpt, & Giveaway!

Driven JustRead Blog + Review Tour 

Welcome to the Blog + Review Tour for Driven by Sara Davison, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!

ABOUT THE BOOK

Driven

Title: Driven 
Series: Night Guardians #3
Author: Sara Davison
Publisher: Mountain Brook Ink
Release Date: February 1, 2021
Genre: Christian Romantic Suspense

Children aren’t the only ones who can disappear. 

Driven by ongoing grief and relentless dreams, Holden Kelly is determined to track down the child his brother Gage abducted eight years earlier. The kidnapping that saved Matthew Gibson’s life had cost Gage his. Proving his brother hadn’t sacrificed his life for nothing might be the only way Holden can start fully living his again. And it could be the last chance he has to find his way back to the wife he loves but who is also mired in grief and a crisis of faith. 

Mikayla Grant has nightmares of her own. A road trip with private investigator Jax Rodriguez—a man she is drawn to even though his primary goal seems to be to drive her crazy—can’t be the way to heal from a terrible loss. Can it? 

 As Holden, Mikayla, and Jax follow the missing child’s trail from Toronto to Chicago, their mission is not as secret as they thought. Someone knows they are coming and will stop at nothing to prevent them from finding Matthew. 

And to make sure that no one ever hears from the three of them again.

PURCHASE LINKS*: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | IndieBound | BookBub

MORE BOOKS IN THIS SERIES



EXCERPT


Christina traipsed down the stairs, following the aroma of coffee drifting in the hall. The long day stretched out before her. What should she do? She could clean, of course, although in fits of rage against God and the world in general she had scrubbed every surface in the house free of any trace of dirt, dust, or varnish over the last few weeks.
Cooking was a waste of time, as neither she nor Holden had much of an appetite these days and were content to grab whatever canned, packaged, or frozen food they could prepare and eat without a lot of effort. They’d gone through more boxes of cereal in the last six months than they had the first seven years of their marriage. 
Reading, then. Christina sighed. Since she’d come home from the hospital, reading, one of her favorite activities in the world, had become next to impossible. Words tended to dance across the page when she looked at them. If they did stay still long enough for her to make them out, their meaning was pretty much lost to her. She snatched the carafe off the warming pad and sloshed coffee into the chipped mug she always used. The one Holden had given her on their first anniversary. The black lettering, bold against the yellow ceramic, spelled out World’s Greatest Wife. Although the words mocked her, sent pin-pricks of heat, like fire ants, crawling across her skin, she forced herself to drink out of it every morning. A kind of penance. Maybe, if she drank enough cups of coffee to read the words a thousand times, or a million, it would start to sink in that she needed to start doing whatever it was she should be doing to earn the right to that moniker again.



ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Sara Davison

Sara Davison is the author of three romantic suspense series—The Seven Trilogy, The Night Guardians, and The Rose Tattoo Trilogy. She has been a finalist for ten national writing awards, including Best New Canadian Christian author, a Carol, a Selah, and two Daphne du Maurier Awards for Excellence in Mystery/Suspense. She is a Word and Cascade Award winner. She currently resides in Ontario, Canada with her husband Michael and their three children. The words on the mug she uses every morning pretty much sum up her life—I just want to sleep, drink coffee, and make stuff up. Get to know Sara better at www.saradavison.org and @sarajdavison.

CONNECT WITH SARA: Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

TOUR GIVEAWAY

(1) winner will receive a paperback copy of Driven and a $10 Amazon Gift Card!

Driven JustRead Giveaway

Full tour schedule linked below. Giveaway began at midnight February 1, 2021 and will last through 11:59 PM EST on February 8, 2021. Winner will be notified within 2 weeks of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or risk forfeiture of prize. US/CAN only. Void where prohibited by law or logistics.

Giveaway is subject to the policies found here.

ENTER GIVEAWAY HERE


Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!

JustRead Publicity Tours 

*NOTE: This post contains affiliate links.

Sunday, January 31, 2021

Lethal Intent by Cara Putman Review & Giveaway!



About the Book

 


Book:  Lethal Intent

Author: Cara Putman

Genre: Romantic Suspense

 

If they expected silence, they hired the wrong woman.

Caroline Bragg’s life has never been better. She and Brandon Lancaster are taking their relationship to the next level, and she has a new dream job as legal counsel for Praecursoria—a research lab that is making waves with its cutting-edge genetic therapies. The company’s leukemia treatments even promise to save desperately sick kids—kids like eleven-year-old Bethany, a critically ill foster child at Brandon’s foster home. 

When Caroline’s enthusiastic boss wants to enroll Bethany in experimental trials prematurely, Caroline objects, putting her at odds with her colleagues. They claim the only goal at Praecursoria is to save lives. But does someone have another agenda? 

