Thursday, January 16, 2020

Murder at the Courthouse by Meghan Carver Spotlight + Excerpt and a Giveaway!

Murder at the Courthouse JustRead Blog Tour 
Welcome to the Blog Tour & Giveaway for Murder at the Courthouse by Meghan Carver, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!

ABOUT THE BOOK

Murder at the Courthouse by Meghan Carver
Title: Murder at the Courthouse

Series: Grace Pointe Cozy Mystery #1

Author: Meghan Carver

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Release Date: October 28, 2019



The first book in the Grace Pointe Cozy Mystery Series!



“Fiction is a waste of time.”



The heated comment made by a church library ministry team member shocks MacKenzie Baker, but it quickly becomes the least of her worries.




MacKenzie Baker is an impetuous, eavesdropping small-town librarian who lives in the apartment above the parsonage garage and refuses to be defined as the pastor’s single sister. She thought she was happy for years re-shelving books and helping patrons find their next great read, but as she turns forty, she suddenly struggles to figure out what more to do with her life. Solving murders in her small town of Grace Pointe wasn’t a part of her plan...until she and her brother find a local judge who had come to Pastor Baker for counseling murdered in his chambers, hit over the head with a massive volume of the Indiana Code.



Now, to clear the name of a family friend, she begins to work with the handsome criminal justice professor Ian Canter. Even though the detective with the chocolate brown eyes tells her to stick with making casseroles for the church pitch-in, she soon discovers the Judge’s scheming wife, his rebellious teen daughter, a network of lawyers in Grace Point who were disgruntled with the Judge, and even secrets that lurk among the library ministry team. But with the help of her new kitten Mr. Darcy, her best friend Callie, and her always-pastoring brother, MacKenzie debates the pros and cons of attending law school mid-life while she searches out a killer.



Welcome to Grace Pointe… where most of the people are friendly, the church is to die for, and the sleuthing is as strong as the coffee.



PURCHASE LINKS*: Goodreads | Amazon




ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Meghan Carver

By sixth grade, Meghan Carver knew she wanted to write. After earning a degree in English from Millikin University, she detoured to law school, earning a Juris Doctorate from Indiana University. She then worked in immigration law and taught Comp 101 at the local college. Now, she homeschools her six children with her college professor husband, writing her stories of cozy mystery and romantic suspense in the nooks and crannies of her time. Her debut novel hit the Publisher's Weekly Bestseller list. When she isn't writing, homeschooling, or planning the family's next travel adventure, she is active in her church, sews for her kidlets, and reads.



CONNECT WITH MEGHAN: Website | Facebook Twitter | Instagram




TOUR GIVEAWAY

(1) winner will receive a Cozy Mystery Prize Pack including a “I’d rather be reading a cozy mystery” tee-shirt – size and color to be determined by winner, a signed paperback of Murder at the Courthouse, and $10 Amazon gift card!

(Tee Sizes: small – xxx-large, colors: white, red, gray, pink, or green)

Murder at the Courthouse JustRead Giveaway

Be sure to check out each stop on the tour for more chances to win. Full tour schedule shown below. Giveaway will begin at midnight January 14, 2020 and last through 11:59 PM EST on January 21, 2020. US only. Winner will be notified within 2 weeks of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or risk forfeiture of prize.

Giveaway is subject to the policies found here.






Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!
cropped-justread-logo.png
*NOTE: This post contains affiliate links.

EXCERPT

"Sleep was slow to come as her mind replayed snatches and pieces of conversations she had overheard throughout the morning. A judge was dead in Grace Pointe. How could this have happened in their peaceful little town?"






Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Cover Reveal: The Trouble with Love by Toni Shiloh


Today I am absolutely delighted to share with you the cover of The Trouble with Love by Toni Shiloh! This is book one in her Faith & Fortune series and releases on May 26, 2020!

Drum roll please...





...




...




...




Ta-da! Isn't it gorgeous?! I cannot wait to read this story and it's up for pre-order now!


Blurb: 

I, Holiday Brown, have it all. A platinum record. Multi-million dollar home in Manhattan that I share with my two best friends. Life is looking fantastic until my roommate’s brother decides to bunk in our guestroom while his house gets renovated.