Brandon faces his own crisis. As laws governing foster homes shift, he’s on the brink of losing the group home he’s worked so hard to build. When Caroline learns he’s a Praecursoria investor, it becomes legally impossible to confide in him. Will the secrets she keeps become a wedge that separates them forever? And can she save Bethany from the very treatments designed to heal her? 

This latest romantic legal thriller by bestseller Cara Putman shines a light on the shadowy world of scientific secrets and corporate vendettas—and the ethical dilemmas that plague the place where science and commerce meet.

 

Click here to get your copy!



My Thoughts:


Lethal Intent is a great legal suspense! This is the second of Cara Putman's legal suspense novels that I've read and I really enjoyed it! Caroline was a great main character, I admired her heart for others, and her dedication and loyalty to the law and to doing what's right no matter what! I loved Brandon, he was such a fabulous hero! I loved that he was a former football player who had started a group home for sibling groups of foster kids. Caroline describes Brandon as being a big teddy bear and I couldn't agree more, it was such a joy to watch him play and interact with the kids in his care. I kept thinking "he'll make such a great dad someday." I also loved Bethany, what a sweet, sweet girl, she is one of the few fictional characters that I've found myself wanting to pray for! I found the science aspects of the story fascinating. I was a little afraid at first that some of the scientific details and terminology might be a bit over my head, but the author did an excellent job of presenting the scientific aspects of the story in a way that anyone can understand, I guarantee you'll learn something new from reading this book, I sure did! The suspense was really good, and I must admit the identity of the villian took me totally by surprise! Lethal Intent is a great read and I highly recommend it!


I received a copy of this book from the publisher. My review was not influenced in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

 


About the Author



As a preteen Cara Putman watched lawyers change legislative opinions at an important legislative hearing in Nebraska. At that time, she wondered if she became an attorney if people would give her words the same weight. An honors graduate of the University of Nebraska Lincoln, George Mason University School of Law and Krannert School of Management at Purdue University, Cara has turned her passion for words into award-winning stories that capture readers. Her legal experience makes its way into her stories where strong women confront real challenges.

An award-winning author of more than 30 books, Cara writes legal thrillers, WWII romances, and romantic suspense because she believes that no matter what happens hope is there, waiting for us to reach for it.

When she’s not writing, Cara is an over-educated attorney who lectures in law and communications at the Krannert School of Management at Purdue University and homeschools her children. She and her family live in Indiana, the land of seasons. You can read chapters for most of her books and connect with Cara at her website: http://caraputman.com.

 


More from Cara

Each novel has a unique genesis story. The spark that launches it into a journey of 90,000 words. For Lethal Intent, that journey began with a friend’s journey of childhood leukemia with her oldest. From watching their family wind through years of treatment including cutting edge therapy trials. Then it developed with the Immortal Life of Henrietta Lack and the thought what would someone be willing to do if they believed they’d found the next strain of immortal cells. The lead characters made appearances in other books, but now would have their opportunity to step to center stage. The story morphed and changed, dictated by the vagaries of the law and changes.

 

Each story has a spark. For Caroline it was a brainstorming session with my writing buddies Rachel Hauck, Colleen Coble, and Denise Hunter. That was when her backstory developed, all the things that happened to her to form her into the adult she is on the pages. One who cares deeply about others but who is fundamentally scared, longing for a place she can relax and take a deep breath.

 

Each story has a spark. For Brandon, it was brainstorming with another writing friend Tricia Goyer that lead to a creative job for a hero that wasn’t the typical law enforcement. His role with the group foster home was set and the backstory filled in quickly. What would it be like to be separated from and lose a brother in the foster care system? Would that generate this need to keep sibling groups together? And then the law changes and the fabric of your professional identity and something so much deeper is threatened.

 

Each story has a spark. The pharmaceutical start-up where ethics collides with the desire to save children. The push to do whatever it takes overshadowing the guardrails of the law. If they expected silence, they hired the wrong woman. But does Caroline really have the strength to battle and does she need to?

 

Lethal Intent grew from each of these sparks and many more to develop into a story I can’t wait for you to read. In the process I learned immense amounts about CAR-T cell therapies and foster care law. Most of all, I hope you’ll fall into the pages and be engrossed in a story you can’t bring yourself to put down until the final page.


Blog Stops


Book Reviews From an Avid Reader, January 21

lakesidelivingsite, January 21

Texas Book-aholic, January 21

Through the Fire Blogs, January 22

Sara Jane Jacobs, January 22

A Novel Pursuit, January 22

CarpeDiem, January 23

Betti Mace, January 23

Gina Holder, Author and Blogger, January 23

Book Bites, Bee Stings, & Butterfly Kisses, January 24

Blogging With Carol, January 24

HookMeInABook, January 24

For the Love of Literature, January 25

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, January 25

Fiction Book Lover, January 25 (Guest Review from Mindy Houng)

For Him and My Family, January 26

EmpowerMoms, January 26

A Modern Day Fairy Tale, January 26

Artistic Nobody, January 27 (Guest Review from Joni Truex)