W. Emmett Bell has always been the bane of my existence. He’s annoying, stubborn, a know it all, and just might be the most gorgeous man I’ve ever laid eyes on. But I refuse to fall for him. Then his sister’s threatened by a stalker and dynamics change. His unwavering faith isn’t quite as self-righteous as I’d always thought, and maybe he has a good side I’ve overlooked all these years.

Or maybe it’s all too much trouble.

The Trouble With Love is the first book in the Christian Chick Lit series: Faith & Fortune.
 


About the Author

Toni Shiloh is a wife, mom, and Christian fiction writer. Once she understood the powerful saving grace of the love of Christ, she was moved to honor her Savior.
She writes soulfully romantic novels to bring Him glory and to learn more about His goodness.
Before pursuing her dream as a writer, Toni served in the United States Air Force. It was there she met her husband. After countless moves, they ended up in Virginia, where they are raising their two boys.
When she’s not typing in imagination land, Toni enjoys reading, playing video games, ​making jewelry, and spending time with ​her family.
Toni is a member of the American Christian ​Fiction Writers (ACFW) and of the Virginia ​Chapter.

You can learn more at her website as well as find links to follow her on Social media and sign up for her newsletter: http://tonishiloh.com

Saturday, January 11, 2020

On Wings of Devotion by Roseanna M. White Review and Giveaway!

On Wings of Devotion JustRead Tour 

Welcome to the Blog Tour & Giveaway for On Wings of Devotion by Roseanna M. White, hosted by JustRead Publicity Tours!

ABOUT THE BOOK

On Wings of Devotion by Roseanna M White 
Title: On Wings of Devotion

Series: The Codebreakers #2

Author: Roseanna M. White

Genre: Historical Romance

Publisher: Bethany House

Release Date: January 7, 2020



Against Every Warning, She's Drawn Ever Closer to the Man Known as "Black Heart" 




All of England thinks Major Phillip Camden a monster--a man who deliberately caused the deaths of his squadron. But he would have preferred to die that day with his men rather than be recruited to the Admiralty's codebreaking division. The threats he receives daily are no great surprise and, in his opinion, well deserved.



As nurse Arabelle Denler observes the so-dubbed "Black Heart," she sees something far different: a hurting man desperate for mercy. And when their families and paths twist together unexpectedly, she realizes she has a role to play in his healing--and some of her own to do as well.




With Camden's court-martial looming, an old acquaintance shows up, intent on using him in a plot that sends the codebreakers of Room 40 into a frenzy. With their fragile hopes for the future in the cross hairs, Arabelle and Camden must hold on to hope--and to each other--if they want to survive.



PURCHASE LINKS*: Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | Christianbook 




ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Roseanna M. White

Roseanna M. White is a bestselling, Christy Award-nominated author who has long claimed that words are the air she breathes. When not writing fiction, she’s homeschooling her two kids, editing, designing book covers, and pretending her house will clean itself. Roseanna is the author of a slew of historical novels that span several continents and thousands of years. Spies and war and mayhem always seem to find their way into her books…to offset her real life, which is blessedly ordinary. You can learn more about her and her stories at www.RoseannaMWhite.com.



CONNECT WITH ROSEANNA: Website | Facebook Twitter | Instagram




TOUR GIVEAWAY

(1) winner will receive a On Wings of Devotion inspired prize pack including a Recreation RFC Pilot Wings pin, a mini globe, Cadbury Chocolate, Caddie the Cocker Spaniel (handmade by Roseanna), and One Seat and Tea Package for an Online Tea Party Book Club with Roseanna (Winner's choice of scheduled dates. Includes treats, loose-leaf tea, and book club goodies. A $25 value! For more information, visit http://www.roseannamwhite.com/tea-party-book-club/.)!

On Wings of Devotion giveaway JR

Be sure to check out each stop on the tour for more chances to win. Full tour schedule shown below. Giveaway will begin at midnight January 7, 2020 and last through 11:59 PM EST on January 14, 2020. US only. Winner will be notified within 2 weeks of close of the giveaway and given 48 hours to respond or risk forfeiture of prize.

Giveaway is subject to the policies found here.