Mypreciousbitsandmusings, January 27

Where Faith and Books Meet, January 27

By The Book, January 28

Older & Smarter?, January 28

Because I said so — and other adventures in Parenting, January 28

Inklings and notions, January 29

Simple Harvest Reads, January 29

Blossoms and Blessings, January 29

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, January 30

Splashes of Joy, January 30

Pause for Tales, January 30

Spoken from the Heart, January 31

Just Your Average reviews, January 31

deb’s Book Review, January 31

Hallie Reads, February 1

Adventures of a Travelers Wife, February 1

Genesis 5020, February 1

To Everything There Is A Season, February 2

Hebrews 12 Endurance, February 2

Ashley’s Clean Book Reviews, February 2

Locks, Hooks and Books, February 3

Southern Gal Loves to Read, February 3

Daysong Reflections, February 3


Giveaway



To celebrate her tour, Cara is giving away  the grand prize package of a “Just one more chapter” pillow cover, a copy of the book, an Erin Condren journal, and a hand-stamped bracelet!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/10627/lethal-intent-celebration-tour-giveaway

Tuesday, January 26, 2021

Review: Choosing His Family by Jill Lynn



What a lovely story! Finn and Ivy were excellent characters, I liked them both instantly and was cheering for them! I loved Ivy's triplet daughters, they were so much fun and never failed to make me smile! I loved the ranch and small-town setting! And I loved the banter between Finn and his sister Charlie! This is book 6 in the Colorado Grooms series, I have not read any of the previous books in the series, but I had no trouble following this one, it stands alone beautifully, however after meeting several of the characters from prior books I'm now super excited to go back and read their stories!
Choosing His Family is a delightful read that I enjoyed every minute of and highly recommend!


I received an ebook copy of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.

Click HERE to purchase your copy!

 

Review: An Unlikely Proposal by Toni Shiloh

 


HAPPY RELEASE DAY to An Unlikely Proposal by my amazing friend Toni Shiloh!
Huge congratulations on the release of your first Love Inspired novel, Toni! 
This book is absolutely fantastic! Check out my full review below!


5 Stars!
Wowza, what a fabulous book! I'm one of Toni Shiloh's biggest fans, I've read all of her books to date and I automatically want to read everything she writes, even before I know anything about the story! This book was one of my most anticipated releases of 2021 and it exceeeded all of my expectations! I don't think I've read a contemporary marriage of convenience story before, and I loved the way Toni wrote it, Trinity and Omar's reasons for marrying were totally reasonable and felt very realistic and plausible to me! I also loved that in addition to the blissful moments Toni didn't shy away from showing us the realities, struggles, and challenges that can arise when the hero and heroine go from being best friends to being a married couple living together with two small children literally overnight, it felt so real, was brilliantly written, and I loved it! Trinity and Omar were excellent characters who became like friends to me, my heart went out to each of them for the pain and heartbreak they had each experienced, and I was cheering for them to fall in love! And I loved Faith and Joy, they were so much fun! Another one of my favorite things about this book was the tire swing, loved that so much! This book swept me away from the first page and I would have finished it in less than a day had it not been for such a pesky thing as sleep calling my name! I truly cannot express just how much I loved absolutely everything about this book! An Unlikely Proposal was my first read of 2021, and I already know it's going to be one of my favorite reads of 2021!
I completely adored this book and most highly recommend it, it's a must read that is not to be missed! You need this book in your life! What are you waiting for? Grab yourself a copy ASAP!

I received a copy of this book from the author and Love Inspired which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.


Click HERE to purchase your copy!


Tuesday, January 12, 2021

Review: Still the One by Rachel D. Russell

 




5 Stars!

Wowza, this book needs to be on your list of anticipated reads for 2021! 

I am definitely a card carrying member of the Deep Haven fan club, and when I first heard about this new collection of books I was over the moon excited and knew they would be fabulous! 

I love nothing more than falling in love with an author's writing voice from the beginning of their debut novel, and such was the case with Still the One! From the first page I was enthralled with the story. I couldn't stop reading and finished it in a little over twenty four hours! 

I adored the characters, Cole and Megan are awesome! Cole had me swooning a time or two (hundred!) and I could so relate to Megan's longing to feel treasured, and how she's always wanted to feel like she is enough, those are both things that I strugggle with often too so I could totally get how she felt.

One of my favorite things about this book was that reading it felt like a return vacation to a favorite destination and getting to hang out with some of my favorite people. Every time an old friend from Deep Haven made an appearance in this book it brought a huge smile to my face and giddy joy to my heart! 

I absolutely and completely loved this book from start to finish and most highly recommend it! I can't wait for the next book in the Deep Haven Collection. 

With Still the One Rachel D. Russell has penned an engaging, soul-stirring, and heart-melting debut that will delight and enchant Deep Haven fans and new readers alike. I cannot wait to read her next book!


I received an ebook ARC of this book from the publisher which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own.