Follow along at JustRead Tours for a full list of stops!
cropped-justread-logo.png
*NOTE: This post contains affiliate links.


My Thoughts:

Oh this book, be still my heart! Words simply cannot express the depth of my adoration for this story! 
To be honest I didn't like Phillip Camden very much in The Number of Love, he struck me as an arrogant jerk, even though there were hints that he had quite a lot of baggage, however I felt the exact same way about Willa in A Name Unknown and actually wasn't planning to read A Song Unheard because I disliked her so much but I was persuaded to give her story a try and it became one of my all time favorite books. So I was willing to give On Wings of Devotion a try because I knew that Roseanna could make me like Phillip, and boy did she ever!
I was drawn into this story from page one and I absolutely hated to set it down!
I instantly liked Arabelle. I was blown away at times by the depths of her generosity and kindness, and I'm challenging myself to be more like her! I could also very much relate to her as I too am quite tall and definitely far from drop dead gorgeous. The way Camden fell in love with her heart and who she truly was totally melted me into a puddle! 
This story is everything and more! It is an absolute treat to read, and I loved every minute I spent immersed in it! Fellow fans of Roseanna M. White's books will be absolutely thrilled by the cameo appearances of several of our favorite characters, I literally grinned and squealed every time one of my beloved friends showed up on the page!  
On Wings of Devotion was my first read of 2020 and I already know it will have a spot on my list of favorite reads of the year! 
I could go on and on forever gushing about how amazing this book is and how much I totally and completely adored it! My life is richer and happier for having read On Wings of Devotion! Love, love, LOVED IT! On Wings of Devotion is definitely one for the keeper shelf, and I can't wait for the third book in The Codebreakers series! Trust me, you need this book in your life, go grab yourself a copy ASAP! You can thank me later! 
(5 Stars, but I wish I could give it more!)


I received a copy of this book from the publisher. Which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own!

Thursday, January 2, 2020

My Favorite Books of 2019!


I read 120 books in 2019 and there were so many of them that I absolutely loved that it was super difficult to narrow it down to my top favorites, but after much deliberation I finally got it down to these 24! So here they are, my favorite books of 2019! (In no particular order!)


1. The Heart Between Us by Lindsay Harrel

2. The Secrets of Paper and Ink by Lindsay Harrel

3. All of You by Sarah Monzon

4. With You Here by Sarah Monzon

5. Then There Was You by Kara Isaac

6. Sweet on You by Becky Wade

7. When He Found Me by Victoria Bylin

8. Wooing Cadie McCaffrey by Bethany Turner

9. Now and Then and Always by Melissa Tagg

10. Risking Love by Toni Shiloh

11. You Belong With Me by Tari Faris

12. The Killing Tide by Dani Pettrey

13. Vow of Justice by Lynette Eason

14. False Security by Angela Ruth Strong

15. Lake Season by Denise Hunter

16. Love, Laughter, and Luminarias by Jaycee Weaver

17. Above the Fold by Rachel Scott McDaniel

18. Mistletoe Menagerie by Janine Rosche

19. Ford by Susan May Warren

20. Between Stairs and Stardust by Pepper Basham

21. Love Me by Alexa Verde

22. Once Upon a Christmas novella collection by Andrea Boyd, Mikal Dawn, Toni Shiloh, Angela Ruth Strong, and Jaycee Weaver

23. Royally Yours novella collection by Melissa Tagg, Betsy St. Amant, Liz Johnson, and Ashley Clark


24. The Dating Charade by Melissa Ferguson





Thursday, December 26, 2019

Brand of Light by Ronie Kendig Review & Giveaway!


About the Book



Book:  Brand of Light

Author: Ronie Kendig

Genre: Christian Fiction, futuristic, space opera,

Release Date: December 3, 2019




There’s a price on her head, and it has everything to do with the brand on her arm.


Tertian Space Coalition has blessed every planet in the quadrants with high technology, save one: Drosero. But in spite of their tenuous treaty with the ruling clans, TSC has plans for the backward planet. And they’re not alone.



After a catastrophic explosion, Kersei Dragoumis awakens in a derelict shuttle, alone, injured, and ignorant of the forbidden technology that has swept her into a nightmare. The brand she’s borne since childhood burns mysteriously, but the pain is nothing to that when she learns her family is dead and she is accused of their murders.



Across the quadrants, Marco Dusan responds to the call of a holy order—not to join them, but to seek a bounty. Gifted—or cursed—with abilities that mark him a Kynigos, a tracker sworn to bring interplanetary fugitives to justice, Marco discovers this particular bounty has nothing to do with justice and everything to do with prophecy. One that involves the hunter as much as the hunted.







Click here to get your copy!




About the Author



Ronie Kendig is an award-winning, bestselling author of over twenty titles. An Army brat, Ronie lives a shot train ride from New York City with her husband, twin sons, and two fur-sons, VVolt N629, a retired military working dog, and Benning the Stealth Golden. Described as an empath by her literary agent, Ronie has used her degree in psychology to write books that have won the coveted Christy Award, Romantic Times Reviewers’ Choice Award, HOLT Medallion Award, and more. Her books have also hit the CBA Bestseller List multiple times.




More from Ronie

In November 2005, I lurched into a story that started with one small element—what if a hero could literally smell fear? And so I delved into the story with the characters, and felt like I’d fallen into the vortex. I wrote over 90,000 words in one month, this story just gushing out of me.

But I was a very new writer. And if you saw the first draft that gushed out of me, you’d snicker. I sure have. It’s appallingly bad writing, yet the story’s bones are healthy and intact. So, I teased the story into shape over the last fourteen years. In 2012, I took a hard look at it and tried to shape up the writing. I’d even gotten to know Kathy Tyers, who wrote for the Star Wars franchise as well as the much-beloved Firebird series (*insert reverent pause here*), and I bravely asked if she would take a peek at the first fifty pages or so. Being gracious as Kathy is, she agreed to take a look.

Um, yikes. Haha. Make no mistake—Kathy is a brilliant writer, and I will never write like her, but I learned so much her feedback and took it to heart. Clearly, I still had a long way to go before that story was ready for the world, so I delved into honing my craft and deepening this story. Honestly, I was afraid show Brand of Light to anyone again, because I love this story so much and did not want to see “her” fail. Nore correctly—I did not want to fail this story.

About three years ago, I sensed a deep conviction that it was time to stop hiding and, as an act of faith and obedience to what God had given me, to send Brand of Light out into the world. As I write this, she is still 1.5 months out from the release, and I’m scared. I want this beauty to be loved, but even if it’s not, *I love this story and know I honored God with my writing and sending her out. I can rest here for a long while, reveling in the gift God gave me with this storyworld and its characters. I’m excited to see her launch out into the deep now. As Marco and the hunters always say, For Honor.


Blog Stops

April Hayman, Author, December 14
Hallie Reads, December 14
amandainpa , December 15
Inside the Wong Mind, December 15
Wishful Endings, December 16
Pause for Tales, December 16
A Reader’s Brain, December 17
Faery Tales Are Real, December 17
Simple Harvest Reads, December 18 (Guest Review from Mindy Houng)
Texas Book-aholic, December 19
Mia Reads Blog, December 19
Betti Mace, December 20
Just the Write Escape, December 21
Britt Reads Fiction, December 21
Blogging With Carol , December 22
All-of-a-kind Mom, December 23
The Artist Librarian, December 23
Emily Yager, December 24
Bakerkella, December 25
Worthy2Read, December 25
janicesbookreviews, December 26
Inklings and notions, December 27
Splashes of Joy, December 27

Giveaway


To celebrate her tour, Ronie is giving away the grand prize package of a Tinted Prose edition of Brand of Light, Galaxy Tumbler, “Kersei” Dio Adorable Candle, 3 Character Cards (to include Marco, Kersei, Tigo), and 2 Maps (to include Drosero and the planetary map)!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.
https://promosimple.com/ps/f2e2/brand-of-light-celebration-tour-giveaway



My Thoughts:


A great sci-fi read that is perfect for Star Wars fans! Ronie Kendig combines action, intrigue, fabulous characters, and stellar world building in this excellent read! 
I don't often read sci-fi or fantasy books, but I'm glad I gave this one a try! Brand of Light is definitely a book that will keep you turning pages, needing to know what happens next. 
Kersei is a character that you just instantly like and you will be cheering for her from the very beginning, I know I was! 
Brand of Light is a story that will draw you in and sweep you away to another world. This story is not to be missed! 
(4.5 Stars!)


I received a copy of this book from the publisher. Which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own!



Monday, December 23, 2019

The Dating Charade by Melissa Ferguson Review and Excerpt!


About the Book



Book:  The Dating Charade

Author: Melissa Ferguson

Genre: Contemporary Romantic Fiction, Romantic  Comedy

Release Date: December 3, 2019



Cassie Everson is an expert at escaping bad first dates. And, after years of meeting, greeting, and running from the men who try to woo her, Cassie is almost ready to retire her hopes for a husband—and children—altogether.



But fate has other plans, and Cassie’s online dating profile catches the eye of firefighter Jett Bentley. In Jett’s memory, Cassie Everson is the unreachable girl-of-legend from their high school days. Nervously, he messages her, setting off a chain of events that forces a reluctant Cassie back into the dating game.



No one is more surprised than Cassie when her first date with Jett is a knockout. But when they both go home and find three children dropped in their laps—each—they independently decide to do the right and mature thing: hide the kids from each other while sorting it all out. What could go wrong?



Melissa Ferguson’s hilarious and warmhearted debut reminds us that love can come in very small packages—and that sometimes our best-laid plans aren’t nearly as rewarding and fun as the surprises that come our way.







Click here to get your copy!




About the Author



Melissa Ferguson lives in Bristol, Tennessee, where she is an adjunct professor at King University and pens books that make her laugh and grow. She used to have hobbies like running and backpacking the Appalachian Trail outside her door. Now she and her husband are outnumbered, and her hobbies include diaper changes, chasing toddlers in parking lots, and admiring the Appalachian Trail out her minivan window while singing “Winnie the Pooh.” She survives by Jesus, rom coms, and roughly two espresso shots a day. The Dating Charade is her first novel.




Read an Excerpt

Read an excerpt of The Dating Charade Here


Blog Stops

Genesis 5020, December 16
Kat’s Corner Books, December 17
Robin’s Nest, December 17
EmpowerMoms, December 17
All-of-a-kind Mom, December 18
For Him and my Family, December 18
Carla Loves to Read, December 19
CarpeDiem, December 19
Cultivating Us, December 19
Quiet Quilter, December 20
SusanLovesBooks, December 21
Texas Book-aholic, December 22
A Reader’s Brain, December 23
janicesbookreviews, December 23
Emily Yager, December 24
Vicky Sluiter, December 24
Hallie Reads, December 25
Remembrancy, December 25
Just the Write Escape, December 26
Simple Harvest Reads, December 26 (Guest Review from Mindy Houng)
Pause for Tales , December 27
As He Leads is Joy, December 28
A Rup Life, December 28
Batya’s Bits, December 29
With a Joyful Noise, December 29
Inklings and notions, December 29


My Thoughts:

Oh my word, what an absolutely delightful novel! From the first chapter I knew I would love this book, and love it I did! Cassie and Jett were both such great characters and I loved their story! It has been quite a while since I read a great rom-com, and this one is fabulous, I lost count of the number of times this book had me laughing out loud, and while this book does tackle some tough topics I never felt like it was a depressing read, quite the contrary in fact, it is heart-stirring and immensely entertaining in equal measures! 
All the children were wonderful characters, and so well drawn.
I can't forget to mention that I was particularly charmed by the fact that Jett is a firefighter! 
I loved this book from beginning to end, and hated to stop reading! I'm already itching to re-read The Dating Charade, it's that good! Melissa Ferguson has a forever fan in me! 
If you're looking for a book that will crack you up, have you happy-sighing at the romance, and also tug at your heartstrings, The Dating Charade is the perfect choice! This book is just the thing to turn your frown upside down! I most highly recommend The Dating Charade, and I cannot wait for Melissa Ferguson's next book! 
(5 Stars!)


I received a copy of this book from the publisher. Which did not influence my review in any way. All thoughts and opinions are one hundred percent my own!